We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place to Stay, But Not Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Don Fernando
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent Place to Stay, But Not Cheap”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I booked my room here after reading the reviews on this site.

The Good:
- The rooms are big, with sufficient lighting, generous curtains and storage
- The beds are comfortable
- There is plenty of hot water
- Usual American amenities - Kirkland Bottled Water, Hair Dryer, TV...
- Free Continental Breakfast (albeit one of the options was waffles with pickled jalapenos)
- Very good location; close to the waterfront and downtown "touristy places"
- The lady who mans the main desk is very helpful and friendly
- Someone is constantly cleaning

The Not So Good:
- We arrived in Ensenada early in the day, but checked in relatively late in the evening.
There was a lot of traffic - with road closures... so I had to call the hotel. The staff did not speak enough English, and they were unable to guide me. It looks like they don't know the city themselves! The hotel is not right on the main street, but on a side street, which is easy to miss. You should definitely look up Google Earth
- Upon arrival, they could not locate my reservation; I had called them - instead of going through Hotels.com
- American prices for American amenities! $60/night. I got a better deal in San Diego!
- No concessions for paying cash or booking with them directly
- Bathrooms are moldy (like all other hotels in Mexico)

Room Tip: Take the upper floors (less moldy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sxghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel was a budget hotel so we didn't expect much, but after a long day driving, all we wanted was a comfortable place to get a good night sleep which we got!
The place was clean, convenient & cosy!
The staff were friendly & it was very close to everything.
There were restaurants close & it had a communal kitchen to use if you wish.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget & looking for a place close to everything this certainly is it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Patti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Located close to Ensenada's main attractions, this hotel is a good option if you are on a budget and need to stay close to downtown.

Rooms are basic and clean but a little bit tired, need some renovation asap.

Staff is friendly and will make your experience as good as possible. They include basic breakfast served in a small room near the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jfernandez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOEV38
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

This was a great hotel, the staff is very friendly . The price is affordable, across the street from the Ensenada Art Musem and Baja California turism center. The hotel is walking distance from the main Ensenada thourghfair. The owners Don Fernando Tellez and his wife also own a resteraunt Las Posadas de Don Fernando a popular eatery on the main street.

  • Liked — close to everything, price
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JOEV38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Stayed here after staying at the Hotel Corona, we wanted to try something a little less expensive. Room was ok, biggest problem was the noise. Was very noisy outside and we were woken up a few times during the night. The rooms are not amazing at all, very basic, no fridge or microwave in ours. Bed was hard too. With that being said the positives were, it was very clean, nice staff, great location. Definately a better budget option but by no means an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank simhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

My wife and I had to spend an unexpected 5 days in Ensenada while our RV was undergoing repairs and discovered this gem!
A large suite with microwave, fridge, TV with 80+ channels, WiFi,
etc, etc. It is a new, or re-done, family run hotel that is very quiet, clean and is close to all the attractions of Ensenada.
It has been one of the best treats in 13 years of wintering in Mexico (without an RV until this year)
Today we walked over to Hussongs and our little Shih-Tzu Furby) had peanuts while we enjoyed other libations!
Brian

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank mexicowilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

We went to Ensenada for a nice 2 day vacation; we did not have a hotel reservation. All the hotels were full, but for our luck we found this little nice new hotel right on the tourist zone and on a calm street. It was full, but someone hade cancelled a reservation and we were able to get a room. The hotel is new, I think it open last year, and the rooms are big and spacious and really really clean. This hotel doesn’t have a swimming pool or a restaurant, but the rooms are much better than in other “luxury” hotels. The staff is very friendly and helpful; I think its run by the owners. Make sure you reserve a room before you go.

  • Liked — Its really clean
  • Tips/Secrets — reserve a room
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank melita06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#4 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Fernando

Property: Posada Don Fernando
Address: Calle de Las Rocas 6, Ensenada 22880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Don Fernando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly hotel of 10 rooms and 2 Jr.Suites overlooking the sea and the port area, located in the tourist area one block from the Center for the Arts and Cultural Center Riviera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Posada Don Fernando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Don Fernando Ensenada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing