We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place!”

Tailhunter Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 308 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located on the Bay of La Paz's historic waterfront Malecón, on the Sea of Cortez, you will find three stories of amazing beach casual dining and fun. Headquarters of the renowned Tailhunter Sportfishing Fleets, the Roldan Family's uniquely diverse menu specializes in the freshest seafood and local specialties with their very own Island flair. Top rated since opening in the spring of 2009 for numerous years, we are famous for preparing our fishermen's fresh caught fish with an entire specialty menu dedicated to this rare treat. Featuring great music, fishing and surfing videos, sporting events, ice cold cocktails and front row seats to the best sunsets in The Baja.
Marysville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Tailhunter's Restaurant offers reasonably priced good food, great service and the best atmosphere on the Malecon. We had drinks and appetizers one night, and complete dinners on several occasions. The shrimp cocktail is one of the best I've had. My husband begins missing his burgers about half way through our vacation and Tailhunter's has a great bacon cheeseburger that rates number one in La Paz. While the food is great, the service is outstanding! The employees must have to pass a personality test because each one is friendly, conscientious, and on their game. However, the views, music and decor make this an establishment that is inviting, comfortable, and a place you want to hang in. A must visit while in La Paz!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    189
    93
    46
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montebello, California
2 reviews
“Wonderful place. Lot's of fun. Make you feel like family.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have been traveling to Baja Specially Loreto and La Paz for the last 25 years. This is one of the very best . Good food, good drinks, good friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
2 reviews
“For a First Timer to La Paz, Tailhunter Restaurant Says "Come Back"”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have been fishing out of San Felilpe, but this was first La Paz trip. TailHunter Rest. is a "must enjoy" facility in La Paz. Right on the water. Beautiul view. Great food. Great host and hostess. Hope to return next year!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsteiner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Jonathon and Jill Are the Best Hosts in La Paz”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've eaten dinners there for years. This year, we went to Taco Wednesday, and JnJ had set up a buffet table from which they personally served up very good tacos with multiple toppings and a green pepper/onion saute that was very good. They can accommodate large groups (we were 18 loud men), and the place is more or less family friendly, but I would hesitate to bring my very young grandnieces/nephews there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pete k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is the best place to have Dinner or Drinks for Sunset while in La Paz ! Tailhunter Restaurant & FUBAR Cantina is #1”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Ive been to this establishment multiple times on the few trips I have taken to La Paz and I always have a good time and am treated to good food and drinks every time. Its got one of the best spots on the La Paz Malecon for viewing the sunset and more.

On the last trip I had dinner one night and had the best coconut shrimp ever. With or without the dipping sauce they were spectacular. You can have beans and rice or their excellent french fries which is what I had. They are always cooked to perfection whatever meal you have them with.

With everything from Mexican food, Hawaiian Food, American Faire and more there is plenty of options to please any group. Plenty of drink options also !

Dont forget that in the bottom of the restaurant there is a office where you can arrange a World Class Fishing Trip. Just ask anyone there and they will direct you to the correct people.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tailhunter Restaurant also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tailhunter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing