We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded small property”
Review of Punta Morro Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punta Morro Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Secluded small property”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a 1 bedroom on the third floor. We were lulled to sleep by the crashing waves which are no more than 30 feet from your balcony. My wife got an in room massage for an hour for 60 bucks. We tried the restaurant, but could not get a descent table after making reservations. We ate at Sanos just down the road, and maybe one of the best decisions of the weekend.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eB1fromthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    38
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
41
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, ID
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed at the Punta Morro on 3 different occasions and been very pleased. Our most recent stay was in the 2-bedroom suite on the ground floor, which was lovely and very roomy. The resort is in a nice location, has a fantastic restaurant for fine dining, is very safe & secure, and has helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable, I do think the 2 bedroom one we were in this time was better than the one we stayed in on the second floor which was smaller. Their prices are pretty reasonable too.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the 2 bedroom suite on ground floor, very roomy & nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I'm just reviewing the restaurant, as I haven't stayed in the hotel. I have seen the restaurant reviewed as a high end 5 star restaurant. However my experience (two times) at the restaurant is that the food was average. I would say that it had good presentation, but certainly not on par with the price. Their greatest lack though is their customer service. Don't expect to be greeted warmly or treated with much consideration, and you won't be disappointed. I would have to say the service is surprisingly poor for a restaurant intending to be this caliber. Granted, my experience is limited to only twice, but I won't be going back to see if "the third time is the charm"...mostly because of the service...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed here for extended weekend in July 2011 with some friends. The 2 bedroom suite was nice with a small TV, mini fridge and balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. The view is fantastic; however, note that there ISN'T A SANDY BEACH HERE. We knew this when we made the reservation and since we didn't want to stay near a loud, crowded beach we decided that the rocky coastline around Punta Morro would mean a quite, peaceful getaway...boy were we wrong. The resort hosts various events on weekends in a large tent they set up on the lawn by the pool. The weekend we stayed had back-to-back weddings and the loud, drunken partying went on well past 1 AM. Calls to reception fell on deaf ears since they had no desire to calm the partying guests. The hotel is small, which in part adds to it's allure as a cozy, laid back resort; although, this means you hear everything going on outside. I would love to stay here again as it would have been very pleasant without the noise. Call and make sure they aren't having an event when you book, otherwise don't expect to get much sleep at this resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HG_Drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

There are 3 studios (quoted at $155), 12 one bdrm suites (quoted at $185), 9 two bdrm suites (quoted at $285), and 3 three bdrm suites (quoted at $395) on two levels with a separated restaurant. Hotel is well off the main highway, out on a long point and rooms face the ocean in a northernly direction. These were built as condos and are rented as hotel rooms. There is a gate house for checking in and a guard walking the property. The location feels isolated and would be a good place to come to escape things. Rooms were clean, good views, and are priced higher because of having efficiency kitchens and living rooms. Those that are air-conditioned don't have a working fireplace, it's a trade off. Sofas are concrete forms with cushions on them, so are fixed in place. Beds are either kings or queens. Best value seems to be the 2 bedroom.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCMI-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We have been staying at Punta Morro for 7 years now and its the only place I stay in Ensenada. We travel to Ensenada annually for Carnival (Mardi Gras) but we want a nice relaxing vacation and this is the place. We book the spa package which includes a one bedroom suite plus two one hour massages. they will do the massages in your room, balcony or by the pool.

This is a small hotel with only 24 rooms from studios to one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom suites. The suites (I have stayed in both one and two bedrooms) are wonderful. You enter into a common area with a couch, mini bar with fridge and beautiful balcony. All rooms lookout over the pacific Ocean. The two bedroom suite also has a dinette which is great for a late night round of quarters.

The pool is nice but cold in the off months but the hot tub is wonderful, big and bubbly and they have a fire pit as well for those chilly nights. The restaurant serves wonderful food, the bartenders are great and a wealth of information and the drinks are not skimpy. The vacation package includes welcome drinks and a discount on the buffet (served sat and sun) which is the greatest breakfast with homemade dished, and omelets and quesadillas made to order.

The hotel is a quick cab ride into town but the greatest thing is the security. You are right next to the University and very secluded. There are safes in the rooms, good locks on the doors and ample security on the grounds at all times. Because of the location its very secluded and we have never felt anything but safe. We are looking forward to returning for the Rosarito to Ensenada bike ride in April this year.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milweiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Stayed M-F for the week of our son's wedding at the hotel. We had a second floor [by US terms] studio room, i.e. a standard king-size bedroom with en-suite shower, vanity unit and wc. The furnishings of the room were clean and in reasonable state though the carpet was not in the best condition. Nevertheless, we felt it was good value for money. The balcony opened out towards the sea and grounds offering a wonderful view.
We had breakfast in the restaurant once and enjoyed the meal very much. Again good value for what we had. We were quite impressed by the wedding arrangements the hotel made and the standard of the wedding meal provided in a lovely private room. The restaurant is built out over the sea and gives amazing panoramic views along the coast and out to the ocean. The hummingbirds and pelicans added to the enjoyment of this lovely place.
It is a fantastic setting for a wedding venue, if rather windy on this occasion.
The approach to the hotel is not the most prepossessing, but once in the grounds, you can forget all that! Swimming and spa pools and fire pit area to enjoy as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.0 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Morro Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Morro Resort

Property: Punta Morro Resort
Address: Carretera Tijuana Km 106, Ensenada 22860, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Punta Morro Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Punta Morro Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Morro Hotel Ensenada
Punta Morro Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing