We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty Floor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty Floor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in room 108. The floor looked dirty so I took a wet wash cloth and make a swipe on the floor. It came up BLACK. There is no way they could be cleaning the floor. It was gross and I had to wear my shoes everywhere in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go2thec2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Direccion at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We apologize the room was not up to our cleanliness standard and you can be sure we are taking action on it.
Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to better serve you and come back to Hotel Posada El Rey Sol.
Happy Holidays,


Abigail Montaño
Asistente de Direccion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    101
    42
    21
    21
See reviews for
56
97
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PS
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

This room was totally unexpected and a wonderful surprise and beautifully charming. I cannot say enough about the room and hotel it really made my stay in Mexico more lovely than I could of thought possible. Thank you AMericas best value Inn. Will be returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful and romantic honeymoon suite. Making your stay an unforgettable experience is our mission.

We hope to see you really soon in at Hotel Posada El Rey Sol, and that you enjoy all that Ensenada has to offer such as wineries, restaurants, museums and our unique cheese cellar.

Happy holidays.


Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We found this property to be a great value. The hotel had everything that we would need. The location was convenient with several outstanding restaurants and store to replenish our travel supplies. The only down side being the room/bathroom were on the small side and the TV signal was not up to standard. The breakfast was just what we needed after being on the road for 4 days. The staff was super. I would recommend this hotel strictly due to the excellent service we received.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyfalcon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Asistente de Dirección at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Grey,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are sorry about the TV issue, this is an unfortunate issue that we are resolving with our cable company.
On your next stay with us you can request a room with a more spacious bathroom for your convenience.

We hope to have you back soon as our guest, and as a traveler visiting all the wonderfull places our city can offer.

Happy holidays,

Abigail Montano
Asistente de Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Ocean
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

There appear to be three kinds of hotels in Ensenada. Very, very cheap (and possibly by the hour), mid-level with prices around $100 US and upscale.

This is one of the mid-level places.

The booking.com price was much less than that offered by the hotel itself. When I wanted to extend the stay, I was advised to go back to booking.com and reserve through them or pay the higher price. This made no sense to me, but it worked out.

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but there is off street parking (a plus in Ensenada) and the rooms are quite lovely. Although the walls are cinderblock, the bathrooms are tiled and the artwork is nice.

There was a very small balcony in the back of the room that overlooked a very dumpy parking lot and business. But it's nice if you are a smoker.

There is very little in the way of amenities. The pool doesn't look very inviting and the on-site bar seemed never to be open.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

If you book directly with the hotel, you do get a welcome drink, a breakfast voucher (unfortunately for a restaurant we found to be terrible) and a pass for the fast lane at the border. That is why it is more expensive, but do you really want/need these things?

This area is at the far end of the tourist district, so is quieter and nice to walk around.

Tripadvisor doesn't list it (yet) but there is a great Italian restaurant just down the street - La Forchetta. Excellent food, live music on some nights (a 4 piece band playing wonderful music).

Overall, no complaints, but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Asistente de Dirección at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review, we are happy that you enjoyed our Hotel rooms.
You are correct that the current rate with booking.com was cheaper because there was a promotion available. The amenities we offer have been valued greatly by our customers
such as an hour of all you can drink margaritas, the fast pass which gives you access to a lane at the border that cuts your waiting time from 1 to 2 hours down to 30 minutes and is thus very valuable to some. Moreover the american breakfast is offered at our Award-winning restaurant that was established 66 years ago, and is very popular with our customers. We are astonished you had a terrible experience and hope you will return and give us a chance to serve and amaze you with a wonderful culinary experience. Just say the word and we will be happy to assist you. I agree with you that La Forchetta is a wonderful italian restaurant :)

We hope you will come back and visit our beautiful and cultural sites such as La bufadora, Cheese Cellar, museums and many wineries.

We hope to see you again soon.

Happy holidays,

Abigail Montano
Asistente de Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Perfectly fine. Pleasant service with young staff that tried to be helpful. Room and internet service were fine and the location is very good near downtown and the male con. If Breakfast was available, I was not told. $80/night that is on the high side for Ensenada.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cba_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do offer complimentary american breakfast (choice of scrambled eggs or pancakces) and apologize that you were not informed of it. Our rate is comparable to most of the hotels in the area, and we feel that with the complimentary parking, wifi, in-room coffee, welcome margarita and the mentioned breakfast, that we provide you good value for your rate.
Hopefully you will come back to visit us and give us the opportunity to better serve you and enjoy all the services and amenities we offer.

Sincerely,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is very, it is a good location because you are a few streets from the noisiest part of Ensenada, so it you want to party but still try to catch some sleep, this place is good because all the bars are just a few blocks from here, but inside our room we couldn't hear anything, so that was perfect for sleeping.

Good size bedrooms, clean and nice bed.

They include the breakfast which can be two options, one is scramble eggs and coffee or tea, or they will discount 30 pesos from anything from the menu.

Now the reason of the average is because the coffeepot was dirty, luckily of us we first run water through it and saw that it was disgustingly dirty. So, please, if you are planning on using it check that it is clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iguanavoladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Iguana Voladora,

Thank you for your review, and your kind words. We apologize profusely for that dirty coffeepot, and we have since taken measures with our housekeeping staff as we do not want this happening in our hotel. We hope that you will come back and enjoy a better experience in that regard.

You should also know for future reference that the breakfast has another choice of pancakes with bacon or ham, and it can also be used for a 50 pesos discount for lunch or dinner.

Sincerely,
Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great location, great service but the best part was the room, it was lovely. There's not a lot going on in Ensenada so having a nice room to return to was great. They even left little chocolates on your pillow - cute! The pool was tiny and uninviting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Many thanks to our visitor from Australia for the wonderful comments. We are sorry that our pool wasn't as large as you would have wished, but we do have a jacuzzi and sundeck to complement our pool, as well as a nice bar overlooking the pool that is open on the weekends. Hope to see you back and help you visit the many wineries in Ensenada, the wine capital of Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Cid
BEST WESTERN El Cid
#4 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing