We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Relax”
Review of Pyramid Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ensenada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pyramid Resort
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Relax”
Reviewed 7 September 2007

Every Labor Day weekend my friend's and I spend the long weekend at this resort. What I like about it is that there is no TV or phones in the room. It is a good place to get away from reality. We sit up on the balcony, listening to music and drinking beer. The walk to the beach isn't easy but is is worth it to sit on an uncrowded beach. Don't expect any aminities, even thought the owner has plans to turn it into a real resort, but nothing happens too quickly in Mexico. Last year we did encounter the night security guard who was kind of creepy, but his job is to keep the noise down after midnight and keep the guests safe. I have never been there during the winter, but in the summer you can sleep with your windows open and the ocean breeze feels great. I"ve only stayed in the A or B buildings, which are older, but have a better view of the ocean and the sunsets. And yes, we saw dolphins swimming in the surf. I will admit, that after five years, I'd like to try another hotel just for a change in scenery.

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Disliked — Other guests
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGiantMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

For travelers who expect a US type resort might be very dissapointed with this hotel and most others in and around Ensenada and Rosarito.

Overall it was a nice place to stay. Rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The hotel sits on a cliff and most rooms have a beautiful ocean view. We really enjoyed their pool and the hotel staff was very nice. The rooms are converted condos which was not an issue to me. I also felt safe with the hotel location.

But be aware....innitially it is a very hard hotel to find. The hotel is located off the main road but with a very small sign.. There is no heat or A/C in the rooms, but with the mild weather in the summer it really wasn't a big deal. Most of the rooms did not have a screen door which would be an real issue if your are on the bottom floor. Water was also in short supply....telling us to limit showers and toilet flushing due to a lack of water (we were told that water was being diverted to Ensenada). They did have water storage tanks and were told that they were filled each day. We never ran out of water.

Again, this is not the USA, and if you are aware of these issues you will have a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CATim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2007

This is a great hotel if you want to either surf in Plaza Del Mar, or do absolutely nothing for a few days. The rooms are all condos with ocean views. It isn't easy to get the beach from this resort and the pool is not wonderful but the rooms are really nice and very clean, the staff is friendly, and the price is right. It is close enough to Puerto Nuevo for good lobster and not too far from Ensenada, which isn't the best vacation spot anyway. We really liked it here. Would definitely go back for days full of lazy lounging on your ocean-side balcony, reading books, and taking naps.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank natalidelconte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

We stayed here last fall for 2 nights. It was not extravagant, luxurious, pampering, or any of those other words spoiled Americans seem to lavish on resorts where they are waited on hand and foot.

What it was --clean, comfortable,affordable and very large. Biggest plus---it had the most amazing ocean view!

We enjoyed our 2 nights so much, we have booked an 8 night stay for the end of July.

So, if you do go, don't expect luxury, or pampering. But know that your accommodations will be clean, and you will have what you need to enjoy the majestic Pacific; at an affordable price, close to Ensenada, Puerto Nuevo and Rosarito.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — LAck of restaurant on-site
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2007

We booked this place because of the Rosarito to Ensenada Bike Race this past April 21-22. Boy, is that peak season!

The two-bedroom suite in the hotel was big enough to accommodate the five of us. Here is the downside: The hotel room had a musty old smell to it, and felt drafty and dusty for some reason. The bed was hard. There is no TV, no soap, very thin towels, and no alarm clocks.
It was the BARE minimum. One of the two spas were busted. The lady on the phone lied to us when she said we had beach access from the hotel...unless you wanted to tumble down a 60 foot cliff where the hotel was situated, you had to walk on the road (no sidewalk) to get down to the beach...it was about 15 minutes away!!

The upshot is that the room was spacious, with a beautiful view of the ocean. There was a fireplace, a stove, fridge, utensils, dishes, and a nice living room/nook area. We might come back if we don't find
any place better to stay next year.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

Don't be fooled by the word "Resort" in the name. It's far from it. As mentioned in other reviews here, the location is very nice and the architecture has alot of appeal, but if you're looking for anything more than a place to crash, stay elsewhere. We reserved one of their 2-Bedroom Villas for this past Friday night. We were quite disappointed.

Upon check-in, the lady manager reprimanded us for reserving only 1 night's accommodation instead of 2. The reservation clerk on the phone felt it was fine since there were several 2-Bedroom Villas available, but the manager did not want to hear this. She went on and on about how I should have seen this policy on the website, and because we had stayed there a year earlier (which by the way, was for only 1 night), I should have known about this. We could not have felt more unwelcome. We especially didn't understand her anger since it was obvious that the resort was far from full. Perhaps she was trying to coerce us into staying another night.

We were also very disappointed in the accommodations. The "fully-equipped" kitchen was extremely lacking in quantity and quality of even the most basic of items. It looked to be stocked with pieces acquired at thrift stores. The silverware drawer was a jumble of old mismatched utensils. There were only 2 very worn pans, so we had to cook part of the meal, then wash the pans and cook the remainder. The plates and cups were also a mismatched variety of shapes and sizes; some were tacky promotional items from assorted businesses. All items were dusty and dirty and required washing. All parts of the automatic coffee maker had to be washed first too.

We looked forward to using the property's Jacuzzis, but found one to be cold and dirty and the other being spontaneously used by a man who had laid his pants and underwear on a chair nearby. We returned to our room.

As mentioned in many of the other reviews here, there is no heat. There are heating vents in the rooms, but there's a big empty closet where the furnace is supposed to be. I had recalled this fact from our visit a year earlier, so we had some firewood, but the poor fireplace design resulted in more smoke than heat filling the room.

Other miscellaneous problems were the lock on the front door which was difficult to use, the missing bedroom doorknob, the lack of towels, doors which creaked and stuck, missing window blinds, no coat hangers in the closets, etc. Also note that there are no TVs or radios.

We will not be returning to the property. We'll opt for Las Rosas near Ensenada or Las Rocas nearer Rosarito Beach.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Rundown accommodations and rude service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bajapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ensenada hotels

Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2007

I went there for New Years Eve with 3 other friends. We had a two bedroom suite and the view was spectacular, the room was clean, and the beds were comfy. The grounds are well kept and lovely, although it's a bit of a hike to the 'sandy beach', it was still a nice walk and a good time. Everything we needed was included with the suite, including towels, a coffee pot, and silverware. I'd promote this place as more of a condo instead of a hotel or 'spa' - the rooms are more like going to someone else's house than to a hotel room, and teh office is pretty much always empty, but it was really nice and cozy. I would love to go back there again. There are some shops and a restaurant within walking distance that sell Termalog's and other essentials, but Rosarito is the best place to go to get provisions. The only complaint I had was that the bathtub wouldn't stop up to take a bath (but the shower worked fine) and there isn't a heater so you better buy some firewood - it gets pretty cold at night.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank doubleohfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
545 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
131 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
Las Rosas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 37 in Ensenada
219 reviews
4.9 mi away
Punta Morro Resort
Punta Morro Resort
#3 of 37 in Ensenada
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramid Resort

Property: Pyramid Resort
Address: 57 1/2 K Plaza Del Mar, Ensenada, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ensenada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful shorelines, a gentle breeze, and watching dolphins from the balcony during breakfast are just a few of the memorable moments you can experience with a stay at Pyramid Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pyramid Hotel Ensenada
Pyramid Resort Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing