We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food not the best area”
Review of Barra Azul

Barra Azul
Ranked #21 of 332 Restaurants in Ensenada
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food not the best area”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is not a place I visit very often but every time I go we agree it is great.
The food is super good and always fresh. Even if the neighborhood is not touristy at all, I do recommend it to several tourists that often ask me for recommendations.
The place might need a bit of warmth but the food and service is worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Even though it seems hidden from the rest of the city, this restaurant gives you a great experience. Food is really really good. So far I would recommend the seafood pasta, the lasagna, and the burritos. The drinks are pretty good too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoninaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Ensenada”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you want fresh seafood, the freshest, o to this restaurant. Even though when you get there you are going to think you made a mistake, because from the outside it looks terrible, and it is not in a tourist neighborhood, but once on the inside the place looks nice, they prepare the fish in about 8 different ways, and all the appetizers are delicious. One of my favorites was the "directo de caracol" . It is a place were a lot of local people eat. it is a must in Ensenada

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANATGARCIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“By locals to the world...”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I've been visiting this restaurant before, but it's always good and fresh and completely recommended. On our last visit we had Smoked Marlin Carpaccio, Clam Showder, Coconut Shrimps, Tuna Lasagna, Sangrias, Oyster shots... Well I can't even remember what else but the food here is super tasty, you will not regret!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiancaCinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unassuming from the outside but...”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

You would hardly notice the place driving by but someone recommended it to us so we sought it out. Very good food with an Asian influence. The fish of the day was extremely fresh and a large portion. The rice with seafood was also very good although it could have had a little more seafood in it. The special of the day is a really good bargain... good salad, fish, pasta and dessert. This chef has had good training.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie2733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barra Azul also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to Barra Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing