We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Comfortable and much better than other Ensenada Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Tarzana, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quite Comfortable and much better than other Ensenada Hotels”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our 6th stay in Ensenada. This has to be one of the most comfortable places to stay. First of all, if having an ice machine is important for you, this place rules! Second, quite close to all important tourist things. Free breakfast, fast pass, in room amenities, clean sheets, potted plant in the room, nice people at the front desk, 12 pm check out, easy parking. Our room was clean, and the floor was clean, thanks probably to the people who stayed there right before us and wrote a review of the filthy floors! You cant go wrong booking a room here, but dont get spoiled because most other places that charge the same rate in ensenada have standards far far below this one.

Room Tip: They put us on the first floor and our car was parked right outside our door. So convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
As we had mentioned before, we are working with a new floor cleaning/waxing machine, all this to ensure the floors are clean as our guests deserve.
We will love to see you really soon visiting again our hotel and our city, and next time don't forget to visit all the beautiful tourist points Ensenada has to offer you, such as La Bufadora, the winneries, cheese factories, museum and more.
Next time you visit us, feel free to ask our staff members, we will be happy to guide you through all.

Sincerely,


Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    108
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
67
100
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SUN CITY, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We've stayed at this hotel in Ensenada many times over the years. It use to be a Travelodge a few years back. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, Nice TV (could have had a few more English stations), coffee and water in the room, nice shower, the free breakfast, all in all a great hotel for the money,,,,,,,,,,,, However, I felt that the pillows were a little skimpy. Too small, too flat and not enough. Next time we'll bring our own, no big deal. But we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIREFLY60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Gerente at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you mentioned we were a Travelodge for many years, and we have since joined AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN, we have been happily working with them for more than a decade now. We believe that being part of an American chain helps us better serve you, our clientele.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and our amenities.
Regarding the pillows we apologize they were not to your liking, we try to have a variety since we all enjoy different pillows. I suggest that you ask for more or different pillows from Housekeeping on your next trip, or of course bring your own if you prefer as you mentioned. Hope too see you very soon at Posada El Rey Sol.

Sincerely,

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It's not luxurious or sparkling, but I think it is a little gem nonetheless.

First off - the positives:

1) Great location

2) Wonderful staff

3) Comfortable bed

4) Soap in mounted dispenser in bathroom, and shampoo, conditioner and body soap mounted in dispenser in shower with shower puff provided.

5) Free Wifi

6) Flat screen TV

7) Convenient, secure parking in front of room

8) Free breakfast (2 choices) or 35 pesos off any other breakfast at the fabulous El Rey Sol.

The negative-

The FILTHY floor!!!

Now I know this isn't the Four Seasons so I can overlook the cinder block walls and the cracked bathroom tiles. But I can't believe that housekeeping does not mop the floors. If they do, they must quickly drag a mop over the tiles and skip any and every attention to detail. I put on my white athletic socks as I didn't bring slippers, and they were black in a matter of minutes.

We will be back at the end of the Jan and will probably give Posada El Rey Sol another shot.

But I will bring slippers just in case, and so should you if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anejo-y-Coca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Asistente de Dirección at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your thorough review, and happy new year to you! We are glad you enjoyed all the amenities we offer to our guest and that your overall experience was pleasant.

We truly apologize for the dirty floor in the room, we are already taking action to amend this situation. In fact we just purchased a new floor cleaning/waxing machine to ensure our floors are thoroughly clean.

Thank you for giving Hotel Posada El Rey Sol another opportunity to serve you better. If you would be so kind to send your personal information to reservaciones@elreysol.com as we would love to meet you and personally welcome you on your next trip.

Best regards


Abigail Montaño
Asistente de Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in room 108. The floor looked dirty so I took a wet wash cloth and make a swipe on the floor. It came up BLACK. There is no way they could be cleaning the floor. It was gross and I had to wear my shoes everywhere in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go2thec2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Direccion at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We apologize the room was not up to our cleanliness standard and you can be sure we are taking action on it.
Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to better serve you and come back to Hotel Posada El Rey Sol.
Happy Holidays,


Abigail Montaño
Asistente de Direccion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

This room was totally unexpected and a wonderful surprise and beautifully charming. I cannot say enough about the room and hotel it really made my stay in Mexico more lovely than I could of thought possible. Thank you AMericas best value Inn. Will be returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Director General at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful and romantic honeymoon suite. Making your stay an unforgettable experience is our mission.

We hope to see you really soon in at Hotel Posada El Rey Sol, and that you enjoy all that Ensenada has to offer such as wineries, restaurants, museums and our unique cheese cellar.

Happy holidays.


Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We found this property to be a great value. The hotel had everything that we would need. The location was convenient with several outstanding restaurants and store to replenish our travel supplies. The only down side being the room/bathroom were on the small side and the TV signal was not up to standard. The breakfast was just what we needed after being on the road for 4 days. The staff was super. I would recommend this hotel strictly due to the excellent service we received.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyfalcon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Asistente de Dirección at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Grey,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are sorry about the TV issue, this is an unfortunate issue that we are resolving with our cable company.
On your next stay with us you can request a room with a more spacious bathroom for your convenience.

We hope to have you back soon as our guest, and as a traveler visiting all the wonderfull places our city can offer.

Happy holidays,

Abigail Montano
Asistente de Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Ocean
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

There appear to be three kinds of hotels in Ensenada. Very, very cheap (and possibly by the hour), mid-level with prices around $100 US and upscale.

This is one of the mid-level places.

The booking.com price was much less than that offered by the hotel itself. When I wanted to extend the stay, I was advised to go back to booking.com and reserve through them or pay the higher price. This made no sense to me, but it worked out.

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but there is off street parking (a plus in Ensenada) and the rooms are quite lovely. Although the walls are cinderblock, the bathrooms are tiled and the artwork is nice.

There was a very small balcony in the back of the room that overlooked a very dumpy parking lot and business. But it's nice if you are a smoker.

There is very little in the way of amenities. The pool doesn't look very inviting and the on-site bar seemed never to be open.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

If you book directly with the hotel, you do get a welcome drink, a breakfast voucher (unfortunately for a restaurant we found to be terrible) and a pass for the fast lane at the border. That is why it is more expensive, but do you really want/need these things?

This area is at the far end of the tourist district, so is quieter and nice to walk around.

Tripadvisor doesn't list it (yet) but there is a great Italian restaurant just down the street - La Forchetta. Excellent food, live music on some nights (a 4 piece band playing wonderful music).

Overall, no complaints, but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Asistente de Dirección at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review, we are happy that you enjoyed our Hotel rooms.
You are correct that the current rate with booking.com was cheaper because there was a promotion available. The amenities we offer have been valued greatly by our customers
such as an hour of all you can drink margaritas, the fast pass which gives you access to a lane at the border that cuts your waiting time from 1 to 2 hours down to 30 minutes and is thus very valuable to some. Moreover the american breakfast is offered at our Award-winning restaurant that was established 66 years ago, and is very popular with our customers. We are astonished you had a terrible experience and hope you will return and give us a chance to serve and amaze you with a wonderful culinary experience. Just say the word and we will be happy to assist you. I agree with you that La Forchetta is a wonderful italian restaurant :)

We hope you will come back and visit our beautiful and cultural sites such as La bufadora, Cheese Cellar, museums and many wineries.

We hope to see you again soon.

Happy holidays,

Abigail Montano
Asistente de Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#17 of 37 in Ensenada
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing