We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, gourmet food, relaxing pool”
Review of Punta Morro Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punta Morro Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great views, gourmet food, relaxing pool”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I just stayed at Punta Morro with a deal they offered online. I was surprised that the place exceeded my expectations. I travel to Mexico frequently but I've never stayed in Ensenada. We happened upon a quiet week, probably one or two other people at the hotel. It's not a huge hotel which I really liked. The bartenders/waiters at the restaurant were all friendly, funny and were professional. The food was a very amazing surprise!! It was all fresh and gourmet level food. I ate way more than I planned to!! I had halibut omelet one breakfast with fresh juice and one night this amazing chocolate with chèvre and purée berry dessert. This was my first time going to Mexico and gaining weight!! Alberto was our waiter mostly and he was friendly, nice and very attentive. The pool and jacuzzi were perfect. Our room had a great view and was very clean, as the whole resort was. I usually stay near La Fonda but I will definitely be returning to Punta Morro in Ensenada even with the toll road gone!! I hope they continue with online specials.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneggsandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    40
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
43
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Punta Morro is one of those places that has all the charm and location needed for a great hotel. We found this place online and read some of the reviews. All were very good so we decided to try it. The location is outstanding. The ocean views are amazing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a nice balcony to watch the sunset. The hotel also has an amazing restaurant that is cantilevered over the water. The food is excellent and the desserts are superb. The service is also outstanding. The pool area is not modern but it is sufficient in size and comfortable. This hotel is just large enough to maintain its quaint character. This place is now on our list to return year after year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Flying from Mexico City to TJ (Tijuana Baja California, Mexico) border with California USA. We decided to go and visit the Mexican vineyards and tried out several bottles of red wine. For that reason we managed to get a nice suite in this hotel. Right in front of the ocean nice stay good buffet. If you ever decide to tour around this booming Mexican vineyards. Do stay in this hotel. Modern, nice and fair price.

Room Tip: Definitely in front of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R2ro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our parents retired to Ensenada after living in the US for years. We visit often and love to stay at Punta Morro Hotel. Recently, we booked a King room and were upgraded to a suite (for same price). The staff is top notch - the restaurant has the best food and sunset views around at the same time! The Sunday Brunch is delicious and the value can't be beat! The cocktails are amazing too. Often, the strolling musicians can be hired to serenade your dinner party. All said, this is an excellent place to lodge while visiting Ensenada - a quick drive way from the 'town' and marina. And just when you think it can't get any better, the front desk registration desk manager (hotel) has the ability to print you one 'medical--fast lane' pass per accommodation so that you don't need to wait hours at the border when returning to the US. We have many happy memories here and this will always be our destination when we visit Ensenada (when not staying with family). Considering all the negative PR Mexico gets, I have never felt unsafe visiting Ensenada and personally never witnessed or experience a security threat while in the town or at Punta Morro. Mexican people of kind, generous, and humble hosts - we can learn a lot from their hospitality.

Room Tip: I always enjoy a room on the second floor of bldg 1 -- or the first floor with the living room and/o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our son and his wife invited us to spend a week-end in Punta Morro Resort and boy, were my husband and I happy they did that!! They had a two-bedroom one bath suite which also provided a living room, dining room and a nice ample terrace. Each of the bedrooms was master size with king beds and elegantly decorated. That said, I have to mention that I found some hairs -not mine-on one of the pillows. Also on the downside, the hotel provided the room with just a refrigerator, no microwave or coffee maker. Maybe they do that so the guests go to their restaurant, which by the way, is beautiful overlooking the water and the food is excellent. Still I missed having the choice of making coffee at the apartment. The terrace on the other hand was everything and more of what I expected, we all enjoyed it immensely. All in all, a great place to relax, taking pleasure in the magnificent views and the sea breeze. And something else to add very important so my fellow handicapped travelers take into account, all this beauty is on level ground accessible to wheel chair users.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed at Punta Morro on many occasions over the past years. My most recent visit was over the Thanksgiving weekend, 2013. The hotel seemed very quiet--I think only three or fours rooms were occupied, based on the lights I saw coming from the few rooms. The front desk staff is uniformly pleasant and efficient. The prices are very fair, especially considering the large size of the rooms. The hotel is divided into three sections, with the first section being the oldest. I prefer the second section, for the larger rooms and the dead-on view of the pool and the ocean [watch the cruise ships sailing by to the Ensendada harbor]. There is no elevator, so it is best to stay on the second floor. The ground floor has no privacy from passersby, and why climb to the third floor when the view from the second floor is just as good. The sliding glass door to the balcony in my room would not open---I think another reviewer experienced that, too. We must have stayed i nthe same room. That had never happened to me on any of my prior visits. Another reviewer commented that the built-in sofas were uncomfortable. I agree---the cushions are poorly designed. However, that being said, I enjoy staying at Punta Morro and will continue to do so. I love driving down the long, narrow entry driveway. It gives one the feeling of entering a secret and special place, and in a sense, you are.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesCorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful place. Older hotel that has been kept up & maintained. The staff is so incredibly helpful. The restaurant is delicious. Beautiful presentation & delicious!! This is the place to stay while in Ensenada!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latina53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 37 in Ensenada
219 reviews
3.0 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#5 of 37 in Ensenada
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
131 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#15 of 37 in Ensenada
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Morro Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Morro Resort

Property: Punta Morro Resort
Address: Carretera Tijuana Km 106, Ensenada 22860, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Punta Morro Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Punta Morro Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Morro Hotel Ensenada
Punta Morro Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing