We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cortez(Ensenada)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada El Rey Sol(Ensenada)(Great Value!)
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
96
80
32
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
80
32
17
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolrocky beachthe main highwayhot tubcaesar saladon the rocksthe pacific oceantide poolssound of the waveshave stayed here several timesocean frontfast passthe wait staffcross the borderwine countrybalconymexico
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Situated against a rocky shore, all the rooms of this hotel are within earshot of Baja waves. Our balcony (room 314) provided an expansive 180 view of blue surf from the peninsula to north of ensenada. We left our balcony doors open to nap and sleep to the roar of the waves. Our biggest complaint from our stay was the difficulty getting out of bed.

Prices here are very reasonable - we had a steak, 2 tortilla soups (we wouldn't typically order this but it came recommended and was excellent) and 4 glasses of wine for ~$20 US. The sunday breakfast buffet was very good (tortillas hecho y mano!) for 2 people $27 US.

Rooms a little older, but ours was a large corner room and the bathtub made up for the wear on the carpet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel is a jewel. Great price point for the most amazing ocean views! It has a gorgeous infinity pool and jacuzzi, both overlooking the ocean. We spent a unforgettable afternoon here. Great for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

a charming older hotel, quiet and out of the hubbub of town.
pros:1) spectacular view--right on the ocean with cool rock formations below pool, and island and peninsula adding interest to the sunset view.
2) great water pressure in shower and instant hot water!
3) beautiful set of pools with fresh water--not chloriney at all.
4) 5-star breakfast bouffet with some lovely above and beyond delicacies.
5) lovely balconied rooms--cozy.
cons:1) this is petty and personal, but i really hated the garish teal trim. in a hotel of lovely soft beauty, this is a miss. the color of blue agave would be so much better.
2) the property to the south had a horrible light brighter than the moon blasting our peripheral vision at night.
3) the hotel does not clean up the plastic bottle trash on its sweet little beach. if that were my hotel, id have someone down there 3 times a day. not a hotel with a green consciousness. disappointing--may be a deal-breaker for me.

Room Tip: get a room on the north side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annecheve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were driving from Los barriles north and didn't have enough time to make the border after one night in Guerrero negro. We saw the sign for the hotel on the way out of ensenada. Lucky we did! The rooms are very reasonable at approx 80 dollars; food is pretty good and nice wine list. We watched the sun set in the hot tub with a lime daquerai in our hand! Very pleased we found this after two vey hot days of driving with no AC!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and you can hear the waves crashing all night. Perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Just came back from Las Rosas, Ensenada. Despite all the warnings about shootings and kidnappings, we were fine. Saw some soldiers manning checkpoint but that was about it.The hotel and adjacent restaurants were as good as some of the top places in Los Angeles at half the prices. Las Rosas is a very fine hotel with great staff right off the highway, so easy to find. NO HIGHWAY NOISE IN THE ROOM, IN THE HOTEL OR SITTING AT THE INFINITY POOLS OVERLOOKING THE OCEAN. We had room 301, a small nice room and incredible for the price, because we said we were only going to stay one night and got somewhat of a run-around about seeing other rooms. 301 is at the South end of the 3rd floor. King bed, small bathroom and shower area - No light in the shower. Small flat screen TV, no a/c - no need for it, ceiling fan. Clean, neat and very comfortable. It had two balconies - one looked down the Southern coast, the other overlooking the two infinity pools, the Jacuzzi, the outdoor dining areas, and the rocks where the surf breaks - you can hear it all night if you leave your balcony door open. The interior of the hotel has a central skylight and is flooded with sunlight during the day. The sun illuminates the hotel's interior waterfalls, which you can hear as you walk toward the lobby. Evening comes and the waterfalls are back-lite. There is a small, lovely bar/lounge area and a medium size dining room. Of course you can eat outsidem day or night, on their enclosed terrace, down by the pools, on on a promontory over the ocean - when we were there they only had one umbrella for the entire pool area which is very insufficient if you are going to eat outside or spend the day looking and listening to the ocean while you swim in the pools or Jacuzzi. They have a spa which we did not use. We only ate breakfast there - fresh squeezed OJ or grapefruit juice. The restaurant staff bent over backwards to bring you whatever you wanted in the restaurant or at the pool. The majordomo, whose name I unfortunately do not remember, went out of his way to make everything wonderful. We stayed an extra night. Now restaurants - We ate the usual Mexican food places in Ensenada during the day. At night we ate first at Punta Morro - 3 minutes from Las Rosas. It sits out on rocks on the ocean. Of course glass windows all around. We were there on a Monday night and it was quiet, with music in the background, soft lighting, and a great bar.. Maxima was our waiter. Quiet, both in speech and in manner. A waiter from the old school. We had bites of this and that and a swordfish with capers in a white garlic wine sauce that we shared with enough for a third person. Desert were two warm pecan-walnut-maple tarts with vanilla ice cream. We asked at Las Rosas for another restaurant. Five minutes North of us were Belio and Vicente, which has three restaurants within it. We went to Belio. Right on the beach. We ate outside, in the 68 degree evening under a heater which made the temperature perfect. We didn't see the water but we could hear it moving over the million pebbles on the beach below. Of course there was a full moon above. Anoither wonderful, creative menu. As we ate some folks came in and they lit the firepit for them to sit around and have drinks. I had one of the best tortilla soups I have ever had. We shared a salad that was the house creation. I don't remember what was in it but I would have it again in a second. We shared scallops as the main course. Beautifully presented. I felt they were too rare, and the whole plate was cool. It was all taken back and not reheated, but cooked again. My girlfriend loved it and I still thought it was too rare. For desert we did not have the three ice creams, which you will have to ask for to find out the flavors of these home made treats. Simply vanilla, which of course came with a dab of chocolate, a dab of strawberry and a dab of mango.
The old Baja is still there, but alongside it are a growing number of places in the local area, right at the nothern entrance to Ensenada, that is the up and coming place to go.
Going back across the Border into California on Tuesday was horrible - three hours sitting in the car to go a half mile. A Baja Mexican policeman and women were simple bad advertisements for the country for tourists.We had a Fast Pass. It was a waster of time and caused us a lot of trouble. We followed the directions to enter the Fast Pass lane at the border. There was a sudden, badly marked turn off into the Fast Pass lane. We missed it the first time. The second time we came to it and the barrier was up, with the policewoman sitting inside and not moving. We went down this very narrow, one lane road, marked out by concrete barriers on either side. About 50 yards down we joined the line of cars waiting in this special lane to cross the border. A minute later there was a Mexican Police pickup truck in back of us with the policeman on the loud speaker saying something to us in Spanish. He never got out of the truck. He simply spoke to us through the loud speaker. One of the vendors, who spoke English, told us he wanted us to back up the road to where we entered the lane. It is not fun backing up with a Mexican cop following you. I backup past the entrance to a place where they had a vendor in handcuffs. Not a good omen. The officer went off and let us sit there. A police pickup truck rolled up and they put the vendor, in handcuffs, into the back of the truck and drove off. It was not a fun sight as we were sitting there wondering if that was going to be our fate. Scary to think of being in a Mexican prison for going through what was apparently a police stop sign. The officer came back, asked if I spoke Spanish, which I did not know enough to risk trying, and walked away. Of course, although he was working at the Border he either did not speak English, why should he, we were just American tourists in Mexico, or he did not wish to speak English with us. He made us back up to where we had entered the Fast Pass lane. The police woman came out, gestured for our Fast Pass. Tore off part of it and gestured for us to go down the same road we had just backed up. We then sat there for three hours waiting to get to the Border. The Fast Pass lane was slower than all the other lanes. I think the police could have handled the situation a lot better than they did. The police and the 3 hour Border crossing made a bad end to a very nice vacation. I will think a long while before I go back because of the police and the Border.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews