We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Vacation of a Life Time, like a dream!!!!”
Review of The Old Gin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Gin House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Omro, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Vacation of a Life Time, like a dream!!!!”
Reviewed 10 March 2009

The hotel is very well equipped, the large beds are comfortable. The rooms have lots of space for clothes and bags. The rooms are garden side overlooking the pool area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Anything you would need is provided. Shampoo, soap, big towels and 2 bottles of fresh water daily.
The breakfast is way too good!! Beautifully served in a wonderful seaside open air dining area. The hotel has two bars and two restaurants, which are great. The Wednesday Night Bar B Que has the best food!!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubacats_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
47
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The primary reason to visit St. Eustatius is to dive. We booked our stay through the Golden Rock Dive shop that is associated with the Old Gin House. The entire island has not been touched with commercial development. All the restaurants and hotels are privately owned and unique to the island. They are all rustic, but charming. The Old Gin House is the most charming. There is a welcoming bar with all you need for a pleasant evening. The food is well done and with some flare. We heard as we were leaving that 3 new chefs were arriving as well as a new manager for food and beverage. So, things will change dramatically after this review is posted. Do not expect Marriott luxury. The beds are fine and the rooms adequate. If you are a diver, you know what I mean. We stayed in a triple with garden view. The place was immaculate and well kept. The swimming pool is somewhat small with limited areas for lounging and the landscaping could use a face lift. The real draw to the OGH is its friendly staff. You couldn't ask for better spirited individuals. The OGH is loosely managed by Michelle and Glen who are friendly expatriates. The Dive operation is one of the best. The diving was magnificent.

  • Liked — The rustic charm and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The cardboard stuck in the bathroom window.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wine_bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

The Old Gin House is a small hotel for international standards but the biggest hotel on the island. The staf is very friendly and helpfull. We found the hotel the nicest place to stay comparing the others only from the outside.

  • Liked — location and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Esje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Beautiful view and a peaceful nights sleep! Crisp, clean sheets and modern furnishings. No better place to wake up! The breakfast is hot, fast, and fresh and the staff is warm and friendly.

  • Liked — clean and modern
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ShakerShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2005

The Old Gin House is the best place to stay on Statia. Nice rooms, nice pool, great staff, great food. Book a seaside room if you can...the seaside suites are even better!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Qstatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Eustatius
0.3 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
33 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
182 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
18.7 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
254 reviews
12.6 mi away
Belle Mont Farm
Belle Mont Farm
#1 of 7 in Basseterre
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Gin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Gin House

Property: The Old Gin House
Address: Oranjebaai 1, St. Eustatius
Region: Caribbean > St. Eustatius
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Gin House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Gin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Gin House Hotel St. Eustatius
The Old Gin Hotel
The Old Gin House St. Eustatius, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing