We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed over a Saturday night. The hotel has a decent appearance, not new, but not too worn either. Rooms were very "American", typical of what you'd see in most budget motels in the States. The beds were a bit on the firm side, but it didn't bother me at all(my wife is a little more picky). There was some noise, but we had our balcony door open all night, and it wasn't enough to keep us up. So fairly quite for the location.

The only weird thing is two people, even couples, have to rent a room with two beds(5 pesos more). And the beds are all queen size. For the location and price though it's a good deal.

Also, they seem to have free internet setup in the hallways, but we didn't use it, so can't confirm.

Front desk and parking attendants were very helpful. I had a migrane and we needed medicine at like 2am, front desk directed us to a pharmacy that was supposed to be open all night(was closed, apparently because there are still not enough tourists to justify long hours), but there was an Oxxo nearby with what we needed. When we got back, our parking was taken, but the attendent said to double park and leave keys at desk. They moved the car in the morning, and we picked up keys at checkout, no problems.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuttBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    18
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
8
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Stayed here for one night after moving from the backpackers. Walked in off the street and got a good price of 415p for a double room. Room was huge with massive shower. Free internet everywhere and also free wifi in the room. Location very good in the centre of town. Would def recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Fresh into Mexico with broken spanish the fact that the hotel staff was speaking perfect english was very useful to get us into the swing of things. The hotel is perfectly located between the main drag for bars and restaurants on the one side and the harbour with the fishmarket and the fish taco places on the other. We had a room to the courtyard and it was very quiet - surprisingly so considering how close we were to the hopping night life. We left a cellphone in the room after we checked out and staff kept it safe until we returned to pick it up. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly for the first few nights of a Baja trip. We paid $33 for two people during weeknights and $38 on weekend

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Welcome to Hotel Santo Tomas in " La Bella Cenicienta".

" The Beautiful Cinderella " This is actually the Nickname for Ensenada. I was born and raised here until I was about 20 years old.

So this is my story.

We were a small group of members from Super Sonic Samba School from San Diego,Ca. We go to Ensenada every year to Perform at the Parade on Sunday and at night on the main street of the whole Carnaval area. Sometimes we go there on Friday night to party/perform the whole weekend.
We were so tired, some went to different places. Our small group of 6 people end up at a hotel from Hell in the worse area of Ensenada. ( Prostitution, bad smell and other stuff you really do not want to mention here). I suggested some of the friends to go and find anoter place to stay. This was way!!! after midnight. We were tired and stressed out about the situation. We walked only few block and end up at Hotel Santo Tomas. We were 4 in our group. We got a room with 2 full beds, a balcony to the main Boulevard Costero, Very nice and clean bathroom, with lots of towels. We were so pleased with the room.The only thing is that you can hear people from the room next to you. Well it turned out that it was a soccer team next to us continuing parting until about 4 in the morning. We were so tired that we just showered and went to bed.. The lobby is very clean and nice atmosphere. You have a secure parking lot. I will totally recomend this one to eveyone I know. Really.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Selenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 July 2005

We reserved a couple of rooms for guest that attended my son's wedding in Ensenada. The Hotel was clean, roomy and the front desk was very friendly. The only problem was that the rooms smelled musty and looked a little worn. If you can live with that and the noise then it's an ok place to stay. If you want something that's VERY clean and only two blocks from the main street then check out Hotel Del Valle for half the cost. My next visit will diffenantly be there.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2005

I was there for the Wine festival! I had a great stay. Excellent service. I will be heading there again for memorial's day, just made the reservation.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 April 2004

The standard rooms are not much, but if your looking for a suite, this place has the best suite in Ensenada for the money. It's a great location if your wanting to stay near the nightlife. Request a room facing the parking lot, the views to the main street can get noisy. I find to save quite a bit money if I do not reserve a room and get one as a walk up.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.7 mi away
Posada Don Fernando
Posada Don Fernando
#13 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Villa Fontana
Days Inn Villa Fontana
#29 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#26 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#7 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenida Miramar 609, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing