We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mag Bay Tours

Mag Bay Tours
Ranked #270 of 462 Tours in Baja California
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surf Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We took the 7 day tour. We caught a New Zealand south swell and the waves were epic. The outer break was a bit big and scary for me (triple overhead), so I caught the break by the campsite and it was 10-12 foot faces just peeling away. In the bay was a bit smaller breaking real fast and fun. The fresh seafood and food was great. This was definitely one of the trips and experiences of a lifetime for me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This past month we had the great fortune of playing in the Baja. The absolute highlight of the trip were our 2 whale watching trips with Mag Bay Tours. We tried 2 different tours, the 1st being an overnight island camping tour at Mag Bay's camp on Magdalena Island. What an incredible place! The setting could not be more beautiful. Sunsets and sunrises around the 2 islands with whales spouting only a few hundred yards away! Very few people get the chance to experience the whales in this fashion. You can go out multiple times and be with the whales alone after the other boats have hustled back to shore. The staff was very enjoyable and worked hard to make our trip great. The food was well prepared with dinner being fantastic. We even caught a few fish from shore ourselves that were cooked for dinner. Followed up by a campfire with good friends under millions of stars...you can't have a better day.

Our 2nd adventure was a 5 hour day trip and Mag Bay's owner Steve made a recommendation that we venture a little from the beaten path. We agreed and had an experience we could not believe. "The Friendly Whales" put on a dazzling show for us and it truly was an event none of us will ever forget.

Steve, his wife Olga and daughter Marilyn were all top shelf and made sure along with their staff that our adventures were over the top. We will be joining them many times in the future and our friends that have viewed our photos and videos can't wait to join in. Thanks to everyone at Mag Bay Tours for the great times! See you next year.

Jay and Sally B, Middleton, WI

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Tours, Great Crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The review by mvptcws pretty well sums up what you get when you stay at the Mag Bay Tours camp site on Isla Magdalena. Splendid isolation, beautiful sunrises, magnificent view from your tent, great food, and amazing whale watching. In addition, sea lions, dolphins, birds (among them bald eagles), you see it all. The crews are great and cater to your every need. Good tents with comfortable cots. Just check on their website what to bring and you'll be very comfortable. Stayed 5 nights, every night with new people around the campfire with Mexican booze, bonhomie and beautiful starry skies. Trip of a lifetime.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Waart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo,
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Safe, fun, reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We chose the one day whale watching tour and arrived on one of the windiest days of the year. Athough we were offered an alternative day we still chose to go. The gear provided was in excellent shape, the driver of the boat was superb. The owner was always very prompt in his replies to email enquiries. And we did indeed see whales. No doubt the experience would have been enhanced by calmer weather, but the point I wish to make is that we we well cared for and that all promises were kept.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vickeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

i just returned from a 3 day, 2 night 'camp tour' with Mag Bay Tours. What an amazing experience! It is a fun adventure getting over to the camp site (roughly 45 minute boat ride in good weather) with fantastic scenery, birds, and other wild life (we saw dolphin, sea lions, and whales). The camp site itself is great - sunrise and moon rise directly out the front of your tent, in a small cove protected from a lot of the wind. They have 2 person tents with cots, sleeping pads, and pillows set up for you with a shower enclosure and 'outhouses' nearby. The crew will get you warm water on request for your 'shower' (gallon jugs used to rinse off) - but it feels fantastic after being outdoors all day. All of this, and I haven't mentioned one of the best parts - the FOOD. One of the cooks (call him Yo) is so good, I wanted to take him home with me. Guacamole, ceviche, lobster, shrimp, fish, or whatever they could catch or buy from one of the local boats that day. Always delicious, always fresh. The entire staff is very accommodating and helpful - from making the arrangements to 'checking on you' if you kayak off for longer than expected. They even have a solar panel to charge electrical items if needed (we used it to charge camera batteries). Being completely away and able to 'disconnect' for a few days and get back in touch with nature - but with all the 'creature comforts' - was an amazing experience. I will absolutely be back again.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank mvptcws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mag Bay Tours also viewed

Puerto San Carlos, Baja California Sur
Baja California, Mexico
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
Baja California Sur, Baja California
 

Been to Mag Bay Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing