We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Nicolas Hotel and Casino
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Ensenada
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I liked this hotel. It has personality. It has an aztec theme to it. Staff is very friendly. Beds are comfortable. Its almost walking distance to the main street.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaViajeraSolitaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

I have stayed at San Nicolas over the years and always return due to the ease of making reservations and the dependable service. From the front desk to the bell hop, everyone is pleasant and helpful. The hotel provides free secure parking with preferred spaces for the guests, while casino guests park in the gravel lot. The rooms are large and comfortable, but this is Mexico, so the wall AC units are a bit noisy and occasionally people running through the halls at night can be disturbing. The location is great, just a couple blocks from the tourist area, and without all the noise and traffic. Easy access, great location, and internet reservations make this place a keeper.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This is the second time we've stayed at San Nicolas Resort and I would go back. The rooms are clean (a little outdated) it's so close to the tourist area but far enough away. My only complaint would be they close the pool at 10pm but do not make people leave the pool area so it can be loud at all hours of the night. We were lucky to go when there weren't a lot of college kids. They have sufficient parking and a great staff!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tboutili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and nice this hotel was. It has a lot of 60's style with Aztec inspired murals and art throughout and a bamboo covered bar, the most impressive feature was the Olympic sized pool with an Aztec pyramid and waterfall behind it. The thatch roofed hot tub was a popular party spot, but it was never too loud to catch some sleep.

It is not the most modern, but if you enjoy a little funky flavor with your hotel I recommend. The staff was polite and desk staff spoke English.

There is a casino just off the lobby with slots and such, but not being a gambler I really didn't go there.

It's a short walk to the tourist zone with many restaurants and shops. I was there for the Rosarito Ensenada Bike Ride and was able to catch a shuttle taxi to the race start, right rom the lobby. I'll stay there when i go back to Ensenada.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Title says it all! For the same price range save yourselves and go to another hotel. We checked in late at night and, as tired as we were, didn't care about how outdated everything was, from carpet to the restrooms and even malfunctioning dangerous electricity outlets not even attached to the wall anymore.

When the light was on we didn't noticed much else out of place, understatement if you ask me. No less than 10 minutes after turning the lights of we woke up to cockroaches roaming on top of the bed comforter! Disgusting!

We checked out immediately and the front clerk seemed to have heard it before as I told my story.
We ended up at Corona hotel for an AMAZING experience from a delightful breakfast to a free bottle of wine a dinner. Clean and modern rooms, even chocolates left behind on the bed as the room was cleaned a second time midday.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My first time to Ensenada and what I found was a nice slice of Mexico from the tourist standpoint but WOW is this place empty. The hotel is older and shows signs of not putting a ton of money into upkeep or improvements but what they have is perfectly servicable. Rooms were clean and I didn't ever feel the need to check for bugs or anything like that. nice balcony with a couple chairs overlooking a really clean and comfortable pool area and gardens. Small but clean bathroom...no tub and the shower door could use some fresh silicone around it and WOW awesome water pressure in the shower (almost stung a bit). Good selection of channels of the tv (hbo,espn,cnn ect. as well as spanish tv). Bed was on the firm side but was in great shape...no springs poking me in the back. The room was nice and quiet but I think it was the lack of people as you could clearly hear any action from the hallway.
There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel...had a decent huevos rancheros one morning but it was deserted all day. Desk staff was my savior...they all spoke great english. I think I underestimated the language barrier as I don't speak spanish and was a bit ignorant to expect everyone to understand me. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will be better prepared although after 4 days here I found that a few basics will get you what you need.
There is a slot-type casino with a sports book in the hotel...mostly locals and no english in here but they have a bar and it takes 10 times longer to go through $20 here than in Vegas. Even though it is in the hotel it seems to have no connection to it.
I happened to be there as a small tropical storm blew through town...hotel had a power outage and the pool coutyard took a beating (even the big flag on the malecon was shredded from the wind) but the next day the staff did a great job cleaning up and you would never know what happened the day before.
It really is too bad the town is so dead right now. I know that the upper baha has been getting alot of bad press these days but Ensenada never gave out that vibe when I was there and if nothing else, if you want a nice quiet, relaxing time in a clean hotel that will not break the bank, this hotel would fit the bill.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We booked this hotel as we had a wedding to go to in Ensenada so had no idea what to expect. It was great. Such a quirky place... you can imagine sixties beauty pageants taking place by the pool and all the rooms were spacious (if dated, they were clean and had all you needed). All rooms overlooked the pool and there were a lot of us wedding guests so it was fun. The owner was terrific and really interesting - such a history! It's the prime hotel location for motor meetings so there was loads of interesting photos and stuff on the walls. Can highly recommend the breakfasts and the tacos! Excellent mojitos and margaritas... especially with the salted/chilli coated peanuts! Good central location and easy parking. Recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceri&Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 38 in Ensenada
569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 38 in Ensenada
250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#15 of 38 in Ensenada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 38 in Ensenada
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#14 of 38 in Ensenada
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#7 of 38 in Ensenada
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Nicolas Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Address: First Street and Guadalupe, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Nicolas Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting over 40 years of experience the San Nicolas Hotel & Casino in the downtown cultural center of Ensenada, Baja California gathers a convenient location and comfortable services by giving you a memorable experience where your comfort is our main goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Nicolas Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Nicolas Hotel Ensenada
San Nicolas Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing