We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price and in a great part of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Pacific Ocean
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Ok for the price and in a great part of town.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

There appear to be three kinds of hotels in Ensenada. Very, very cheap (and possibly by the hour), mid-level with prices around $100 US and upscale.

This is one of the mid-level places.

The booking.com price was much less than that offered by the hotel itself. When I wanted to extend the stay, I was advised to go back to booking.com and reserve through them or pay the higher price. This made no sense to me, but it worked out.

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but there is off street parking (a plus in Ensenada) and the rooms are quite lovely. Although the walls are cinderblock, the bathrooms are tiled and the artwork is nice.

There was a very small balcony in the back of the room that overlooked a very dumpy parking lot and business. But it's nice if you are a smoker.

There is very little in the way of amenities. The pool doesn't look very inviting and the on-site bar seemed never to be open.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

If you book directly with the hotel, you do get a welcome drink, a breakfast voucher (unfortunately for a restaurant we found to be terrible) and a pass for the fast lane at the border. That is why it is more expensive, but do you really want/need these things?

This area is at the far end of the tourist district, so is quieter and nice to walk around.

Tripadvisor doesn't list it (yet) but there is a great Italian restaurant just down the street - La Forchetta. Excellent food, live music on some nights (a 4 piece band playing wonderful music).

Overall, no complaints, but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Asistente de Dirección at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review, we are happy that you enjoyed our Hotel rooms.
You are correct that the current rate with booking.com was cheaper because there was a promotion available. The amenities we offer have been valued greatly by our customers
such as an hour of all you can drink margaritas, the fast pass which gives you access to a lane at the border that cuts your waiting time from 1 to 2 hours down to 30 minutes and is thus very valuable to some. Moreover the american breakfast is offered at our Award-winning restaurant that was established 66 years ago, and is very popular with our customers. We are astonished you had a terrible experience and hope you will return and give us a chance to serve and amaze you with a wonderful culinary experience. Just say the word and we will be happy to assist you. I agree with you that La Forchetta is a wonderful italian restaurant :)

We hope you will come back and visit our beautiful and cultural sites such as La bufadora, Cheese Cellar, museums and many wineries.

We hope to see you again soon.

Happy holidays,

Abigail Montano
Asistente de Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    108
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
67
100
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Perfectly fine. Pleasant service with young staff that tried to be helpful. Room and internet service were fine and the location is very good near downtown and the male con. If Breakfast was available, I was not told. $80/night that is on the high side for Ensenada.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cba_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do offer complimentary american breakfast (choice of scrambled eggs or pancakces) and apologize that you were not informed of it. Our rate is comparable to most of the hotels in the area, and we feel that with the complimentary parking, wifi, in-room coffee, welcome margarita and the mentioned breakfast, that we provide you good value for your rate.
Hopefully you will come back to visit us and give us the opportunity to better serve you and enjoy all the services and amenities we offer.

Sincerely,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is very, it is a good location because you are a few streets from the noisiest part of Ensenada, so it you want to party but still try to catch some sleep, this place is good because all the bars are just a few blocks from here, but inside our room we couldn't hear anything, so that was perfect for sleeping.

Good size bedrooms, clean and nice bed.

They include the breakfast which can be two options, one is scramble eggs and coffee or tea, or they will discount 30 pesos from anything from the menu.

Now the reason of the average is because the coffeepot was dirty, luckily of us we first run water through it and saw that it was disgustingly dirty. So, please, if you are planning on using it check that it is clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iguanavoladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Iguana Voladora,

Thank you for your review, and your kind words. We apologize profusely for that dirty coffeepot, and we have since taken measures with our housekeeping staff as we do not want this happening in our hotel. We hope that you will come back and enjoy a better experience in that regard.

You should also know for future reference that the breakfast has another choice of pancakes with bacon or ham, and it can also be used for a 50 pesos discount for lunch or dinner.

Sincerely,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great location, great service but the best part was the room, it was lovely. There's not a lot going on in Ensenada so having a nice room to return to was great. They even left little chocolates on your pillow - cute! The pool was tiny and uninviting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Many thanks to our visitor from Australia for the wonderful comments. We are sorry that our pool wasn't as large as you would have wished, but we do have a jacuzzi and sundeck to complement our pool, as well as a nice bar overlooking the pool that is open on the weekends. Hope to see you back and help you visit the many wineries in Ensenada, the wine capital of Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Located just off the main drag and quite comfortable. Rooms have rustic feel, breezy. Courtyard parking fits SUV's. Staff very helpful. No wifi, coffee & computer in office OK. Rates OK. Will go back.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Hello Edgar,

We thank you for your clear and precise review. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and hope to see you again soon. We normally have free wifi everywhere in the hotel, as well as complimentary coffee in every room so that should be the case for you as well in your next stay.

Come back and enjoy everything that Ensenada has to offer you.

Sincerely,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This Inn has one of the top ratings in Ensenada hotels/motels. My visit to this Inn was the first time and I found it pretty confusing.

I booked a room through their website and got a discounted rate due to my affliation with the "Value Club". I had requested a room with a blacony and sure was given a room on the ground level with a balcony which opens to the dumping ground of some business behind the Inn. While taking a stroll near the bar area, I was told by the bartender that if I get a coupon from the front desk, i was eligible for a free margarita. When I approached the front desk clerk, I was embarssed by the young man by saying I don't qualify for one but he will give me a complimentary one. Even though I had received an e-mail from their reservations department that with the room I get an hour of free margaritas.
So I go and turn the jacuzzi on which not to mention was cold. At lease 3/4 of the water came oozing out of the jacuzzi due to the jet pressure. I have an e-mail from Abigail Montaño (Reservations) stating that free breakfast was included with the room. When we asked in the morning, we were given discount coupons for the restaurant across the street and NOT free breakfast. We ended up at the San Nicolas breakfast buffet, probably the best in town.
I have stayed at Best Western El Cid, San Nicolas & now this motel. My observation is that the best place to stay is at the Best Western El Cid. San Nicolas has decent but old rooms but they offer the best breakfast buffet. It's about ten bucks for adult but if you are a guest at their hotel, you get discount. The only reason I would stay at Americas Best Value Inn is their free offering of a Fast Pass with one day stay. San Nicolas offers the pass for a ten bucks charge and Best Western El Cid offers the pass with a minimum of two days stay. Overall the hotel is pricey for what they have to offer.
Customer service at all these places were above par!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank-you very much for your comments, as they help us serve our visitors better as a result of the feedback. We are sorry for the various issues you mentioned. Our balcony rooms are doublé rooms facing the Street, except for a junior suite with a kingsize bed, bar and Whirlpool tub. Our single rooms have a mini smoking without a view, as they are for ventilation.
As we are an ecological motorhotel, we only turn on the jacuzzi upon request with an hour of anticipation.
Our rates vary in relation to the amenities offered. Our present promotion is the "Almost Free Package" , that includes an hour of free margaritas during our happy hour between 6-7, American breakfast for two at our world famous El Rey Sol Restaurant across the Street, as well as the advantageous Fast Lane Pass so you can return to the US at San Ysidro border crossing usually in less than a half hour. All this with rates beginning at 99 dlls plus tax.
If you paid a lesser rate, your amenities were less.
We hope this explains the comments you wrote satisfactorly. Hope to see you soon and give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Jean-Loup Bitterlin, owner
PS. Glad you like the El Cid Hotel, as I built it for my sisters family in 1973.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had an excellent stay at the hotel. The staff, especially Miguel, who works in the bar and various other jobs, were all great. However, our drive back over the border was a disaster. We received the Fast Pass and were told that we should stay in the middle on the approach and look for the "Medico" sign. Granted there was a map of Tijuana on the pass, but we didn't follow it because we didn't know that it was necessary to take that route. When we approached there were 3 or 4 lines, and after about 15 minutes, we saw a lane with a barrier 2 lanes to our right. I waived the Pass to a policeman and he waived me off. A few minutes later I was approached by someone who wanted $20 (he had to give a portion to the policeman) to get over to the lane. He did get us over one lane, but there was no break in the barrier to get us to the Fast Pass lane. We eventually saw the "Medico" sign but it was on the other side of the barrier. It took us 2 & 1/2 hours to cross the border on a Sunday morning! We clearly had taken the wrong approach to the border. I strongly urge the hotel staff to give specific instructions concerning the Fast Pass. If the Tijuana map is to be used, make sure this is made clear.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Dexter,

We thank you for your review, and are happy to hear that your stay with us was excellent as you said. It is VERY unfortunate that you had such trouble with the fast pass map, and even WORSE that these people were charging you for what was your right. It saddens us that some people undermine the effort most of us as Mexican citizens do to improve our clients' stay.
We will be filing an official complaint regarding this situation you went through as it is unjust and does not reflect the general attitude of the Tourism Board of Mexico.

We hope you will comeback, and rest assured that we will inform our clients very clearly of the Tijuana map.

Sincerely,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#16 of 37 in Ensenada
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing