We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and tidy hotel...in a town with no tourist support right now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Nicolas Hotel and Casino
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
british columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and tidy hotel...in a town with no tourist support right now”
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My first time to Ensenada and what I found was a nice slice of Mexico from the tourist standpoint but WOW is this place empty. The hotel is older and shows signs of not putting a ton of money into upkeep or improvements but what they have is perfectly servicable. Rooms were clean and I didn't ever feel the need to check for bugs or anything like that. nice balcony with a couple chairs overlooking a really clean and comfortable pool area and gardens. Small but clean bathroom...no tub and the shower door could use some fresh silicone around it and WOW awesome water pressure in the shower (almost stung a bit). Good selection of channels of the tv (hbo,espn,cnn ect. as well as spanish tv). Bed was on the firm side but was in great shape...no springs poking me in the back. The room was nice and quiet but I think it was the lack of people as you could clearly hear any action from the hallway.
There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel...had a decent huevos rancheros one morning but it was deserted all day. Desk staff was my savior...they all spoke great english. I think I underestimated the language barrier as I don't speak spanish and was a bit ignorant to expect everyone to understand me. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will be better prepared although after 4 days here I found that a few basics will get you what you need.
There is a slot-type casino with a sports book in the hotel...mostly locals and no english in here but they have a bar and it takes 10 times longer to go through $20 here than in Vegas. Even though it is in the hotel it seems to have no connection to it.
I happened to be there as a small tropical storm blew through town...hotel had a power outage and the pool coutyard took a beating (even the big flag on the malecon was shredded from the wind) but the next day the staff did a great job cleaning up and you would never know what happened the day before.
It really is too bad the town is so dead right now. I know that the upper baha has been getting alot of bad press these days but Ensenada never gave out that vibe when I was there and if nothing else, if you want a nice quiet, relaxing time in a clean hotel that will not break the bank, this hotel would fit the bill.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    45
    33
    22
    24
See reviews for
43
34
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We booked this hotel as we had a wedding to go to in Ensenada so had no idea what to expect. It was great. Such a quirky place... you can imagine sixties beauty pageants taking place by the pool and all the rooms were spacious (if dated, they were clean and had all you needed). All rooms overlooked the pool and there were a lot of us wedding guests so it was fun. The owner was terrific and really interesting - such a history! It's the prime hotel location for motor meetings so there was loads of interesting photos and stuff on the walls. Can highly recommend the breakfasts and the tacos! Excellent mojitos and margaritas... especially with the salted/chilli coated peanuts! Good central location and easy parking. Recommend this place.

  • Liked — Interesting history and fabulous kitschyness!
  • Disliked — A strange group of about 40 people who prayed and made a lot of noise in the pool area at 6 o clock in the morning singing hymns.. but everyone to their own!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri&Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brawley
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Trip down to Ensenada with one friend on his way to Iraq and another on his way to an acamedy for several months. An uncle and a dad with two young men just wanting to kick back in Mexico. This hotel filled the bill, with good security watching our truck that still had some supplies left in it but vehicle area is gated and security all day and night watching. Tip the guy watching vehicle and told him more would hit his hand on our way out if all good and it was. The room is dated but was clean and overlook the pool as another already posted. Now, we took some can beer to the jacuzzi and had no problems but did not advertise it either. We utilized their bar that looks out into the pool area and service was good. We kidded around with the bartender and the cocktail host. It was all good, had the Casino attached to this hotel also and right behind this hotel is a great Mexican food resturant. The hotel food is also good and we walked to town one night and took a taxi for $3 dollars the next night. Ate at the El Rey (great desserts also) and it was great and service was excellent also. Did the bar run and visited other entertainment areas set for "Porky's Part III." A lot of laughs and no problems and young men enjoyed the Ensenada food, gaming, nightlife, and hotel clean pool and jaccuzzi. Would recommend it to others and I have stayed at the top end hotels a number of times in Ensenada but due to rooms being full tried this hotel and it was all good would stay again without question.

  • Liked — Located close to town but 5 blocks away keeps the night scene down and good average price
  • Disliked — When the tourist ships come in they have BBQ service by pool however those staying there cannot get any even if you want to pay.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bajafun777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2008

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone person or family staying in Ensenada, Mexico. The hotel is just far enough out of town to enjoy a quiet place to stay and yet close enough to walk to everything. The rooms are excellent and very comfortable. The staff could not be any better. Everyone on the hotel staff, from the front desk to the maid service, did an excellent job and very friendly and helpful. The owner of the hotel is very humble and honest man who will also take care of any problems you may have, which is unlikely. They have a fantastic pool, great restaurant and casino. If you are going to Ensenada, don't miss this hotel. Russ M

  • Liked — Service, location and cost
  • Disliked — Function going on at the pool over the weekend
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RussM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Listen to me! forget all those other positive reviews! i write this to you as a friend even though i dont know you!....this place is soo outdated..it stinks literally it smells bad...like you feel like your in "that 70s show" the bathroom was dirty, the tiles look old and dirty...we found a bug in our bed...we checked in for two days and we left the first day.....dont do it!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank marileolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ensenada hotels

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

This was our first stay at the San Nicolas and I was overall pleased with our stay. It is a few blocks away from the main part of the strip, but it is easily walked. The rooms are very large and could easily fit 4 people without feeling too cramped. The pool looked really nice, but the weather was cold.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. Everything was relatively clean; my only comment would be that the bathrooms could have been a little cleaner.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant two mornings. The food was very good, but the service was a little slow. The lunch/dinner menu is kind of limited there were lots of big meals (steak, fish, complete Mexican dinners), but no appetizers or smaller meals other than sandwiches.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationgirl_0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2007

7/15/2007
Stayed at San Nicolas Resort for three nights. Nice quite location about 10 minutes from the attractions.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Some even knew english.
When you check in you are greeted, your luggage is unloaded and your car is parked in their private parking lot. You also get coupons for complementary margaritas which were "delicious"...

The room I stayed in was right in front of the olympic size pool.
You be the judge with the pictures I took.

Dislikes: Bathroom was a bit small. Nice roomy shower though.
You are not allowed to BYOB.

Bartenders at pool side bar made sure you stayed hydrated.
Great Food!!...

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly staff and location.
  • Disliked — Small bathroom but nice roomy shower.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucson_AZ_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Posada Don Fernando
Posada Don Fernando
#13 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Nicolas Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Property: San Nicolas Hotel and Casino
Address: First Street and Guadalupe, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Nicolas Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting over 40 years of experience the San Nicolas Hotel & Casino in the downtown cultural center of Ensenada, Baja California gathers a convenient location and comfortable services by giving you a memorable experience where your comfort is our main goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Nicolas Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Nicolas Hotel Ensenada
San Nicolas Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing