We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!! Thank you :)”
Review of Leo's Baja Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leo's Baja Oasis
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We agree with all the wonderful reviews written about Leo's Baja Oasis. What a laid back place to stay and just what you would expect once you've met Leo and Romy. Leo is an avid fisherman and fish & chip specialist while Romy makes everyone feel totally comfortable. Awesome, a big thank you to you both for being wonderful hosts and making our stay at the Oasis a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Leo's really was an oasis in the city. I wasn't sure what to expect since we were a family with two young children and a set of grandparents (my husband however, was excited from the moment we booked because he is the family fisherman). I was more than pleased with the property (it's clean, spacious, tastefully decorated, safe for the kids and has a common outdoor living space complete with a stocked bar (just leave a bottle if you drink a bottle)) and the owner (Leo was laid-back, fun, and helpful). It took just a few hours to shake off the winter blues (we're from upstate NY) and dive into the relaxed Mexican way of life.
There's a lot to do - while my husband and father-in-law fished, the rest of us explored the city (leo's is close to old town area), took a boat tour to a gorgeous island, relaxed by the pool, and cooked up lunches and dinners in the well-stocked kitchen.
We will definitely return - in fact, we're heading back down in a couple of months. Thanks Leo!

Room Tip: Casita (main house) is awesome - very roomy and the kitchen is well stocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As an avid fisherman, southern Baja has become one of my favorite winter getaways and we usually spend our time in San Jose del Cabo. However, this year we decided to spend part of our vacation in La Paz and discovered Leo's Baja Oasis while doing some web research. What a find! Not only is this a cool appropriately named "oasis", but Leo himself is a fishing freak too.
We rented the "casa" which was perfect for our party of four adults and two kids. The kitchen served us well and got lots of use cooking the fish we caught. The "casitas" looked very nice too and would be perfect for a couple traveling in Baja.

As for activities, Leo helped us get out to snorkel with the Whale Sharks, visit the Sea Lions, and of course spend a day on the water fishing. Leo has a van that he used to transport us around town, and over to the Las Arenas area for some spectacular Dorado fishing.

Overall, I can find no faults with Leo's Baja Oasis as long as you are looking for a small relaxed place to chill out. If your into the big all-inclusive resort scene, then this would certainly be a different experience, but one worth trying.

Leo is quick and informative with his email responses, so if your headed to La Paz, drop him a note and get the party started.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank dpduval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic accomodations and hospitality.

I landed in Cabo, my first visit to Baja. Though I have travelled extensivelyall over the world in my younger years, it has been quite some time. I arrived at the airport somewhat stressed, tired, and a bit distressed by the fact that the person who I had arranged a pick up with was nowhere in sight. Then Leon stepped into the picture! Not only willing to provide a ride, he and Romy took me into their compound, my room was a picture perfect setting of simple luxury, truly an oasis in this desert climate by the sea. Felt totally at home.

Would recommend very highly; not only for the impeccable quality setting, but also for the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achille2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Honestly I can't say enough good things about our experience with Leo & Romi. The property was clean, safe, fun and above all relaxing! They very kindly upgraded us to the main house which is VERY nice. Leo took us out on a tour to do some fishing and swim with the Sea LIons...what a great day! The fish we caught Leo cleaned and cooked for a huge feast the next evening. I want to mention that Leo and Romi both went out of their way to ensure that we had a great time. It's obvious that Leo loves what he does and truly takes pride in providing his guests with the opportunity to make their stay an AMAZING experience. My girlfriend had never experienced anything but very nice resorts in Mexico so she was a little nervous before we arrived. She was quickly charmed by Leo's Baja Oasis & the city of La Paz and can't stop talking about Leo, Romi, Chancho, Brutus and all of our experiences there. We'll be returning ASAP! Thanks again Leo & Romi...we'll see you again soon!

Room Tip: I really dont think there's a bad room! If you want a big full kitchen you should probably pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

From the moment we first contacted Leo and Romi via email for information on their resort to the time we had checked out, we could not have asked for a more pleasant experience! Both are VERY gracious hosts.

Our family of 5 stayed in the main house. It is simply gorgeous. There are 3 spacious bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with oversized plush towels. 2 bedrooms have large comfortable beds. The 3rd bedroom has bunkbeds with the lower bed being larger in size than the top. There is a large screened television with leather seating in the living area. The kitchen is fully ready for you to cook in. Leo and Romi can tell you where to buy groceries nearby. The kitchen and main bedroom have glass doors that open up to the large patio and overlook the pool and hotub. Music from the patio can be piped into the main house via the surround sound speakers. There is even an open bar located on the patio.

Leo and Romi are more than willing to offer advice as needed. We set up a day trip with Leo to go snorkeling with the sea lions. This was one of the most fun adventures we had during our entire 12 day trip! Leo even helped set us up with activities for when we went to Cabo San Lucas.

We HIGHLY recommend staying with Leo and Romi and would be thrilled to return again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Leo and Romi are top notch hosts and once you enter the gates of the compound you know why they call it an Oasis! We stayed in the comfort of the gorgeous main house, relaxed by the pool, went out for a very memorable day on the water, and cooked our catch on the bbq. My friends and i Couldn't have asked for a better birthday/stag and planning our next trip back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnapT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.5 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#9 of 39 in La Paz
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo's Baja Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo's Baja Oasis

Address: Calle Ignacio Allende # 440 | El Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico (Formerly Ocean Adventures Resort)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in La Paz
Price Range: £89 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Location in the Heart of La Paz! Just A Few Short Blocks To Beach, Downtown Shopping and Eateries, Public Market, All The Best Amenities that La Paz Has to Offer are Just Steps From Your Door! We Offer 4 Separate Lodging Choices: MAIN HOUSE-Beautiful Spacious 3 bedroom, 2 baths. Rustic, Modern Mexican Design. Large kitchen With Island, Bar,Spacious Dining and Lounging Area. Huge Covered Tile patio Opens To pool and Hot Tub/Waterfall/Garden Areas. $250/Night $1000/week Sleeps 6 BUNGALOW #1 King Bed, Full Kitchen Poolside. $100/Night $500/Week (2) BUNGALOW #2 King Bed, Full Kitchen Poolside. $100/Night $500/Week (2) BUNGALOW #3 2 Double Beds, Kitchenette $100/Week $500/Night (2-4) ** All Units Have Their Own Private Covered patio With BBQ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Leo's Baja Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing