We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always have a good time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Nicolas Hotel and Casino
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We always have a good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's a really cool place to stay. they recently upgraded the swimming pools, plenty of parking. We always go down for the Bicycling race that starts in Rosarito. I will definitely be booking a room for the next trip we take!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    33
    22
    24
See reviews for
43
34
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. We have been to Baja and Ensenada many times but never at this hotel. I like the location of the hotel as it is close to the Municipal beach and not too far from the bars and action. There was a really fun festival at the Rivera Civic center a block down the street so we were able to have some food and drinks while at the hotel. The Casino was bigger than I thought --obviously not the Bellagio, but pretty fun. The pool and outdoor area is really fun with three huge jacuzzis and a huge pool. I had no problem with the wifi at the pool, although it was spotty in the room. The room was clean and good size, no issues. It looks like they have updated a lot of parts of the hotel, but the rooms (at least ours) could use a similar touch. We didn't eat there much but the weekend buffet was really solid. Parking was gated and super secure with a guard 24/7. Good staff I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Gotta get pool balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

First off the wifi sucked and you could only get it in the lobby and pool area. We stayed here a whole week and were honestly very disappointed.The staff was very rude and uunhelpful. Also the food was WAY overpriced for the quality. It sucked and no wonder that restaurant was always empty. The only food part of the trip was the pool. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalieorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ensenada hotels

Downey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Large pool was good and parking is secure. However, the room was extremely dingy and gloomy. The closet had dust and spider webs. The carpet in the room and throughout the hallways was old and dirty. The photographs on the hotel's website are truly deceiving. What a disappointment! It is most likely an overpriced 2-star hotel. Ensenada was our first stop in our road trip to Loreto, and San Nicolas was by far, our worst hotel stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mechona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Service is very good/excellent. Hotel is pricey. Rooms are not clean. The carpet was filthy. We had mold in the shower, hair on bathroom floor and cracked toilet seat. The water pressure is great, best we've ever had. Ice machine never had ice. Now for the good. The maids are very nice and helpful. Isaac our bellman was very good & friendly. The pool is clean & the restaurant very good. Our bartender was an older man whom was very helpful and very attentive. Im sad i cant remember his name but has worked here for 42 yrs. we loved him. He took our drink and food orders cause staff was scarce. Over all we would stay again. I have to remember we were in Mexico. The casino is very busy and looked pretty good. We had kids and couldn't go so just walked through.

Room Tip: Wifi is very weak in rooms, however in the lobby &pool area is very good. Outside the main strip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We return every year to Ensenada and stay at San Nicolas. Although the rooms never seem to change, the owner has done a major remodel to the pool area. There are now three Jacuzzis, two new seating areas, and an upgraded pool. This is a nice change to an aging hotel. The rooms are spacious and generally clean.

Security at the parking lot is a real plus. I noticed someone left their camera on top of their car overnight and no one touched it. Security was able to return it to the guest.

Wi-Fi worked well at the pool, but not at our room near the end of the hotel.

Room Tip: If Wi-Fi is important, ask for a room closer to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The pool was nice and the hotel was clean but very "janky" by this I mean nothing really worked properly including showers and elevators, the staff was not very friendly and for the price, the location was NOT good. I would not stay here again, though I did really like the pool and the breakfast buffet on Sunday was good (though not included in the price).

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Posada Don Fernando
Posada Don Fernando
#13 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Nicolas Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Property: San Nicolas Hotel and Casino
Address: First Street and Guadalupe, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Nicolas Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting over 40 years of experience the San Nicolas Hotel & Casino in the downtown cultural center of Ensenada, Baja California gathers a convenient location and comfortable services by giving you a memorable experience where your comfort is our main goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Nicolas Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Nicolas Hotel Ensenada
San Nicolas Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing