We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being with friends or family”
Review of Casa Verde Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Verde Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 La Paz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I can't imagine going to La Paz and staying anywhere else. My son and I spent two days here to snorkel around the islands before heading to Cabo. We loved it! Now my son wants me to make breakfast just like Cinzia! Owners Cinzia and Roberto came here from Rome, and are the quintessential hosts. They put a lot of love and money into this remodeled home, completed last March, in the middle of a downtown neighborhood in the midst of family homes, shops, restaurants, school and cathedral. The church bells are delightful. The decor is top quality including the linens. The style is a combination of Mexican and Italian or European. Cleanliness was spotless. Our plans for the boat excursion were not finalized with another company (they could not include the kayak), so Cinzia spent a lot of time on the phone the afternoon we arrived, to help us make the arrangements for our tour with another company that could provide all the services we were looking for. They picked us up at the house the next morning. Cinzia's restaurant recommendation for dinner was perfect for us. Loved it there. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CACruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great place, Great location, Great people and service. It is the place you wanna be for your trip in La Paz. We loved Casa verde since we got in touch with Cinzia for simple request of information. Best value for money, we have been very happy to have found this place, and I can't wait to go back diving in La Paz and enjoy another stay at Casa Verde.
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffaele81ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Just had a fantastic 4 night stay at Casa Verde. This B&B is cozy, charming, tastefully decorated and most importantly very clean and comfortable. The little dipping pool is so refreshing on a sunny day.

Our host, Cinzia, really made us feel at home and was also so kind to make our breakfast early because we had to go diving at 8 am. She also gave us useful info about local diving since her daughter is an avid diver. The co-hosts are a black labrador retriever and 2 kitties; They are all very sweet, adorable, and well behaved.

The location is very central. The Malecón (Boardwalk) along the sea is just a short walk away. All the restaurants and shops are nearby but the B&B itself is on a quiet street so there's no noise to disrupt a night of peaceful rest.

I highly recommend Casa Verde for its quality and good value. I think it's ideal for a small group of friends (3-4), a couple, or small family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlenechiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Great hosts, lovely breakfast, fabulous rooms, great dipping pool and the neighborhood is wonderful. We are already booked for two weeks in December.

Room Tip: All three rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Probably like many others, my wife and I, were attracted to the Casa Verde Inn by the beautiful photos and reviews we had read on various internet travel sites. We phoned them about a week before we were due to travel and arranged to reserve a room. We were told over the phone that we could pay in cash or by Visa when we arrived, and left our home phone number and details for the reservation. We were contacted by mail later the same day and were asked to enter a web site where we again entered the details of our reservation, confirming our intent to stay. Shortly afterwards we received an email providing Paypal information but were not told that prepayment, nor indeed that any type of deposit was required, before a reservation was to be accepted. We believed, and were not at any moment told to the contrary, that our reservation was valid and would be respected.

Although paying for a service in advance is not something we would normally do, we decided to pay via Paypal as we could then use our US Amex card rather than have to pay by cash or Visa at Casa Verde itself. About an hour after making payment, we were surprised to have it returned without any covering email or explanation. Of course a number of things go through your mind; Did I send it to the correct Paypal account? Did they return it in error? Is the reservation ok?

We phoned Casa Verde a few hours later to check up on the reservation and find out why our payment had been returned. The man who answered was both rude and unapologetic, he told us our reservation had been canceled basically there was nothing we could do about it. He gave us the impression that they had sold our room on to someone else. Two days before we were due to leave and we were suddenly without a place to stay!

While Casa Verde may look inviting in the photos I would advise anyone thinking of staying there to think again. Not only did they cancel our reservation, which is bad in itself, but despite having our home telephone number and email didn’t even attempt to let us know, which in my books is just inexcusable.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
8  Thank Janver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa1992, Manager at Casa Verde Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

We never confirm a reservation without a deposit . Our reservation policy is very clear in our website. This person made a reservation by the phone. He never sends the deposit to confirm his reservation and we NEVER confirm his reservation. That's it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed at Casa Verde Inn with my partner for a few nights, it was a very spacious room that was beautifully decorated and very clean. The courtyard was a tranquil and cooling space that was wonderful to escape to after a busy hot day in La Paz.
The breakfast is perfect and most of all the couple who run this lovely casa are wonderful, they give you the perfect amount of privacy, whilst also being available to answer any questions, great recommendations for eating and enjoying the local sights. I would stay here again with out question a wonderful experience that was well worth the money. Thankyou Cinzia and Roberto

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biancaspeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

* beautifully designed b&b
* friendly owners
* comfortable beds
* quality linens
* great location - close to town but quiet

Room Tip: you can't go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venicela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Angel Azul Hacienda
El Angel Azul Hacienda
#4 of 27 in La Paz
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Casa Juarez
B&B Casa Juarez
#1 of 27 in La Paz
107 reviews
4.1 mi away
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
#4 of 39 in La Paz
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Inn

Address: Calle Independencia Esq. Ramirez 563 | colonia Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully restored old Mexican house with an Italian touch, is a little and clean Bed and Breakfast in the heart of old town La Paz. A secluded garden with tropical plants and a pool with the sound of his waterfall, offers relax to our guests. 5 minutes walking to the Malecon Costero (waterfront) where you can enjoy the breeze and the beautiful sunsets, the best restaurants and the nightlife ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing