We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western El Cid
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Ensenada
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night during a midweek in January. We practically had the hotel to ourselves. The property was clean and located a stones throw away from shopping and restaurants. Our room decorations were very outdated but was spacious and clean which was really what we wanted anyway. I was a little uneasy at the fact that there was a drain in the bathroom which wasn't covered. I was fearful that critters might come crawling out in the middle of the night. In the end we didn't have any unwanted visitors so that was good. In the morning I went down stairs to get a cup of coffee but it was lukewarm and smelled stale so I drove to the closest Starbucks (3 minute drive). I could have walked but I was feeling lazy. We would probably stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelJunkySoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseRendon, Manager at Best Western El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Travel Junky

Thank you for your comments, we value them to improve our service and property.
We hope to see you back son

Jose L Rendon
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed there on a January 1st which was very quiet. I liked the room and the desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. The a/c worked well, the neighbourhood was great. My only comment is that the walls are not as soundproof as you might like, which led to an entertaining hour of non-G-rated noises coming from the adjacent room. Not unique among hotels, but mildly unexpected in this one considering the overall solid-looking construction.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseRendon, Owner at Best Western El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Mr. Lawrence,
We thank you for your positive comments on our personnel, property and its location, this encourages us to keep on doing thing right.
Sorry for the noises next door, our building has concrete walls!
We hope to see you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Great location in tourist area one block from harbour. Good value. Restaurant was closed for renovations when we were there. Great staff. Top floor facing harbour provides great views. Take a flashlight as the hotel has a habit of shutting all hallway lights off. Lots of good restaurants within a block or two.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseRendon, Owner at Best Western El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Mr. Persevera,
We thank you for your positive comments on our personnel, hotel and area
The hall way lights, they should be on all night long if there is an occoupied room on the floor, thank you for letting me know this.
We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have been staying here at least 1 a year for 15 years. The staff are friendly, courteous and consistant. Rooms are always very clean. The cleaning ladies are one of the most respectful and helpful we have ever met and always remeber us. Close to everything. You can walk anywhere from here (within reason). We have stayed at othe hotels and NONE compare to El Cid. My only complaint is online reservations!! The person in charge (a girl can't remembe her name) is not good aty follow through. She NEVER gets back to emails or reservation requests. They need someone new since most of us book via internet.

Room Tip: If you want action filled nights get a front balcony room. If you like to sleep get a room towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseRendon, Owner at Best Western El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Señorita Judy

Muchísimas gracias por sus amables comentarios, se los comentare al personal, estoy seguro que les agradara oírlos.

Gracia por su comentario sobre las reservaciones en línea, por favor la próxima vez contáctenos a info@hotelelcid.com.mx

Atentamente

Jose L Rendon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Have stayed here many times over many years. USD$75-200 (900-2500 M.N.) the suites are worth the increase if you will be in the room quite a bit. Cleanly maintained, secure parking and friendly bi-lingual personnel contribute to a comfortable experience. Rooms have small refrigerators, many with balconies, good lighting and generally plenty of space, although the beds are consistently a bit firm. Plenty of shopping and eating choices from the minute you step out the door. World known La Guerrerense cebicheria around the corner and El Rey Sol (fine dining since 1947) next door. 2 blocks to the malecon, a few more to the cruise terminal and concert venue, 5 blocks to Hussong's Cantina, El Cid presents as the best option in central Ensenada.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 500 series face the street and can be noisy as this hotel is located in the center of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaime664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The El Cid Ensenada is right on the main tourist strip in downtown Ensenada. It is just a few blocks south of the main nightlife activity. It is an easy walk to shopping, dinner, bars and the bay front. There is secured parking. My room was one of the cleanest I ever had in Baja. Staff was friendly. If you are a tourist not familiar with the area, you can book it on a USA website, know what you are paying and have a solid confirmation number. The bi-lingual front desk staff will give you walking maps and friendly directions. Price was ok. All this is good, but beware of noise! I got a decent room on the front side of the hotel. It offered a tiny glimpse of the bay and great people watching on the main street off a small patio. However it was so noisy at night it was almost impossible to sleep. In hindsight, I would have been better off on the back side of hotel. That offers a boring view of old swimming pool but at least you might actually sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side are interesting to people watch from your little patio but noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElGuapo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseRendon, Manager at Best Western El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank You for your comments, we're glad you liked our staff, rooms and our location, on weekends (Friday and Saturday) the noise at night for the street side rooms is a bit of a problem since this is the liveliest street in town, we do offer ear plugs for guests who wish to have a street view and turn in early at night. Most of our rooms face the inside of the hotel (70%) those are very quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My buddy and I stayed here for a few days and had a great time both in this Hotel and in Ensenada in general. We had suites and I can honestly say it is worth the few dollars extra if you can afford it as you get a much larger area and balcony etc
The staff are very helpful and we used them a lot to arrange trips and to help with our stay.
The location is also perfect right on the main drag but away from all the American teenager type bars so that you don't get the noise associated with that.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank musicben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseRendon, Manager at Best Western El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

We're glad you liked our friendly english speaking staff, suites and our location, like I tell all of our guests, on weekends (Friday and Saturday) the noise at night for the street side rooms is a bit of a problem since this is the liveliest street in town, we do offer ear plugs for guests who wish to have a street view and turn in early at night. Most of our rooms face the inside of the hotel (70%), those are very quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 38 in Ensenada
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#15 of 38 in Ensenada
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 38 in Ensenada
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 38 in Ensenada
142 reviews
3.3 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 38 in Ensenada
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Nicolas Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Cid

Address: Avenida Adolfo Lopez Mateos # 993 | Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
#3 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western El Cid 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 52 Mediterranean style rooms offering a view either to the bay or to the pool from their private balcony. The decor of each bedroom is different and inspired by the rich Mexican culture. At the Best Western El Cid Hotel, you can enjoy the closeness, a few blocks, to the Riviera Cultural Center of the Pacific, the State Center for the Arts, the famous wagon "La Guerrerense", La Villa Mexicana plaza, the promenade and the civic plaza where cultural, gastronomic and musical events frequently take place. You can also explore the city by taxi, hired directly through our concierge. Near the hotel you can also hire: calandrias (horse carts), ATVs and bicycles to explore the city or move to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Cid Hotel Ensenada
Best Western Hotel Ensenada
Best Western Ensenada
Ensenada Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing