We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hotel on the south of ave Mateo a short walk to all the action. We payed around $100 with tax and we got a free b-fast but we did not use it as we left for the boarder early and a fast pass to get back across the boarder. The room was small but nice we had a queen size bed a little soft but not bad for Mexican standards. Since we were only staying for 1 night the size of the room was not an issue. The pool and the jacuzzi are small but we did not use either. The hotel was quiet and very save. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaburlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
As owner, I would like to thank-you for your very positive comments for our property and hope to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    101
    42
    21
    21
See reviews for
56
97
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at the Posada El Rey Sol (America's Best Value Inn) for one night only on our way north. We got in fairly early and were able to wander around and enjoy the location, which is excellent - right off of the main street in Ensenada, full of great restaurants and lots of interesting shopping. There was also a street fair going on at the time, but our room was quite quiet considering all the noise happening outside.
The room itself was very large, and nicely finished - the bathroom tiling in particular was very high quality. The bed was very comfortable.
The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
We really enjoyed our little stay in Ensenada, and will look forward to going back to the Posada El Rey Sol on another future Baja vacation!
We were told there was a complimentary breakfast at their restaurant, but we did not take them up on the offer as we had to get on the road for the drive north... so I can't comment on the quality of the breakfast. But their restaurant is a wonderful French restaurant, and we had a dessert there which was the best pastry I've probably ever eaten! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryAlphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very clean and well preserved. Staff is always courteous and professional, as well as friendly and helpful. You get a sense of "home" like comfort when you are there and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danieliga9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Posada by description is when someone offers you there home so you can make it your own, and that is exactly what Posada El Rey Sol does. It is a very authentic, clean and spacious mexican style posada right in the center of Ensenada. You can walk to many places or a very short taxi ride to restaurants or clubs. The rooms have all the amenities that one needs, very clean bathroom and an amazing sister French restaurant that you have to try before leaving Ensenada. And once again this is a posada, not a 5 star beach American resort that you would find in Cabo San Lucas. This is place where you can come and relax and at the same time be able to go see everything that Ensenada has to offer. El Rey Sol is perfect for people looking for a place to stay for a destination wedding, tourist looking to explore the area and couples looking for a quick getaway. Also for anybody still fearfull of Mexico please do not listen to all the negative news, Ensenada is as safe or safer than many areas in the United States just as long as you do not behave different as you were behaving in your own country. Thank you El Rey Sol for giving me great "Posada"

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pinchivida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a really great stay June 2012. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. The rooms are super cute with a little Mexico flare. They provide free water bottles and a coffee maker. The hotel is located right in the middle of a bunch of bars and restaurants. The staff can arrange a tour of wine country for you too.

Room Tip: Do not get the few rooms close to the check in area. Those rooms are by the elevator, stairs, and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlastiKFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I booked a 2 night trip for 6/14 2012 and 6/15 2012 on the morning of 6/15 the hotel assured me if I checked out b4 noon on 6/15 I would not be charge for a second day, however they charged me anyway and wont refund my $ this went thru priceline which was no help either. Bed was hard as a brick and only 1 english tv station on a loop.........BEWARE

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
As owner, we were never aware of the issue you had with our property. When you go through most on line bookers, it is dificult for most to correct refunds, although in our case there is a 48 cancelation policy that is visible upon reserving. If you had a bad experience, we never saw your written complaint. I would appreciate your contacting the GM or me in order to discuss your refund, as all our clients satisfaction is most important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel over the weekend. Rooms are a cool funky style mexican theme but this does depend which room u get, the basic standard rooms are just standard. The beds are not very comfortable at all. We had to request a room change after waking up with sore necks and backs the following day, but the second room we got changed into the following night had the same problem, i ended up getting a massage my neck &back was so sore. The Staff were very friendly and helpful though, all I am saying is they need to upgrade their beds. This hotel is much cheaper than other hotels in ensenada, and has a very central location. We went across to have breakfast and on the second morning got very bad quality service. We got ignored when they were taking around coffee and they bought our oatmeal and fruit out with the hot breakfast so by the time I finished the oatmeal my hot bfast was cold. They didn't bring our bill for ages and the tea they serve is awful. But we ate dinner there, although expensive, it's very nice and service was 5 star.

Room Tip: Away from the evelvators so you cannot hear every single person go in and out on your floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Cid
BEST WESTERN El Cid
#4 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing