We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Punta Chivato
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, lovely place”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I always stay with Attilio at Villaggio. It is on the outskirts of La Paz, very quiet. I love the coziness of the place, the quiet location, the wonderful food prepared by Attilio: Both dinner with his wonderful Italian specialties, and the lovely simple breakfast. The rooms are simple but clean, the little swimming pool is nice in the evenings. He and his family are on site, which gives Villaggio a warm and friendly feeling. Short walk to the beach, easy to get into La Paz, 10 minutes from the airport. And the price is good and the service is personal.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BajaPuntaChivato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

I'm not the greatest Spanish speaker, and Attilio, the owner, speaks mostly Spanish and his native Italian, but I could always understand him and make myself understood. He cares greatly that you have a good time while you are staying with him. The cabanas are clean, comfortable and reasonably accessible for a wheelchair user (me). They are nicely arranged around a pool, and far enough away from the restaurant that going to bed early is fine.

The real reason to stay here, though, is Attilio. He is such a wonderful guy. Ask him to show you the little booklet that explains his history and the history of Villaggio Touristico. He has had an adventurous and interesting life. If you like good food, Attilio wants to cook for you. Last night, we had his marinated pork, and I couldn't stop gnawing on the bone, hoping to get one more morsel of the moist and flavorful meat.

On Sunday, he cooks up Italian pizza the way they do it in Italy--paper thin crust; only fresh ingredients. Four of us dined on a big salad (delicious) and one pizza, and were satisfied. Of course, we downed a wonderful bottle of Montepulciano while we ate.

Attilio lives and works in the shadow of the venerable Eberhard across the street. In fact, I ended up here as "overflow" from Eberhard. Next time, though, I'll stay here with Attilio and get the daily maid service as well as the wonderful food.

Attilio is still figuring out how to market himself to non-Mexican tourists, but he has a great product to sell. His out-of-town place is extremely quiet and safe. It is a very short walk from the inner bay of La Paz which is very calm for swimming. Better come now before everybody figures out what a great deal it is to stay with him.

  • Liked — Friendly owner
  • Disliked — no reliable internet, but I got it from across the street
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heyheyhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastern WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Comitan, El Centenario, La Paz accomodations-

The Villaggio Turistico is a small outdoor restaurant and 5 bungalows business operated by Attilio and Viviana w/ family. Across the Calle (street) from Hacienda del Sol (of Eberhard and Renata infamy) . Attilio doesn't speak much English but is fluent in Italian and Spanish. And he has a wonderful place to stay. I stayed (a woman by herself) in one of the bungalows for 3+ weeks in May 2008 and Attilio and Viviana were both very gracious and welcoming. I had been to Comitan in December with my family to Hacienda del sol and wrote a review. When I had to return to La Paz MX for business, I stayed at Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez (tourist village sea of cortez). Attilio and Viviana didn't even have consistent internet service until August 2008.

Even with our limited communication, I was still able to see emails Attilio had recieved from loyal customers asking when he would be having cabrito on the menu. I Loved It! When we first arrived in La Paz in December 2007, Attilito's cabrito was the first meal we ate and we all enjoyed it! Even our 8yr boy!

I had a GREAT 3 1/2 week stay and would like to share the place with others. It is definitely for a more secure traveler, as you need to have a good understanding of Spanish or Italian, or at least have an adventurous spirit about your travels. We had several Awesome dinners of things like cabrito, camaron and tiramisu. Whether or not you are staying at the bungalows, the restaurant is open for dinner business to everyone. Attilio serves a limited menu of fresh prepared dishes, usually consisting of spaghetti (not the usual red type!) lasagna, canneloni, and cameron, cabrito, pizza and other grilled/meat dished as available in the markets. His fresh ensalada is SOOOOO simple and good! Not to mention the vino rojo!

As a woman traveling alone, I felt secure but not intruded upon during my stay at the Villaggio Turistico. I I enjoyed the king-size bed and other comforts in the one-room bungalow. Beautiful gardens and a good size pool for swimming. If you are staying in a bungalow, 1-block from the bay, coffee and breackfast are also available!

Thanks-
http://villagelapaz.com/indexes.html
If you google the above site, click on the Spanish version, you should see pics of the place and Attilio w/ Franco (son).
I'm not sure how good their internet resources are, you can try on the links, but when I was there, internet was very minimal and not available to me as a guest. It should be better now.
Good Luck, or just try them for dinner and go from there....
I'll tr to post pics as soon as I can figure it out :)

Helpful?
1 Thank salsa-lady116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
6.4 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
8.1 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#11 of 39 in La Paz
171 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez

Property: Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez
Address: Calle Uno Lote 12, La Paz, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing