We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building - not surprised there are "vendors"”

Cultural Center of Ensenada
Ranked #4 of 51 things to do in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in an old casino, this center contains space to be rented out for public events, but also has a natural history museum that can be seen for US$1.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful building - not surprised there are "vendors"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This tour stop was included on another trip. The building is beautiful but not worth a stop. The interior court yard is filled with vendors trying to sell their goods and just when you think you're done with the shopping, the vendors move their children to the front of the buiding so when you exit you are faced with begging children selling junk for a few bucks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    41
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful structure, and a lot of culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was glad we had time to visit the Cultural Center. We learned a little bit about the history and traditions of Baja California, and particularly Ensenada. We didn't realize many things, like Ensenada is the largest city in all of Baja, until we went to the Cultural Center. Very engaging tour guide!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old Ensenada charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you don't visit the Riviera Cultural center, it's like you didn't go to Ensenada. It's part history museum, part landmark. big part fun... It's a real old time luxury casino with the traditional Baja style, there is something for every one and great opportunity for wonderful pictures and memories.

Even dough is "touristy" you'll be able to feel the local flare with some cute wedding or quinceañera happening there, hey, if they like you, you may even get invited to the party as a guest of honor! (It happened to my mom!)

Please don't forget to bargain your price on anything sold in the street or souvenir market, no matter how inexpensive you think it is you can get it for much less!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a must see. If there is an event there it is even better. We always stop here when we are passing through. You can walk through the old casino and visit the ballroom. There are paintings on the wall from the 20's. There is an old menu to view. The bar is usually open and they are very friendly there. There is also a history museum in there. What a great place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful cultural show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Visited the cultural center on the eve of January 19, 2013. A cultural folkloric show had been arranged for the 65 of us from the HAL ship Zaandam taking an city excursion. Vendors were out selling their wares, only had a limited amount of time to shop. The show that we saw was simply wonderful. I encourage anyone that has the opportunity to attend the show in this old casino to do so. If the weather is chilly, do take a wrap. The temp was supposed to be 61, but it certainly did not feel like it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDiva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cultural Center of Ensenada also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to Cultural Center of Ensenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing