We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific breakfast spot near the cruiseport”
Review of LOS VELEROS

LOS VELEROS
Ranked #166 of 336 Restaurants in Ensenada
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Aurora
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast spot near the cruiseport”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We enjoyed a nice 10-minute walk from our cruise ship's bearth to find this wonderful breakfast spot near the boat harbor of Ensenada, and in the Hotel Coronado.

Brekafast started with a tray of pastries. The shredded beef with eggs (Machaca) were wonderful, as was the prompt and friendly service.

A breakfast spot isn't common in Ensenada, as most people are still sleeping or with family at early hours. But Veleros catches the early morning businessmen, and boaters. A great spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 6 Contributor
700 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“DECENT FOOD AND PRICE”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I took a driving trip down Mexico way for the day and needed something to eat that I could trust. Not being an adventuresome eater, we selected this place as it looked clean and it was near the harbor. I had steak and lobster and the wife had crab. Both meals were good and the price was very good. They only had one waiter that spoke English in the place but that did not seem to matter as the staff were all very helpful and attentive. I would recommend this location if you are in town and need a decent bite to eat at a good price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Xlnt for Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were staying in the Hotel Corona and decided to try this restaurant for breakfast; we enjoyed a very pleasant surprise. Excellent service, food served piping hot (like a good Coco's), and a lot of locals eating at the same time. My Huevos Rancherso were delicious, and the beans were among the best I've ever had. My wife's scramble eggs chorizo were also xlnt. Along with sides of empanadas, OJ and hot coffee, this is a terrific place for breakfast or a quick lunch/dinner. The huge hotel parking lot is a convenient plus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parkinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ok
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Los Veleros - Inside Hotel Corona - um there is better.”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I went to rent a car at the hotel, and decided to grab breakfast. The hotel is older and you can find better and worse in town. But, this is about the eats.

For eating it was crowded and noisy, not horrible, about what you might expect in a hotel food place, you are eventually seated - hopefully you will ask for a table away from the crowds, or the waiter will bump you everytime they come by (packed in tight).

The first thing that will happen is they will bring you 5 'breads' which are rolls, muffins and such - you are thinking - great free bread appetizer. No gringo, not free. If you touch them, you just bought 5 x 1.20us$ each. Look around, notice all the untouched bread plates, thats why -- and guess what, yours came from another table that decided not to eat them either.

After that, its you ordering (in this case) breakfast, which is higher $$ than the area, but fairly normal for a hotel food place. Its ok food, not great, not horrible. Honestly, walk out the door, go eat at the 7-11 or down the walk from the hotel for a better experience. And watch out for those rolls. Oh and PS - bring pesos, the cc machine may not work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OkJustjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LOS VELEROS also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to LOS VELEROS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing