We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and an amazing place to stay!”
Review of The Old Gin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Gin House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Nothing negative can be said about Old Gin! The staff was perfect, everyone would stop and say hello, the grounds were gorgeous, the food was delicious, and the experience was wonderful. We stayed for a week and dove at Scubaqua and when we return there is no doubt we will return to Old Gin!
Thank you for the wonderful week!

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean View rooms... Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yellowstone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

A short trip to Statia on business was required in November. The Hotel was one of the highlights and I had a great ground floor beach side room. The Staff were extremely kind and helpful, even to the point of lending me a plug for my UK phone and pc charger. The evenings food was a delight, the Bar B Q being the highlight. Succulent Lobster and great Salads. The bed was very comfortable and a welcome retreat after a busy day. Would I return....you bet. Next time hopefully for some R and R . Statia is a blast from the past. I loved it's peace and tranquility, so different from the touristic hustle and bustle of other Islands and the Quill is just magnificent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in the Royal Ocean View Suite at the Old Gin House which was arranged via Scubaqua. Such a unique and historic property situated in the ruined waterfront. As other writers have noted the ocean suite is across the street and detached from the main hotel which houses the reception, pool area and set of multi-level apartment style rooms tucked into the hillside facing the water front. The suite is the way to go as it is adjacent to and part of the main kitchen area, has a unobstructed water front ocean view and balcony and easy access in and out if you are dragging bags (diving equipment). The suite is nicely done, with a separate living area and a king size bedroom. Nice walk in shower bathroom, in room TV, safe, refrigerator and super cool air conditioning that you can control yourself. Overall the suite was very nice and clean. I would certainly recommend spending the extra money to get into the suite after having seen how confined and "block apartment" style the other rooms looked back across the street in the main building.

The on-site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and have a cookout on Wednesday nights with lobster or spare ribs. Due to our diving schedule we did not get lunch there and only had the Wednesday lobster grill which was not too bad. Breakfast each morning was part of our dive package and included a basic continental with an upgrade to eggs with sausage or bacon and fruits, juices and coffee. Be aware of their schedule, many restaurants seem to close down on Tuesday and Wednesdays.

Overall the service from the staff was acceptable. On some mornings there was only a single lady waiting the tables which made for painfully slow service. Even witnessed a couple of times that patrons simply got up and left because they had to move on and didn't get any service in time. The service issues seemed to be an isolated situation with one of the staff. At other times, there was a wonderful young lady there named Devlin that was a pleasure to visit with and provided impeccable service. If you are diving and need to meet your 8:30 dive team, start with breakfast no later than about 7:15 to ensure that you get served and have time to make the dive boat.

The management staff was helpful in directing us around the island and even arranged for a half day car rental delivered to the hotel to sight-see the island. Really you can cover the whole island in a day by car, so wouldn't really get to intent on any longer than that. Most of the good restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel.

The Island of Statia is a beautiful spot in the Caribbean. When you arrive, you may be distressed to see all of the tankers setting just off the island's west side positioning for loading and off-loading at the tanker terminal there at the north end of the island. But from what we witnessed the diving is top notch and the marine life on the reefs are prolific and do not seem to be disrupted by the traffic off-shore.

Also remember that you are on a small island, so lower your service and fine dining expectations as quickly as you arrive and settle in to relaxing. It will make your transition smoother and your time in Statia more enjoyable.

Couple of hints to share. There are several markets up the hill in town that have fresh breads, cheeses, wine and rum. Would recommend picking up some basics to snack on between dives and to curb the munchies. Be prepared for slower service, it is island time. Be prepared to lower your dining expectations. This is not St. Martin or St. Bart's. Go to Statia to dive and dive some more. Throw in a hike up the Quill and then relax on the balcony/beach with the sunset.

Having had the opportunity to be here and get full flavor of the island, I would certainly return to the Old Gin House should I get the chance to go back and dive Statia.

Room Tip: Royal ocean view suite is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TXrocklobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location of the property is as good as it gets on the small, attractive island of St. Eustatius. As the name suggests a it is a quaint heritage property with a mix of rooms both directly on the water as well as back from the shore. My room was comfortable and the large central fan kept the room cool at night. I was on the island to facilitate a workshop (for the 2013 Statia Sustainability Conference] entitled “Water Conservation in the Accommodation Sector” and therefore I was [as usual] paying special attention to the efforts of this property to conserve water. The only obvious approach was the low flush toilet. I was disappointed to see that there was not even a basic linen policy, essentially a “no-brainer” on an island that has no artesian or groundwater. I had to reiterate to housekeeping, on several occasions, that I did not want my towels washed. They were washed in any case. A desalination plant has been recently located on the island and with water currently costing $10/cubic meter [although it is $18/cubic meter on neighboring St. Maarten] it would seem to be prudent to identify all opportunities possible to conserve water.

Room Tip: Although I did not get a chance to see the rooms, those on the waterfront would definitely be superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecomacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to the tiny island of "Statia" to visit friends and scuba dive. Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised to stay on the waterfront at The Old Gin House. We were in a garden view room overlooking the pool, which was great for a morning swim in the shade. Our room had A/C, excellent service, and breakfast at the restaurant was always tasty. The hotel is surrounded by historic ruins and stories of pirates, cannons, and a fort, which rings a morning bell every day at 6 am. The people of Statia are friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: If your kids are happy to play in the pool or in the ocean, this is the place for you. Otherwise, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 300kathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We are just wrapping up our second visit to Statia and our second stay at the Old Gin House. We were most immediately impressed by the range of improvements, often small but valuable, in the intervening year. Service staff is increasingly service-oriented, with several going well out of their way for guests (including one of the front desk ladies who stepped in when a cab driver failed to materialize). The rooms are much cleaner, and the equipment in them works. And there is now reliable wireless throughout--even in the rooms!

The restaurant remains a work in progress; we were present for the switch to the half-board (breakfast included) model, which will be a fine thing when they get the finer points nailed down. Meantime, the coordination between OGH and the local dive operators has paid off in more mutually agreeable schedules all the way around.

There are hints around the island that Sint Eustatius may be primed for the kind of change that will diminish the island's greatest asset--its unique natural self--but the Old Gin House, so far, is making all the right moves.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitty2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We needed two beds for our dive trip so booked the oceanfront suite. This was on the second story of the building on the ocean side of the street, opposite the office and the majority of the rooms. This building also housed the restaurant and bar, but there was no noise at night. We liked the high ceilings, tub and shower in the large bath, and a separate living room where we put the extra bed. Full maid service each morning. The balcony was right over the sea wall. Behind the main buiding there was a fresh water pool? Breakfast included a full American breakfast, but we usually ate the cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee and assorted juice. It is a five minute walk to the Golden Rock Dive Center by the main dock. Scubaqua was across the street, so they took a truck to the dock. My review is based on all hotels - I believe this may be the best on this small island. This is a tropical island, so you might see a cockroach or 4 legged creature crawling about. The town has a number of buildings dating from the 1750's, plus an old fort and remains of a church from even earlier. You can hike up the extinct volcano,, the Quill. The beach on Orange bay by the hotel has been hit hard by the storms, but there is enough to swim from and to sun yourself. 'Statia' is now part of the Netherlands, so they are putting in water pipes to all the houses. They have a desalination plant; we drank the water and had no trouble. Some homes still use the cisterns. They use US type 110 volt plugs at the hotel. $15 dollar taxi from the airport.

Room Tip: If you can foot the bill, take the ocean front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treebark17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Eustatius
21.4 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
170 reviews
19.9 mi away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
23.9 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
256 reviews
19 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
189 reviews
23.1 mi away
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
#6 of 6 in Basseterre
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Gin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Gin House

Address: Oranjebaai 1, St. Eustatius
Region: Caribbean > St. Eustatius
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Price Range: £164 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Gin House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on Orange Bay, Lower Town, Oranjestad and a hike away from the Quill Volcano, the highest point on Statia with panoramic views over the entire island and neighboring islands, the Caribbean Sea and Atlantic Ocean. The intimate hotel convinces with its charming, elegant and cozy ambiance, where guests can find peace and pure relaxation without any unnecessary additions. The restaurant offers a diversified gastronomic experience accompanied by stunning ocean views. The Old Gin House is conveniently located on Orange Bay, right next to Scubaqua Dive Center in a quiet and historical area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Old Gin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Gin House Hotel St. Eustatius
The Old Gin Hotel
The Old Gin House St. Eustatius, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing