We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Coral and Marina gets MORE amazing with each visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coral & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Coral & Marina
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Hotel Coral and Marina gets MORE amazing with each visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were fortunate to get reservations for Labor Day weekend, which was also the Saturday of the Monica Naranjo / Marta Sanchez concert at the hotel.

From the moment we arrived, the professionalism of the staff was brilliant!! The parking security was thorough, yet expedited us through the gate. The bellman greeted us with a big smile and a “Hola, welcome back”. The front desk whisked us through the check in process. The highlight was our greeting from Mr. Villa. We know how busy he must’ve been with the coordination of concert for that evening, yet he took the time out to greet us and show us to our room – he is so calm and warm, never has anyone in the hospitality industry made us feel as welcomed, as he does. It was our friend’s birthday and he had a special birthday surprise in her room for her – so sweet, literally.

Hotel Coral and Marina was already a terrific hotel, yet there are so many improvements – everywhere we looked, there was new, new, and more NEW. New ellipticals in the gym (YAY!), new yoga/pilates classes, beautiful new patio furniture and round beds around the pool, new event center /helipad out on the jetty of the marina, new paddleboard and kayak rentals, beautiful (new) huge patio at the Mariners Rec Room. We were also told that a big new spa is going in, that should be done by January – which is great excuse for us to return.

The concert stage was massive, set up adjacent to the Marina. Not a penny (or peso) was spared on the set up and organization of this event – 100% elegance. The concert itself was brilliant, complete with a spectacular firework display over the marina as the finale. Then back at the hotel, they had a full outdoor dinner spread after the concert, including meats that had been slowly roasted over the outdoor fire.

The towels and the linens in the room were super thick and luxurious. I also enjoy the robes and complimentary slippers provided. I was thrilled with the designer shampoos/conditioners/shower gel/soaps in the bathroom.

Instead of writing too much about how I enjoy their Jr. Suites (again), I’ll focus more on some new services they provide. $15 an hour for a double kayak or paddleboard rental – we enjoyed paddling through the marina looking at all the beautiful boats/yachts, they also rent catamarans. Hotel transportation is being offered to/from LA or San Diego, starting at $192 ea way for up to 10-14 people (attached are pics of the price lists), that breaks down to under $20 pp ea way. Also, vineyard tours start at $40pp. We don’t mind driving, but how nice would it be to kick back, visit with friends and let someone else be in charge of tolls, border, etc.? Hotel shuttles have their own (quick) line to get back across the border. We don’t normally mind driving, but this sounds so relaxing that there is a good possibility that we will hire the shuttle on our next visit.

We taxied into/out of town ($7 ea way) on a few occasions visiting our favorite restaurants and wine tasting venues – even did a little shopping. Papa’s and Beer continues to be the epicenter of town (they also took over Mango Mango’s across the street), yet there is so much more to Ensenada these days – something for everyone.

Often, you can reserve a hotel package at Coral & Marina to include a Fast Pass. If you are driving and if it is available (ask when making your reservation), this will get you through the border at a fraction of the time it takes without it (on one trip we flew through in 15 mins on a Sunday afternoon). Even though it can be slightly inconvenient, I prefer to call in my reservation, in lieu of making it online.

Hotel Coral and Marina has been and continues to be the best hotel in Ensenada. It is so large with so many amentities, whether you are visiting with your family or for a romantic trip or a trip with friends, it is the perfect destination.

I cannot wait for our next visit to experience the new spa.

Room Tip: Every room has a beautiful ocean view. Jr. Suites provide alot of room to spread out with a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Naito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Manager at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear DJ1234,

Thank you for visiting us on your holiday weekend. We truly appreciate your comments and observation about the improvements we are making to create a marvelous experience for our guests. We feel glad to know that our commitment with guest satisfaction is being perceive what is priceless for us.

Thank you again for the amazing review, we can’t wait to greet you again and provide an even more memorable stay.

Sincerely,

Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    150
    63
    16
    14
See reviews for
120
144
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon first time coming to Ensenada We looked all over the web to read the reviews Hotel Coral was our number one pick not disappointed at all this Hotel was amazing all the stuff are professional and very helpful (we know customer service it's what we do for a living) First night we didn't go out so we order in from the Restaurant food was very good had catch of the day and tostada de ceviche the next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant the food was very good lots of flavor chilaquiles rojos and verdes, carne con chile, egg
omelet, beans and rice, homemade tortillas, fresh coffee and orange juice can not go wrong here. We ate dinner here on our 3rd night best dinner ever
mushrooms with sauce and warm bread, carrot soup, filet mignon and shrimp with a sauce two bottles of local wine food was delicious. Throughout our stay we went out to the Las canadas and Conopy Tour and to El Centro walked around had a few drinks at Papas&Beer ate tacos at El Pasia had coctel de camarone at Mariscos El Guero. We did not
feel unsafe or see any trouble here we will come back with our family's next time thank you Hotel Coral for a wonderful experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456789School
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Manager at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear 123456789School,
Thank you for choosing us to stay your first time in Ensenada and to celebrate your honeymoon with us, our sincere congratulations for your weeding. We are very pleasant about your amazing stay with us, it is our goal to bring the best service for our customers.
Our Staff will enjoy to welcome back soon.

Have a wonderful day.

Kind regards,

Ing.Adalberto Villa S.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Good spot, 3 stars is a fair rating. Very safe place, friendly and the rooms were very large. I would stay again if I ever go back to Ensenada. Went for a wedding so lots of people that I knew to make it even more enjoyable. The balcony's were very visable from the other balcony's, not a lot of privacy when you were on your balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Manager at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Kevin T:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. There is nothing more valuable than customer reviews, thus we take each word to heart. While it seems many aspects of your stay were enjoyable, we are of course concerned that you were disappointed with our balcony’s layout and we apologize that you were not more impressed with your accommodations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and we thank you for your review.
Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend for a wedding, there were probably 100+ rooms booked up just to the wedding attendees. The staff was great, got everyone checked in quickly and offered help when needed. The breakfast buffet was Amazing the best food on the whole trip! When it came time for us to explore Ensenada the staff recommended locations for delicious tacos and got us a cab. The rooms were very nice, clean and spacious. I loved how each room had a min fridge in it. The pool bar didn't appear to be open during the week, but Saturday morning hit and it was up and running in full force. You are able to order drinks and hang out in the pool or spa. They also have fresh coconuts that they prepare either a drink or a dip for you.

Room Tip: If you want a room with direct pool acces, go for a room on the 1st floor. If you want a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizydezi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Manager at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear dizydezi05:
It sounds as if your recent stay at the Coral & Marina Hotel included many of the aspects that make our hotel a wonderful place to stay while in Ensenada. It is always our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in attentive care and we are thrilled that the service levels you received from our staff made your stay enjoyable. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your review.
Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

These people have zero concept of customer service and it's super frustrating dealing with them. There aren't many clean hotels in the area and since they know this, they don't care about making your life easier or even hiring bright, competent people to work here. The front desk staff is the worst, the free breakfast is gross, recycled food and most of the rooms are unacceptably disgusting. The 6th floor rooms are mostly renovated but they never seem to have rooms on that floor available and I've stayed at this crap-hole 3 times now. Can someone please build a new hotel in Ensenada with competent staff?! Their prices are high for Mexico. For the same price you could be a guaranteed a clean and pleasant stay in the US, so I'm not sure how they figure the same price should afford you a miserable stay in Mexico, a cheaper country. Baffled and Frustrated...

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, believe me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trojanheart05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Manager at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest:
I was distressed to read the review of your recent stay here at the Coral & Marina Hotel. I am very sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. My staff and I take a great deal of personal pleasure and professional pride in delivering what we (and the most of Trip Advisor reviewers) believe is a wonderful lodging experience, so it is indeed difficult for us to digest the fact that we failed to please you to such a dramatic extent. We strive to exceed all expectations and pride ourselves on amazing guest service, and want all of our guests to experience this. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence.
Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel was once the pride and joy of Ensenada, however the hotel needs a major face lift, mostly with the room furnishings and carpet. The restaurant is not that good either. Next time will try some other place to stay or will drive back to San Diego.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are noisy because the bedrooms are along side the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Manager at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Paulo P:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly value your feedback. We’re pleased to inform you that we are making a series of refurbishments throughout the hotel. I am very sad to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. As a hotel our goal is to go above and beyond for every guest so that they are happy with their experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We celebrated three 60th birthdays at this beautiful hotel. We paid extra at check-in for the all-inclusive package which included meals and drinks. (tips were separate) To our surprise when we got to our gorgeous ocean view/marina rooms, we all had balloons and cake from the hotel. The staff was friendly and very accomodating with any request that we made. The food was outstanding along with the presentation. The wine they served with dinner was from a local winery and superb. The bar had any top shelf liquor or apertif you could imagine and all the drinks were made to order. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we have told everyone we know about it. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCoralMarina, Manager at Hotel Coral & Marina, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Teri S:
The team here at Hotel Coral & Marina is honored you decided to celebrate your 60th birthday with us. How lovely that the Hotel Coral & Marina became the setting for such an important time in your life. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that our staff, accommodations, and our food added that special touch to your birthday celebration. We thank you for your fantastic review and we can’t wait to greet you again and provide an even more memorable stay.
Sincerely:
Ing. Adalberto Villa S.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.6 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punta Morro Hotel Suites
Punta Morro Hotel Suites
#3 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Cid
BEST WESTERN El Cid
#4 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral & Marina

Property: Hotel Coral & Marina
Address: km 103 Carretera Tijuana - Ensenada | No 3421 Zona Playitas, Ensenada 22860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coral & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Coral & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral And Marina
Hotel Coral Marina
Hotel Coral Ensenada
Coral Ensenada Hotel Marina
Coral Marina Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing