We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we paid for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Little Falls, Minnesota
1 review
“Not what we paid for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We travel with the intent of doing some cooking in the room to save some money. Hotel Marina advertised in room cooking to save some money. Guess what. Frig didn't work. no pots, pans, plates, glasses, eating or cooking utensils. called the front desk, phone didn't work. Went to front desk to inform. That evening the Frig was fixed and phone taken out for replacement (never received new phone). 2 days later we recieved two pans and spatula. we purchased our own eating and drinking utensils. Now ready to cook NO! STOVE DOES NOT WORK! With one full day left the stove was fixed and we were offered an upgrade for the inconvience. SORRY, A LITTLE BIT LATE, DAMAGE ALREADY DONE. Otherwise the room was OK

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    49
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
27
48
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monterrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

It is the 3rd or 4th time I stay here and is excellent everytime in service and the spectacular views from almost every room (left side and from 2nd floor and above). They have breakfast buffet also excellent and is right in the Marina, so the location is for me in the middle of the most popular places in La Paz whether you want to gi to the Marina, or walk on El Malecon and eat at one of the several options there... Or if you want to go for a tour or a nearby beach. You would be right in the middle ;) We will coming back here again next time in La Paz.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angielivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned from a great fishing trip with the Baja Pirates in the Sea of Cortez. They put me up in the Hotel Marina and I was pleasantly surprised. The staff, housekeeping, waiters, etc. were extremely kind and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and available for my needs. Beautiful pool and views. Restaurant was also on the compound and they opened at 6AM to accommodate the fisherman who had to leave early.
I will be returning!!!!!

Room Tip: I lived in a high-rise in Chicago and am very tired of riding in elevators...I would strongly sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey2angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

So bummed about this hotel! The location is nice and it's really pretty on the outside, and the reception staff is very nice but it goes downhill from there! From the bad wifi to the extraordinarily gross and rundown conditions of the room this hotel is a MUST avoid on my list! The food in restaurant is average with lackluster waitstaff - I so wanted to love this place!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperFunTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had 2 adults and 3 kids stay in the suite. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and the check-in was quick and easy. We had a bellman assist us with our bags and did a nice job of explaining the features of the hotel in English.

The room had a nice balcony with a view of the pool and the marina. We were happy it had a pull-out coach (although it was very uncomfortable). The maid also made the sofa bed daily for us. We were also happy to see a kitchenette (unfortunately the stove would shock us often). The air would turn on (although we shut it off) often during the night and was very loud. The room was large and it was clean with lots of closet space and a safe.

We chose this location because it was off of the main road and thought it would be quieter. Due to the Christmas holiday there were a lot of parties at their event center which were very loud and would last until 2am. The one evening there was no party the hotel was nice and quiet.

The pool was pretty but very cold (seems to be this way with all resorts in Baja) and initially the jacuzzi was not warm but someone cleaned it and the water was very hot afterwards. You have to go to the front desk to check in and out your pool towels which can be a bother. The bar staff did check on us at the pool and we were able to order lunch and drinks poolside which was very good. The grounds are pretty with lots of plants and a bird cage filled with canaries. We played tennis as well and the court was clean and in good condition. We had our own equipment so not sure if they provide that or not.

The restaurant was reasonably priced and had good service. We all enjoyed our meals. The bar had good drink specials throughout the day as well. We also ordered room service through the restaurant which was very prompt.

There is a lot of road construction outside of the hotel so it is a bit difficult to navigate into the parking lot. There is also a very strong sewage smell at the front of the hotel in the parking lot area.

We walked in the morning along the boardwalk to the Malecon district which had many cafes, bars and restaurants. It's a lovely walk with most residents jogging or working out on the boardwalk. Most of the boardwalk is well lit at night except a small portion right before the hotel. I think this is due to a lot of construction in that area.

The area seemed very safe with a large police presence along the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the event center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARINARESERVA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate.

Firstly we are addressing the maintenance issues as that is crucial for any hotel experience!
However, we would like to make it better and we look forward to you visiting us again. If you choose to please contact myelsf and I will make sure it is a 100% plus experience!

Best Regards,
JFox^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Not right in town but its an easy walk into town right on the Malecon. If you want a taxi ride into town its just $5 half the cost of rides at most hotels beyond that point. Breakfasts were not quite ready for the early fishermen but there was enough to get some fruit, cereal and toast. Coffee juice and milk were available also. My room was on the ground level and was not the best view at all. I got a view of the gate to the marina. It was room 110 It was easy access in and out though. The decor was bright and its clean. Tip the maids a bit and everything gets taken care of no problems at all.

All and all a nice place to stay at a very reasonable cost. I would stay there again but would seek a better view next time.

AC unit was newer type but seemed to have to cycle on and off too much in November when it was not that hot. It did work though.

Room Tip: Heard the suites are nice check other reviews. Room 110 does NOT have a good view and its next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARINARESERVA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at Hotel Marina, and we arelooking forward to welcoming you to our hotel soon!

Best Regards!
J.Fox^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whilttier,ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

stayed here on a fishing weekend. It is located away from the malecon, where the restaurants are located, so a readily available taxi is needed to dine out. The breakfast are good, and the service is adequate. There is a pool, but the towels are at the front desk and there is a fly problem. The marina is adjacent and a nice evening stroll. The rooms are clean, basic and quiet. The tv does not have english channels.
Pricing is about average for area.

Room Tip: upper floors have a nice view of marina and better breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topgum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARINARESERVA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Marina, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
JF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araiza Palmira
Araiza Palmira
#22 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Express La Paz
City Express La Paz
#12 of 40 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#11 of 40 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Property: Hotel Marina
Address: Calle Bahia Pichilingue km 2.5 | Fracc. Lomas de Palmira, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing