We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful family multi-sport adventure”

Baja Outdoor Activities (BOA)
Ranked #9 of 60 Tours in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sea-kayaking expeditions in Baja to Espiritu Santo Island National Park and along the magnificent Baja coastline. Trips vary from half day to 10 days in duration and you can choose a fully-catered, motor boat supported or a coop-catered expedition.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful family multi-sport adventure”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We just returned from a week long multisport adventure with the BOA
What a pleasure this trip was. BOA contracted the bicycling portion with Katun and our guide Rafael was an amazing multi talented guy/friend. We truly enjoyed the week of Kayaking, Snorkeling, camping, hiking, and enjoying the wonderful food and sunsets. We are a family of 10 ranging in age from 2 to 65. I would highly
recommend BOA for a memorable family adventure.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank barry1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant but crowded”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The BOA guides and logistical arrangements were excellent. The only thing is, and it's not their fault, is that the Espiritu Santo trip has gotten too popular. We had to camp with other parties on the beaches every night. Motorboats constantly buzzed through the channel, dropping off new people, servicing the parties all over the island and taking excursions to Los Islotes. A mini-cruise ship landed a hiking party. Sailboats and giant yachts were anchored in the coves. In other words, there was no sense of solitude. I did the same trip 25 years ago, and we were the only party on the island save for the pescadoros. I'm happy that this activity (industry, really) has created jobs for the guides, but If you are looking to get away from humanity, this is not the place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“These Guys Are The Best”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Have been meaning to write a brief review since going on a Baja Outdoor Activities trip over last Thanksgiving. We had a group of 12 friends for a 4 day/3 night sea kayak trip. This was my 3rd trip with Baja Outdoor Activities, and they simply know how to do it right. The guides, food, equipment, planning. etc. Even though we had some strong winds the first day or so, there was plenty of other things to do. They take care of all aspects of the trip and the entire group had a wonderful time. Snorkeling with the sea lions on the last day was nice ending. I'll be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BOA- Service Defined”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

7 of us did the 10 day Fully Catered Coastal Expedition. 2 of us had previously done the circumnavigation of Isla Espiritu Santo with BOA. There was some concern about returning because sometimes the repeat is not as good. Well now I can tell you you should do both trips. The equipment, staff, food, drinks, organization, ease of booking and communication and attention to details were excellent on both trips. The second trip is much more demanding but the staff was up to dealing with all of our concerns, however important they were or weren't. The guides never lost patience with our crew. Often repeating details until all understood. They made everybody feel like a somebody.

In summary, if you have any thoughts of going kayaking in Baja, go with BOA, you'll be very happy with their services.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful 6 night kayak adventure!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We just spent 6 nights circumnavigating Isla Espiritu Santos on a kayak trip through BOA. There were 10 people in our group and the experience was wonderful. We kayaked about 5-10 miles each day (except one day when we had a rest day and snorkelled, hiked and relaxed on the beach), camping at night on beautiful beaches. The two guides, Chino and Ivan were great (fun, well organized, helpful and informative), and the cook Alvarito cooked amazing food on a two burner camp stove. In addition to some incredible kayaking, we snorkeled, hiked and swam with the sea lions. A highlight for me was when Alvarito showed us how to find Octopus under the rocks at low tide. He then prepared an amazing Octopus appetizer for happy hour! We slept in tents, on the beach and all of the equipment provided by BOA was of good quality, including the kayaks, tents and sleep mats. Our excursion included a night before the kayak trip and a night after the kayaking at the Marina hotel, which was perfect for our needs. The final 'goodbye' dinner was also included and was a great way to say goodbye to our guides and cook and to the wonderful people we met on the trip. Overall, an excellent, well organized trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vancouvertravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baja Outdoor Activities (BOA) also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Baja Outdoor Activities (BOA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing