We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best there is...”
Review of The Old Gin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Gin House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The best there is...”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

A poor hotel. Staff seem dis-interested and just 'going through the motions'.
The rooms are of an old colonial style which is nice, very clean, but no with no facilities, no water, no coffee. TV signal is intermittent. The shower had no pressure whatsoever. I complained about this on check-out, but was met with a disinterested look and just an offer of a feedback form, which I never complete as often they are ignored and end in the bin.
Food is very expensive for what you get.
This is the best hotel on the island, but the only hotel of a half decent standard, but is substandard itself. The hotel, like the island need investment and a. It of competition to bring the standard up

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
47
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

The place has a lot of old world charm. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room was on the second of two floors which was a bit of a hike up the stairs. It had two beds; one king and one twin. While a small fridge was provided, it lacked a microwave and a room safe.

Meals were provided at a very nice restaurant across the street. It was a little pricey, but the lobster takes sautéed in biter and garlic were awesome.

The staff was not as helpful as I thought they should have been. They were polite and kind, but they did not go out of their way to assist. One young lady simply pointed upstairs to our room, but did not show us any amenities or confirm that the appliances worked. Turned out that the fridge had the wrong adapter and was not plugged up.

Bottom line: I would bring my dive club here, but I would prep them on what to expect.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank plwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Nothing negative can be said about Old Gin! The staff was perfect, everyone would stop and say hello, the grounds were gorgeous, the food was delicious, and the experience was wonderful. We stayed for a week and dove at Scubaqua and when we return there is no doubt we will return to Old Gin!
Thank you for the wonderful week!

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean View rooms... Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yellowstone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A short trip to Statia on business was required in November. The Hotel was one of the highlights and I had a great ground floor beach side room. The Staff were extremely kind and helpful, even to the point of lending me a plug for my UK phone and pc charger. The evenings food was a delight, the Bar B Q being the highlight. Succulent Lobster and great Salads. The bed was very comfortable and a welcome retreat after a busy day. Would I return....you bet. Next time hopefully for some R and R . Statia is a blast from the past. I loved it's peace and tranquility, so different from the touristic hustle and bustle of other Islands and the Quill is just magnificent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in the Royal Ocean View Suite at the Old Gin House which was arranged via Scubaqua. Such a unique and historic property situated in the ruined waterfront. As other writers have noted the ocean suite is across the street and detached from the main hotel which houses the reception, pool area and set of multi-level apartment style rooms tucked into the hillside facing the water front. The suite is the way to go as it is adjacent to and part of the main kitchen area, has a unobstructed water front ocean view and balcony and easy access in and out if you are dragging bags (diving equipment). The suite is nicely done, with a separate living area and a king size bedroom. Nice walk in shower bathroom, in room TV, safe, refrigerator and super cool air conditioning that you can control yourself. Overall the suite was very nice and clean. I would certainly recommend spending the extra money to get into the suite after having seen how confined and "block apartment" style the other rooms looked back across the street in the main building.

The on-site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and have a cookout on Wednesday nights with lobster or spare ribs. Due to our diving schedule we did not get lunch there and only had the Wednesday lobster grill which was not too bad. Breakfast each morning was part of our dive package and included a basic continental with an upgrade to eggs with sausage or bacon and fruits, juices and coffee. Be aware of their schedule, many restaurants seem to close down on Tuesday and Wednesdays.

Overall the service from the staff was acceptable. On some mornings there was only a single lady waiting the tables which made for painfully slow service. Even witnessed a couple of times that patrons simply got up and left because they had to move on and didn't get any service in time. The service issues seemed to be an isolated situation with one of the staff. At other times, there was a wonderful young lady there named Devlin that was a pleasure to visit with and provided impeccable service. If you are diving and need to meet your 8:30 dive team, start with breakfast no later than about 7:15 to ensure that you get served and have time to make the dive boat.

The management staff was helpful in directing us around the island and even arranged for a half day car rental delivered to the hotel to sight-see the island. Really you can cover the whole island in a day by car, so wouldn't really get to intent on any longer than that. Most of the good restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel.

The Island of Statia is a beautiful spot in the Caribbean. When you arrive, you may be distressed to see all of the tankers setting just off the island's west side positioning for loading and off-loading at the tanker terminal there at the north end of the island. But from what we witnessed the diving is top notch and the marine life on the reefs are prolific and do not seem to be disrupted by the traffic off-shore.

Also remember that you are on a small island, so lower your service and fine dining expectations as quickly as you arrive and settle in to relaxing. It will make your transition smoother and your time in Statia more enjoyable.

Couple of hints to share. There are several markets up the hill in town that have fresh breads, cheeses, wine and rum. Would recommend picking up some basics to snack on between dives and to curb the munchies. Be prepared for slower service, it is island time. Be prepared to lower your dining expectations. This is not St. Martin or St. Bart's. Go to Statia to dive and dive some more. Throw in a hike up the Quill and then relax on the balcony/beach with the sunset.

Having had the opportunity to be here and get full flavor of the island, I would certainly return to the Old Gin House should I get the chance to go back and dive Statia.

Room Tip: Royal ocean view suite is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TXrocklobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location of the property is as good as it gets on the small, attractive island of St. Eustatius. As the name suggests a it is a quaint heritage property with a mix of rooms both directly on the water as well as back from the shore. My room was comfortable and the large central fan kept the room cool at night. I was on the island to facilitate a workshop (for the 2013 Statia Sustainability Conference] entitled “Water Conservation in the Accommodation Sector” and therefore I was [as usual] paying special attention to the efforts of this property to conserve water. The only obvious approach was the low flush toilet. I was disappointed to see that there was not even a basic linen policy, essentially a “no-brainer” on an island that has no artesian or groundwater. I had to reiterate to housekeeping, on several occasions, that I did not want my towels washed. They were washed in any case. A desalination plant has been recently located on the island and with water currently costing $10/cubic meter [although it is $18/cubic meter on neighboring St. Maarten] it would seem to be prudent to identify all opportunities possible to conserve water.

Room Tip: Although I did not get a chance to see the rooms, those on the waterfront would definitely be superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecomacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Collins, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to the tiny island of "Statia" to visit friends and scuba dive. Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised to stay on the waterfront at The Old Gin House. We were in a garden view room overlooking the pool, which was great for a morning swim in the shade. Our room had A/C, excellent service, and breakfast at the restaurant was always tasty. The hotel is surrounded by historic ruins and stories of pirates, cannons, and a fort, which rings a morning bell every day at 6 am. The people of Statia are friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: If your kids are happy to play in the pool or in the ocean, this is the place for you. Otherwise, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300kathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Eustatius
0.3 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
33 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
182 reviews
19.9 mi away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
254 reviews
12.6 mi away
Belle Mont Farm
Belle Mont Farm
#1 of 7 in Basseterre
74 reviews
19.0 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Gin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Gin House

Property: The Old Gin House
Address: Oranjebaai 1, St. Eustatius
Region: Caribbean > St. Eustatius
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Gin House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Gin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Gin House Hotel St. Eustatius
The Old Gin Hotel
The Old Gin House St. Eustatius, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing