We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on the Malecon”
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Perla
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Best location on the Malecon”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Great location..very helpful staff.. a great place to see the sunset or to relax after a long day in La Paz. We were able to view the bay from the mezzanine and watch the nightly crowd on the Malecon. Excellent hotel as a starting point to all excursions while in La Paxil, even if that's one of the spectacular nearby bars and restaurants. When entering the second floor reception you will immediately see the outstanding character of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urasinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    111
    67
    14
    10
See reviews for
69
67
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It was a great pleasure to be at Hotel Perla for a whole week. It's the best balance between your money and the services you receive. The rooms were very clean, and they have that friendly taste that make your experience very nice.
Located in the "Malecón" (main La Paz street) you have all restaurants near by, and you can walk in to this street in a very safe way.

Room Tip: if you choose this hotel to stay, ask for the front rooms that have a balcony. You can se the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have stayed a week at the "La Perla" for several summers now, and we always enjoy it. The property is kept very clean; it is right across from the Malecon and has a lovely balcony where you can "people watch", especially in the summer evenings when the Malecon comes alive. It is walking distance to downtown, the main plaza, and the museum and bookstores.
There are many nice restaurants, including the one open air one on the first floor of the hotel. I am not sure how it is so, but one of the main waiters, Enrique, remembers me from year to year and greets me like a long lost sister each time I arrive. He even remembers what I like for breakfast!
I saw that another reviewer complained that the pool was cold. In the summer, when it is over 100 degrees, that cold water is lovely. I enjoy lounging around the pool, watching the families enjoying their swims and reading.
Each room has its own refrigerator, so a trip to the DAX store a couple of blocks away to stock up on bottled water, juice and snacks for the room is always one of my first chores. This is a hotel that caters to fisherman and Mexican families and Mexican businessmen. The staff is generous with their assistance and attentive to our needs.

Room Tip: Do not get a second or third floor room on the outside on the side of the hotel that is near the nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Spent 4 days and had an enjoyable experience. The malecon is directly in front of the hotel. The evening brings out many locals. Very safe to walk around the Sea of Cortez. Plenty of restaurants available. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful to us Gringos.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trout50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here for one night en route elsewhere. The hotel was centrally located, overlooking the sea. It was nice to be able to go for a walk along the sea front and see pelicans and fish in the water. There was a swimming pool but it was too cold to use. Not the cheapest, but good value for four of us in a family room. An easy walk to lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francoiseH550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FALLS CHURCH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Perla during the first three days of a two week vacation in Baja California Sur. We chose this particular hotel because it is right on the Malecon in walking distance to several shops, bars and restaurants (very safe to walk even at night). It is also about four blocks from the terminal turistica bus station, which we was our drop off/pick up location between arriving and departing La Paz.

The hotel has a beautiful pool in the courtyard, a rooftop view of the Malecon (extraordinary sunsets!), and an attached restaurant and nightclub. The rooms are basic, clean, comfortable, equipped with cable TV, and seem to have recent bathroom renovations (more modern than the room itself). Our room overlooked the Malecon on the first floor, which was fine since it wasn't peak season. However, I would suggest staying in a room far from the Malecon during peak season because even on a Wednesday the Malecon can be bustling at night.

The only minor complaint we had is the continental breakfast, which is just toast with coffee or juice. We suggest bringing supplemental breakfast bars to snack or ordering from the restaurant menu instead. Otherwise, a good stay with staff who speak english (as do most service staff in La Paz).

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the Malecon would be best during peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed her two times during a motorcycle ride to the tip of Baja. The first night I had no hot water but the second time everything was perfect. They even moved cars around in the parking garage to let us park our motorcycles more securely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevodadevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Property: Hotel Perla
Address: Alvaro Obregon No. 1570 | Downtown, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Perla 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Hotel Perla we are characterized by our warm service and the best location In The Malecon And The Heart Of The City.Offering Good Rates, Quality In Food And Beverages And A Lot Of Fun In The Nightclub And Great Catering Service In Our Meeting Rooms.110 Wide, Clean And Confortable Roomsnew Matresses, Flat Tv´S And 55 Cable Channelsrestaurant ¨La Terraza¨ Nightclub ¨La Cabaña¨ Meeting Rooms:Salon Madre Perla & Salon El Mechudofree Wifipool jacuzzissun Deckkids Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla La Paz
Perla Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing