We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most gorgeous ocean views in Ensenada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Ensenada
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel is a jewel. Great price point for the most amazing ocean views! It has a gorgeous infinity pool and jacuzzi, both overlooking the ocean. We spent a unforgettable afternoon here. Great for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

a charming older hotel, quiet and out of the hubbub of town.
pros:1) spectacular view--right on the ocean with cool rock formations below pool, and island and peninsula adding interest to the sunset view.
2) great water pressure in shower and instant hot water!
3) beautiful set of pools with fresh water--not chloriney at all.
4) 5-star breakfast bouffet with some lovely above and beyond delicacies.
5) lovely balconied rooms--cozy.
cons:1) this is petty and personal, but i really hated the garish teal trim. in a hotel of lovely soft beauty, this is a miss. the color of blue agave would be so much better.
2) the property to the south had a horrible light brighter than the moon blasting our peripheral vision at night.
3) the hotel does not clean up the plastic bottle trash on its sweet little beach. if that were my hotel, id have someone down there 3 times a day. not a hotel with a green consciousness. disappointing--may be a deal-breaker for me.

Room Tip: get a room on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annecheve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were driving from Los barriles north and didn't have enough time to make the border after one night in Guerrero negro. We saw the sign for the hotel on the way out of ensenada. Lucky we did! The rooms are very reasonable at approx 80 dollars; food is pretty good and nice wine list. We watched the sun set in the hot tub with a lime daquerai in our hand! Very pleased we found this after two vey hot days of driving with no AC!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and you can hear the waves crashing all night. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Just came back from Las Rosas, Ensenada. Despite all the warnings about shootings and kidnappings, we were fine. Saw some soldiers manning checkpoint but that was about it.The hotel and adjacent restaurants were as good as some of the top places in Los Angeles at half the prices. Las Rosas is a very fine hotel with great staff right off the highway, so easy to find. NO HIGHWAY NOISE IN THE ROOM, IN THE HOTEL OR SITTING AT THE INFINITY POOLS OVERLOOKING THE OCEAN. We had room 301, a small nice room and incredible for the price, because we said we were only going to stay one night and got somewhat of a run-around about seeing other rooms. 301 is at the South end of the 3rd floor. King bed, small bathroom and shower area - No light in the shower. Small flat screen TV, no a/c - no need for it, ceiling fan. Clean, neat and very comfortable. It had two balconies - one looked down the Southern coast, the other overlooking the two infinity pools, the Jacuzzi, the outdoor dining areas, and the rocks where the surf breaks - you can hear it all night if you leave your balcony door open. The interior of the hotel has a central skylight and is flooded with sunlight during the day. The sun illuminates the hotel's interior waterfalls, which you can hear as you walk toward the lobby. Evening comes and the waterfalls are back-lite. There is a small, lovely bar/lounge area and a medium size dining room. Of course you can eat outsidem day or night, on their enclosed terrace, down by the pools, on on a promontory over the ocean - when we were there they only had one umbrella for the entire pool area which is very insufficient if you are going to eat outside or spend the day looking and listening to the ocean while you swim in the pools or Jacuzzi. They have a spa which we did not use. We only ate breakfast there - fresh squeezed OJ or grapefruit juice. The restaurant staff bent over backwards to bring you whatever you wanted in the restaurant or at the pool. The majordomo, whose name I unfortunately do not remember, went out of his way to make everything wonderful. We stayed an extra night. Now restaurants - We ate the usual Mexican food places in Ensenada during the day. At night we ate first at Punta Morro - 3 minutes from Las Rosas. It sits out on rocks on the ocean. Of course glass windows all around. We were there on a Monday night and it was quiet, with music in the background, soft lighting, and a great bar.. Maxima was our waiter. Quiet, both in speech and in manner. A waiter from the old school. We had bites of this and that and a swordfish with capers in a white garlic wine sauce that we shared with enough for a third person. Desert were two warm pecan-walnut-maple tarts with vanilla ice cream. We asked at Las Rosas for another restaurant. Five minutes North of us were Belio and Vicente, which has three restaurants within it. We went to Belio. Right on the beach. We ate outside, in the 68 degree evening under a heater which made the temperature perfect. We didn't see the water but we could hear it moving over the million pebbles on the beach below. Of course there was a full moon above. Anoither wonderful, creative menu. As we ate some folks came in and they lit the firepit for them to sit around and have drinks. I had one of the best tortilla soups I have ever had. We shared a salad that was the house creation. I don't remember what was in it but I would have it again in a second. We shared scallops as the main course. Beautifully presented. I felt they were too rare, and the whole plate was cool. It was all taken back and not reheated, but cooked again. My girlfriend loved it and I still thought it was too rare. For desert we did not have the three ice creams, which you will have to ask for to find out the flavors of these home made treats. Simply vanilla, which of course came with a dab of chocolate, a dab of strawberry and a dab of mango.
The old Baja is still there, but alongside it are a growing number of places in the local area, right at the nothern entrance to Ensenada, that is the up and coming place to go.
Going back across the Border into California on Tuesday was horrible - three hours sitting in the car to go a half mile. A Baja Mexican policeman and women were simple bad advertisements for the country for tourists.We had a Fast Pass. It was a waster of time and caused us a lot of trouble. We followed the directions to enter the Fast Pass lane at the border. There was a sudden, badly marked turn off into the Fast Pass lane. We missed it the first time. The second time we came to it and the barrier was up, with the policewoman sitting inside and not moving. We went down this very narrow, one lane road, marked out by concrete barriers on either side. About 50 yards down we joined the line of cars waiting in this special lane to cross the border. A minute later there was a Mexican Police pickup truck in back of us with the policeman on the loud speaker saying something to us in Spanish. He never got out of the truck. He simply spoke to us through the loud speaker. One of the vendors, who spoke English, told us he wanted us to back up the road to where we entered the lane. It is not fun backing up with a Mexican cop following you. I backup past the entrance to a place where they had a vendor in handcuffs. Not a good omen. The officer went off and let us sit there. A police pickup truck rolled up and they put the vendor, in handcuffs, into the back of the truck and drove off. It was not a fun sight as we were sitting there wondering if that was going to be our fate. Scary to think of being in a Mexican prison for going through what was apparently a police stop sign. The officer came back, asked if I spoke Spanish, which I did not know enough to risk trying, and walked away. Of course, although he was working at the Border he either did not speak English, why should he, we were just American tourists in Mexico, or he did not wish to speak English with us. He made us back up to where we had entered the Fast Pass lane. The police woman came out, gestured for our Fast Pass. Tore off part of it and gestured for us to go down the same road we had just backed up. We then sat there for three hours waiting to get to the Border. The Fast Pass lane was slower than all the other lanes. I think the police could have handled the situation a lot better than they did. The police and the 3 hour Border crossing made a bad end to a very nice vacation. I will think a long while before I go back because of the police and the Border.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a very nice and a lil bit expensive hotel due to that the beach front has rocks si you can't really enjoy the ocean water other than that is a very nice and clean place you can see that the people that goes there is recognize and well dress wich means is a nice and safe place to stay free wifi is good but not inside the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maritolachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and I traveled to Ensenada for a quick pre 4th of July getaway. We stayed at Las Rosas Hotel from Friday June 29 through Sunday July 1. Relaxation was the main purpose for our escape- lay by the pool, read a book and enjoy good food. The property is located about 4 miles outside of Ensenada proper- you need to drive a little to enjoy the city. There aren’t shops or attractions around the property, as it is located in a residential zone next to the main highway. The noise of the highway could be a problem if you are a light sleeper- semi-trucks travel the road 24/7. It wasn’t a problem for us. The room was simply furnished- king size bed, small table, ceiling fan, regular television, small closet, small bathroom and shower without a tub. The room lacked air conditioning, but the ceiling fan sufficed during our stay. The view from the room was amazing, crisp-blue ocean as far as the eye could see! I loved sitting in the balcony every morning enjoying the newspaper and coffee. The hotel’s fitness room was adequate for a hotel gym. It was furnished with ellipticals, treadmills, step machines, dumbbells and complimentary potable water. The infinity pool was great- a little bit cold, but it was enjoyable after sitting in the sun. Approximately 12 lounge chairs surrounded the pool area- the hotel wasn’t crowded so availability wasn’t an issue. Sunshades are not offered, so bring a good hat and make provisions if you are not sun worshiper. There isn’t a pool side menu or bar- a restaurant waiter would take your drink/food orders. The hotel offered complementary Wi-Fi in the main lobby, restaurant and a weaker signal by the pool. However, there wasn’t any internet connectivity in our room. Customer service was good; the staff is friendly and courteous. We didn’t encounter any problems during our stay. Would I stay in this hotel again? I would. But first, I would like to compare it to other Ensenada hotels.

Room Tip: I just learned that some rooms were recently remodeled- ask if you could stay in one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bajanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel is a bit dated, badly cleaned and uncomfortable beds. Just about every room has a lot of noise, especially at night. Also used their spa. No mani/pedis. O.K. massage and I had asked for 80 min but only got 55. Probably a good thing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexChilanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 38 in Ensenada
575 reviews
3.5 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 38 in Ensenada
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Punta Morro Hotel
Punta Morro Hotel
#3 of 38 in Ensenada
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 38 in Ensenada
143 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#14 of 38 in Ensenada
131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#15 of 38 in Ensenada
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Rosas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Rosas Hotel & Spa

Address: Carretera Tijuana-Ensenada, Ensenada 22760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range: £82 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Rosas Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Rosas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Rosas Hotel And Spa
Las Rosas Hotel Ensenada
Las Rosas Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing