We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of Baja Ferries

Baja Ferries
Ranked #21 of 66 things to do in La Paz
Attraction details
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

long (16hr) ferry journey, and quite expensive for Mexico. Worth getting a cabin if you want to sleep (4 beds, quite spacious, with private bathroom and towels provided) Evening meal and breakfast included in the price.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank rosalindsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    50
    47
    23
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
“Old Ships - Expensive Trip”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

$300 usd for 2 people in bunk beds and a motorcycle, AHOY! It's a low end Mexican Carnival Cruise, with edible meals and can beer or soda, that's it. The Nachos were actually not bad.

Since it;s a monopoly, shut up and enjoy the ride!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Cineasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gulf of Baja Ferry”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice over night slow boat across the gulf. Sleeper and coach options - travelers can mill about a couple of decks during the voyage. The bus ride on the peninsula was also slow due to security stops every two hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not advised, particularly with a dog”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I am a world traveller and normally have nothing but good things to say, but the ferry from Topolobampo to La Paz was a terrible experience. I can see how others may have had it better, but several points soured us on this company. In particular, when we booked in advance by phone we were told that our dog ABSOLUTELY had to be crated (any other ferry we could leave her in the car: it was January and not hot) and since they had only a few crates we were told we should bring one or we would not get on if their crates were full. So, we spent time tracking down a crate (not easy in Mexico, not cheap either). Our dog is not use to being crated and was quite stressed, not to mention the crate area was with the big trucks which idled for the whole trip. We were not allowed to visit her either.

This is basically a truck ferry that is obliged to take people: that is how we were treated. The ferry food (that we had no option but to pay for with our ticket) was pure slop, and the "lounge" was playing bad music at earsplitting levels. We would have loved to have sprung for a private room, but they were all pre booked.

Worst of all, while I was waiting with another wife on the tarmac at the other side while they subjected our husbands/vechicles to a separate search (dogs, you name it, to go from one Mexican province to another???) I found out they sweet talked the guy loading them into letting them leave their dog in the car!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank JoanMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Well kept, nice service, comfortable!! Affordable and great asset for Baja California!! Good value!
Is is a very nice e pertinence and the sunsets are beautiful!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank HaciendaParaiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baja Ferries also viewed

 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Baja Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing