We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Winter Get-a-Way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Southern California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Winter Get-a-Way!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Just back from a Fabulous Get-a-Way at Las Rosas for a friends birthday celebration!
We were so lucky to have great January weather in the 70's and what a great place to enjoy it!
The rooms are very nice with Balconies and Ocean Views.
We had a standard room, which was perfect for us, and our friends upgraded to a Corner Jacuzzi Room - they really had amazing views and a huge room.
There weren't many guests, so it was like our own private resort, and we got great winter rates, by making a reservation ahead of time.
The grounds are lovely and well kept.
The service was great and the food delicious - Excellent Margaritas, as well!
We will definatley return, hopefully soon.
The location is just out of Ensenada, easy drive into town. Also close to the Wine country, for a beautiful change of scenery.
We drove down and didn't have any problems....we were able to get a Fast Pass to return across the border, which is a huge plus...

Room Tip: Traffic noise may be a little louder on North side....it was loud in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDi_and_Cowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    69
    30
    14
    17
See reviews for
34
78
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great place in Ensenada for a getaway with the little lady. All rooms overlook the Pacific. Food and Drinks great here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelered42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We've been staying at Las Rosas on and off for about 15 years. For a long time this was my favorite hotel in Ensenada, although the past 2 years we've been staying at the Coral and Marina because their junior suites are HUGE with lovely marble bathrooms, include a small fridge, wet bar and cost only $130-$150 per night PLUS it includes a FAST PASS (rooms at Las Rosas are $155).

We reserved two rooms at Las Rosas this past weekend because Coral and Marina was booked.

Las Rosas is a smaller, more intimate hotel with 40+ rooms. It is older, but some of the rooms have been remodeled and they keep it very clean. Our room was remodeled although our friends who were two doors down, did not have a remodeled room. Our room was lovely with nice decorations a desk with a leather chair, a lovely gift bag from a local winery and updated bed linens.

The food at LR is A+ and cost is very reasonable (Coral & Marina food is beyond awful AND it's expensive). For instance, breakfast at Las Rosas was about $6 per person and coffee + toast for two via room service was only $4. The infinity pool and hot tub that looks out over the Pacific Ocean is AWESOME and we really enjoy checking out the tide pools in front of the hotel during low tide.
The shower pressure on Sunday morning was very, VERY, low (a little more than a fast drip) and the temperature would change on it's own...this definitely needs to be addressed. The bathroom door is not soundproof and even though I was staying with my husband, it was uncomfortable to have him be able to hear the goings on while I was in the lieu and vice versa.
All in all, we do enjoy this hotel, because the food, service and ocean views are the BEST in Ensenada, although they do have some areas that could be improved upon.
I will add pictures once they are dowloaded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Naito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great rooms, views, pool, hot tub, and spa. Love to stay here when in the area, wish I could visit and stay more often!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfnut007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is less a review and more a Public Service Announcement. This hotel used to be nice and over the years it has steadily declined in upkeep and cleanliness. I have never posted a review before now because generally any problem we may have with an establishment is either handled by speaking with management or we just choose to not return in the future. This is different. A person on the hotel staff finally admitted that there had been some sort of flood at the hotel. That would explain the HORRIFIC smell in the rooms. They have a mold/mildew/odor problem. I asked the owner repeatedly if they were planning to address the problem before I posted this review because I wanted to be fair. No answer from them. They dodged my calls and when they did get on the line, they hung up on me. There was new carpet in the room and I see now several reviews of this hotel beginning in March 2011 describing the horrible smell and it is now July 2011. They obviously feel they have dealt with the fallout from the flood. It is now my civic duty to warn any future guests about the Las Rosas mold/mildew/odor issue. The hotel was sold out so we had no choice but to stay in our particular room but after reading the reviews on this site, it appears the problem is widespread. Our car had to be detailed when we arrived home to try and rid it of the smell due to our luggage being in the back. We tried to have our luggage cleaned but it was unsuccessful. Since it was a short trip not much luggage was needed so we just threw it out! The smell was that bad. if you or your children suffer from asthma, mold allergies or any allergies, this place could really make you ill. As a side note, at one point my lipstick rolled behind the nightstand that sits 4 or 5 inches from the wall due to a mountain of wire behind it and I am pretty sure that area has not been cleaned since the nightstand was originally placed there. The hair and dirt that had collected behind there was so appalling, i decided I didn't need that lipstick anyway.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
19 Thank Ava858894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

This hotel has every room facing out to the ocean, and a gorgeous pool and fire pit area. The restaurant is known to be the best hotel restaurant in the area. The rooms haven't been remodeled in a while, but was done very tastefully and is very well kept. Many would think the hotel is much younger than it's actual age of 25 years old. The only downside is how close it is to the main highway. The rooms that have the beds on the oceanside are well insulated from the sound, but some rooms may have traffic noise. If you are looking for a gorgeous getaway at a great price, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMI-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Saw the reviews and then did a 3 nite special off their website. It was very easy to get to off the main highway. The balcony over the pools and breaking surf were all you could ask for on the coast. They allowed you a late breakfast with the package and you choose out of 3 options. It was also well located for running into Ensanada or going the other direction to the wine valley. It was sad that such a beautiful place at a great price was 2/3 empty no doubt because of news from other parts of Mexico. We were actually told at the SD tourist offfice that they were supposed to advise not to go to Mexico. When we said we have common sense and we were going they had some good maps etc. of Ensanada. Drive down was easy and pretty but being careful we just drove thru TJ. I am still at a loss to firgue out why no Mexican wines in the midwest because the wineries in the valley rival Sonoma for quality and beauty.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
540 reviews
3.5 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Punta Morro Resort
Punta Morro Resort
#3 of 37 in Ensenada
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
121 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#16 of 37 in Ensenada
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rosas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rosas Hotel & Spa

Property: Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Tijuana, Ensenada, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Rosas Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Rosas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rosas Hotel And Spa
Las Rosas Hotel Ensenada
Las Rosas Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing