We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and consistent quality.”
Review of Il Rustico

Il Rustico
Ranked #9 of 307 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and consistent quality.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Beautiful courtyard - such a lovely dining experience. The food is great and always consistent. Great pizza and pasta. Service was great as well. They found out my Dad was having a birthday and surprised us all with a desert for the table to share! Lovely. I will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    84
    16
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good food.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have had dinner here twice. We dined outside with twinkling lights and beautiful trees. My husband and and I shared a Greek Salad which was very tasty. My husband had a pizza made in their brick oven. The pizza crust was thin, crispy and delicious. I had a really nice pasta with grape tomatoes, garlic and basil which was excellent. The service was spot on. They gave us a taste of the wine before ordering, which is something we appreciate . There were many locals dining here which is a good sign. Overall, very nice evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gal-on-the-go2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A true gem in a peaceful, classy, non rushed setting”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when entering from the street to find such a beautiful setting. There is a choice of inside tables but we preferred the park like courtyard with tables arranged amongst the ornamental trees in yard. The pace is refreshingly relaxing. We were not presented menus until after we were sipping the delicious California red wine that we had selected from the ample list. We had planned on Pizza from recommendations of locals but we could not resists the linguini con cameronis on the daily special. So we had both and enjoyed the left over pizza for lunch the next day. Our waiter suggested that the yogurt cake was known to disappear quite quickly when served with two spoons. He was right, it melted in our mouths and complimented the cappuccinos to end the evening. We will definitely be back to this treasure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunSeekingSan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza in a romantic setting”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Dined outdoors at this Italian Restaurant as my husband is less fond of the traditional Mexican fare. The place was not too crowded: we were given the choice of indoor our outdoor dining. We chose to sit outdoors in the dimly lit pebbled floored area. Tables were spaced far enough apart to afford some privacy and romantic atmosphere. Our waiter was by shortly after we were seated to take drink orders. There is an extensive wine list and not so extensive beer list. The one I did try was no excellent Mexican ale, "Cucapa". There are numerous Italian entrees to choose from, alfredo and on down the line as well as salads and pizza. We opted for a ham and cheese pizza. which is wood fired. We were served our drinks and also given a basket of bread along with olive oil and basaltic vinegar for dipping. They could have skipped this, as the bread was not warm and was tough and chewy. I was tempted to, but did not ask for a different basket of bread. The wait for the pizza was reasonable, and the beer good enough that I had to have another (couldn't have nothing to accompany the pizza, right)? The pizza was outstanding. I do not care for paper thin crispy crust pizza. This was a combination of crispy and chewy in all the right places. The ham was shaved and did not overwhelm the pizza. The amount of sauce on the pizza was just right. We ended up eating all but one slice. Too full for dessert. All in all, except for the bread, I would happily eat here and perhaps try one of their salads which also sounded especially tasty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Owner operated with pride”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Franco in the dining area and Alessadra in the kitchen, with a great staff always make dining here a pleasure! Pizza JA probably the best you can get anywhere, Insalada Rustico is perfect to share as is the melon and prosciutto. Great pasta dishes and moderately priced wines make this one of the most enjoyable dining experiences in La Paz.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bconwayusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Rustico also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Il Rustico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing