We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Coral & Marina
Nearby Hotels
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa(Ensenada)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cortez(Ensenada)
US$88
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corona Hotel & Spa(Ensenada)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Don Fernando(Ensenada)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
327
164
72
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
164
72
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poollobby barjunior suiteliving roomvisit ensenadasan ysidrolarge bathroombest hotel in townwine countrywine tastingsafe placefast passocean viewvalle de guadaluperooms are nicepool sidelobster
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Breakfasted at a convention room next to the restaurant rented for a baby shower for one of my closest friends. Breakfast was not of our choice but both fruit and orange juice was perfectly fresh and sweet, big breakfast was complete with Salsa Verde Chilaquiles, Scrambled Eggs, Shredded Meat in Chilli Juice and Fried Beans. Great luxy atmosphere but not the highest you can find, great marina and grass, and I remember a clean and big room long time ago when I stayed here, sadly I did not sleep there but it all felt calm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiancaCinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel looks great from outside but the rooms are tired, well the one i stayed in anyway. I had a family suite I guess but was all a little shabby. And smelt like years of smoking had happened in the bedroom. The room was on a very noisy external corridor - you can hear everyone coming down the way!

The room was clean though and the view almost amazing.

Breakfast was shocking! Ended up eating on pastry and that was it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MetalWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear MetalWarrior:
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Ensenada. We are genuinely sorry that your experience at our hotel was not in keeping with what you expect and deserve.
Regarding the rooms condition, we have the 30% of our capacity fully remodel, which are: Standard Deluxe, Junior Deluxe Suite, Coral Deluxe, Honeymooner, Master Single, Master Double and Presidential Suite. We’re pleased to inform you that there will be a series of refurbishments throughout the hotel in the coming months, including all our Standard rooms and Deluxe Suite that will elevate our decor and ambiance to best in class.
It would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed here with my family. It is an average hotel. It has one restaurant, spa, and pool. Location is fine right next to a marina. A little over priced as hotel looks like it needs to be remodeled. Staff were friendly. If you want to visit Ensenada..this hotel is fine if you do not have high expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Angelica S:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly value your feedback. We’re pleased to inform you that there will be a series of refurbishments throughout the hotel in the coming months, including all our Standard rooms and Deluxe Suite.
I hope you join us again soon. Rest assured, there will be continuous and sustained improvements to the property and our attention to detail.

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Great rooms, almost large like a suite. Staff are very friendly, services and food are very good. This property is "all inclusive" and you can enjoy almost any international beverage in the bar.

There also are a great marine if you reach this place in your boat. Don't hesitate in make a wine tour to any of the nearest vineyards. Before this trip I didn't know that Baja California produce great wines.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Quality Coordinator at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Jorge A:
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate all the feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Bar Arrecife, the food and our service. We are extremely pleased to welcome you back and look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again

Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Quality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I cancelled my initial review on TA because the Quality Coordinator, Mr. Villa contacted me and addressed each of my concerns with the utmost professionalism. The following review is the rewritten version of our recent stay at Coral & Marina (C&M) taking into consideration that all my concerns were addressed.

We love visiting Baja and have stayed with Coral & Marina (C&M) for over 15 years, at least 20 times. Our most recent visit was for 09.28-09.30.2012. We made our reservations 6 months in advance for 3 Junior Suites at a cost of $183 per night + tax ea (this is the most we've every paid for a room at C&M). Each room included a Fast Pass. Even though the hotel did not have availability online, we called, and because we are repeat guests luckily, they were able to squeeze us in.

There are many lovely hotels in Ensenada, but we prefer C&M. The layout of their Junior Suites- the ones that have NOT yet been remodeled - is fantastic and includes a small refrigerator, wet bar and a small coffee maker. Every room in the hotel has an incredible Ocean view off the balcony. We enjoy watching the cruise ships come in, during the early hours with a cup of coffee and go out in the evening with a glass of local wine. The bellboys are always really nice and offer big warm smiles and “Hola”s as you come and go from the hotel and seem to remember us from our previous visits. Luciano, the bar man makes the most incredible FRESH fruit mango and fresh strawberry daiquiris and is incredibly helpful, pleasant and courteous. Maid service is spot on and although we are not very mindful about putting items of value away in the safe, when we are not in the room, it has never been an issue.

Three weeks prior to our arrival I contacted Myren Sanchez, Head Concierge to make special requests regarding our rooms. We were granted early check in.

Two weeks prior to our arrival we were contacted by Jesus, the Front Desk Manager who notified us that we had been upgraded to ‘Deluxe’ rooms a.k.a remodeled rooms. I was excited, because I’d never stayed in one of their remodeled rooms before.

We left LA on Friday 09.28 at 7am, stopped at La Fuente in Rosarito for breakfast and were at C&M just after noon. When we checked-in there was a misunderstanding with the person at the front desk and because we used our debit card (in lieu of a credit card) they debited a HUGE amount from our bank account as a security deposit. If we would have realized that they were going to do this, we would have simply provided our credit card (we try and avoid using our credit card whenever possible). Also, we found out that only one of the rooms was a Jr. suite, however all were deluxe. The deluxe/remodel of the Jr. Suite swaps the bedroom and the living room. I see why they would do this, due to the noise from the hallway, but the new configuration does not flow properly and the living room is small, dark and went unused. If our friends stopped by we would visit on the balcony or worse, sit on the beds and visit, which I don’t prefer. I wish they would have just sealed up the window in the bedroom, making it sound proof from the walkway and kept the same layout. The Deluxe fridge is stocked with for-purchase-drinks and is not available for guest use. Going forward we will request UN-remodeled Jr. Suites, as we don't mind the dated furnishings and we prefer the layout prior to the remodel.

The Deluxe/remodeled rooms have new modern furnishings, new paint, new artwork, remodeled bathrooms with big ‘rain’ showers (our favorite!), lovely linens, flat screen TVs and high end toiletries. No wet bar. It's all very plush. The all still have the small coffee maker which we really enjoy. The Deluxe rooms are also more costly.

There is an indoor and outdoor pool/jacuzzi. At night we enjoy soaking in the LARGE outdoor jacuzzi, it also a nice time to visit with other hotel guests. There is bar service at the pool.
We visited the gym and although they could use a few more updated eliptical machines, it worked fine for our needs. We warmed up and cooled down by walking out to the end of the marina, which is beautiful.

In the past, the food at the C&M restaurant has been below par, especially compared to the excellent gastronomy Ensenada and Guadalupe Valley has to offer. Mr. Villa notified us that a/o 05.2012 there is a new Chef, Juan José Gómez. Mr. Gomez comes with an impressive resume. Had we known this, we would have ate at the restaurant on our most recent visit, but we plan to do so next time.

Parking is secured by a security guard at the gate.

Re: Fast Pass, which is not a reflection on C&M, but information for those that will be using the Fast Pass. We’ve used the Fast Pass on at least 5 occasions since the program began, getting us through the San Ysidro border in 15-30 minutes. This trip it took us 1 hour 15 minutes. There are rumors that the Fast Pass system is being abused, which is a shame, because when it worked…it was awesome!!

Upon our departure from C&M, I must admit, I was disappointed and wondered if we would be back. I am generally picky when it comes to hotels and because we were paying a higher rate for the room, I expected more. But, due to the responsiveness and professionalism of Mr. Villa, addressing each and every concern, we look forward to returning and enjoying the ongoing improvements at Hotel Coral & Marina.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view. Middle section, upper floors are the best. UNremodeled Jr. Suites have the best layout. Balconies are low, parents should not leave children unattended on the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews