We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Balandra Beach

Balandra Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$225.00*
and up
Todos Santos and Espiritu Santo Island Snorkel Expedition from Los Cabos
More Info
US$150.00*
and up
Kayaking in the Sea of Cortez from Todos Santos
Ranked #2 of 66 things to do in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

this is way off the beaten path but so worth it. Very friendly locals beach. Family oriented, I suspect because the water is so shallow. The bay has got to be at least 5 sq. miles and the deepest was maybe 8 feet deep. Great for learning to kayak. No partying going on here. Just families enjoying the warm water. No bathrooms.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PJsd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,300
    254
    52
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy Beach”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited this beach, which is more like a cove, in June. It was very hot! We were lucky enough to get one of the free palapas for shade. There are lounge chairs and umbrellas for rent if you need them. There are also kayaks for rent too. We brought our own food and drinks, but the there is a food truck and vendors offering fresh fruit or drinks who walk along the beach. The water is so beautiful and warm. There are no waves so its great for swimming and little ones who don't like waves. You're able to walk out very far into the water and still touch the bottom easily. We had a problem with bees so keep all food and drinks covered well to avoid them swarming. We had a great day there and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing beach day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RLH89Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We used eco Baja tours from the main bus depot in La Paz to get to Balandra. (about $8 per direction per person) Be sure to know the schedule really well for what time to get retrieved! It doesn't run too often. This is a Locals beach, and so we stuck out a little. But it didn't ever get very busy. I brought my mask, but couldn't find anything exciting to look at - Just sand, no fish.

The Beach was white powder and long and beautiful! There were about ten straw umbrellas, and a few other umbrellas for shade. Lucky for us one of them was open.

The water was clear and warm. Beautiful colour. It is shallow (knee hight) for as far out as we wanted to walk. I rented a stand up paddle board for about $20 and went exploring. The area reminded me of Greece!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tilleyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tranquil and stunning”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beautiful sheltered bay, umbrellas, tables, su loungers and kayaks for hire. Shallow and clear waters. Accessible by bus and with parking. shame the bus company is unreliable for the return leg, but taxi touts on hand. No toilets, but one limited snack truck, ice creams and fruit available. Avoid the weekends for more tranquility and less kids!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Fiji of Mexico”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is by far one of the best beaches I have found in Mexico so far. Completely remote and off the beaten path, you will find this extremely hidden gem. I found it only by the recommendation of a friend in the resort I was staying in. The water is extremely clear and calm and makes it very easy to see and spot all of the amazing marine life in these waters. The water is very shallow no matter how far in you go. I recommend anyone who visits the Baja California penninsula to visit this beach. Bring your own refreshments and meals as there is nothing really going on at this beach. Also, carry mosquito repelent. They are extremely small bugs that bite and will itch for weeks. There is a small vending truck but it is not always there. There are no restrooms in this area either. There are no changing rooms and no gas stations near. It is very remote and would seem that the road goes on forever and you are lost but just keep going and you will find it. There are many locals at this beach.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flyingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balandra Beach also viewed

 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Balandra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing