We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Except for the cocktails.....”

El Rey Sol Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Let yourself be seduce by the oldest french restaurant in Mexico in an atmosphere reminiscent of the days of Louis XIV. Delight yourself with our delicious and extensive menu of international cuisine and traditional Mexican dishes, paired with the best local and inter wines. Don't forget to try our famous french pastries.
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A friend and I were looking for a nice restaurant and were referred to El Rey Sol. The service was good and the prices were reasonable for the quality of the food. We shared the New York steak, very large size, perfectly cooked and the veggies and potato were also excellent. The Soup of the day was Carrot and it was amazing!! The only complaint I have were the drinks. We were drinking vodka (absolut), sodas with splash of cranberry and there could not have been much alcohol! We each had five over 2 hours and did not even get tipsy! There was a wonderful 2 man band playing soft rock ( american music, beatles, james taylor, etc), and in hind sight I should have inquired about the drinks at the time, but we were having a nice time listening to the music. It makes me feel really ripped off. My intention is this morning to go and ask them how much alcohol they put into a $6.00 cocktail. Maybe its only a half ounce???

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bajagirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Manager at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your comment, we are very pleased you enjoyed our food and ambiance. We are sorry for the cocktails incident, we do use the standard rule of 1 shot per drink, unless asked for a double. We hope to see you soon in our beautiful Ensenada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for El Rey Sol Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were traveling with friends through the wine country of the Valle de Guadalupe and found this restaurant for dinner one evening. The service was excellent and somewhat formal, the food was excellent, and the prices reasonable. The four of us each chose different seafood items from the menu and had no complaints!

3  Thank DeDeWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Owner at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your very positive comments about El Rey Sol, Mexico's oldest French restaurant with 66 years of experience. We hope to have you back soon in Ensenada, enjoying our great local wine, as well as great food. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you are in Ensenada and even if you are there for one night than you have to come here, if you can not make it for dinner at the very least stop by in the morning for breakfast and order there amazing pastries. Everytime I go, even if I can not make it for dinner or lunch I go in the morning and just have 2 or 3 of there pastries with some coffee. You will even want to take some home!!! Yes, the pastries are not cheap but are worth every bite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pinchivida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Owner at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

My staff and I thank you very much for your kind words about El Rey Sol, Mexico's oldest French restaurant. Family owned, we preserve the original recipes and focus on quality that remains until this day. We hope to have you back soon in Ensenada, enjoying our famous French pastries, and hope you have time to stay for dinner too! Bon appétit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

So many good aspects of this great restaurant, which dates to the middle of the last century. The sidewalk dining area is very nice, but the real deal is inside the main dining room. Great menu, great service, very good wine selection featuring some of the best labels from nearby Valle de Guadalupe wine region of the Baja peninsula. Seafood dishes are terrific, and the filet mignon is awesome. This family-owned business knows how to do everything the right way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DonMiguelLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Owner at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments, we pride ourselves on being Mexico's oldest French restaurant with 66 years of experience. We focus on our original recipes and quality that remains until this day. We hope to have you back in our dining room soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The meals and service of this fine dining restaurant are internationally recognized. Have been eating here nearly 30 years whenever In Ensenada, B.C. Salad, rib-eye, wine and dessert run USD$25-50 (300-600 M.N.) depending on your wine selection. Given the superb wine list you may well spend beyond your budget so beware. Service by long time waitstaff is excepcional although at times it can be a bit delayed. Just order drinks and prepare to relax while your great meal is being prepared. Food choices vary widely from burgers and fries to calamari, beef and fowl. All have been consistently prepared each visit. After a long day of walking and shopping I have found the best way to wind down the day is spending quality time with friends at El Rey Sol.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jaime664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Owner at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your loyalty and preference, we are proud to have customers like yourself. Our mission is to give the best customer service, provide quality through our extensive menu, and to let us be part of your wonderful life. For that, we thank you again. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rey Sol Restaurant also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to El Rey Sol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing