We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Love this place...Keep coming Back!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punta Pescadero Paradise
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Well... Tis was our 5th time back in one calendar year. There must be something to be said about this place. The entire East Cape region is a beach lover's paradise. If you're not into crowds and you don't mind the heat this is the place for you. You can walk for miles along a white sandy beach and not see another sole. There are more American beach houses that are built every time we visit, but this area is still pretty remote. The hotel did take us into the nearest sizable town called Los Barilles which means "the barrels". It was about a 30 minute ride on pretty rugged road. This place caters to the Americans who own property in the east cape region and has everything from supermarkets to nicer restaraunts.

We visited this time over Easter weekend and flew into the private airstrip, which is paved and the nicest one in the region. It was fairly busy with about 10 other airplanes ans parking almost full alongside the runway. For the amount of aircraft we didn't see too many people. The fishing at the hotel was again sub par. Next time I want to catch fish I should go to one of the Van Warmer resorts that specializes in fishing. This place has no idea how to catch fish. We ended up buying Yellowtail from the near bye town so we could fill something in our coolers.

The hotel rooms at Punta Pescadero are great. Comfy king size beds, roomy, small fridge, hair dryer, separate sitting area, patios overlooking the ocean, and nicely decorated.

The food hear is phenominal, although you do pay a pretty penny. You can do the american plan where food is included with the room. They actual have a full time chef here who really has a creative and delicious resume. There were a couple meals that were buffet style, since it was busier a few nights.

The weather was ok this time of the year. If you want to avoid the heat and the seasonal wnds March and April are good months to come. Our first day there was beautiful with a slight breeze and glassy ocean conditions. Tep was about 85. The second day the winds started picking up, and by the 3rd day they were gusting. The seasonal winds called "EL NORTE" are supposed to be gone by the beginning of MArch but we got a little taste of them. Once the wind starts blowing here it makes it very difficult to do anything on the water. Snorkeling and fishing are out of the question.

One complaint is: we kept our DO NOT DISTURB sign up each day because we were weary of our passports and cash being stolen, but this didn't stop housecleaning. They disregarded the sign each ay and cleaned our room anyways. Oh well, nothing was stolen or disturbed.

Overall a great place to relax, a very friendly staff, and nice place to get away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elpez930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2008

Entire family went down for my brother's wedding. Beautiful place, spacious rooms, nicely decorated. Although the trip getting there is a bumpy one, it's more than worth it. Food was wonderful, staff was great.

Fishing was a good experience for the guys but they said it was over priced. Definately a trip I won't forget and will do again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheelza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We were in Punta Pescadero from June 29-July 3. Although we did not actually stay at the Hotel Punta Pescadero, we were there for most of each day. Our family friends have a beach house, Casa Sonrisa, 3 doors down from the resort. Last summer when we were there in August, it was hot and horribly humid but this time was absolutely gorgeous! I asked to see a room at the resort-and they were amazing! They were redone and modern--I especially liked the honeymoon suite with the private jacuzzi! The views are amazing, and if you don't feel like being in tourist central but like to fish, relax, kayak, snorkel, and eat tacos--then this is the place for you!

The road coming in right now is drivable. We actually took the old dirt road in an old minivan and had no problems! We took the paved road once and it was just as bumpy and took twice as long to get to Los Barilles.

I feel that the meals at this place are sorely overpriced. Last summer we had a simple breakfast (bacon, eggs and toast) and it cost about 20 bucks. However, unless you have quads or want to drive into Los Barilles, this is really your only option!

I strongly suggest renting quads from the resort-they are actually cheaper than the rental places in Los Barilles. They are a lot of fun and you can go look at cave paintings, waterfalls, and cruise thru arroyos.

An amazing place to stay...but the roads ARE NOT for the faint at heart!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank doglover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2007

It is a good thing that the previous reviewer had a plane to take them to Punta Pescadero because a taxi will not get you there. On Feb. 8th I tried to drive my rental car from Los Barriles to El Cardenel which is the end of the new paved road and had to turn back at K 17 due to the terrible road conditions. Hurricane John destroyed the road to Punta Pescadero so unless you have a plane and don't plan to drive anywhere you may want to rethink this destination.

4  Thank East-Cape-bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

This is the first time we have returned to this isolated fly in intimate resort located in what we consider the most pristine and magical beach in all of the east cape. They have recently remodeled and we were overjoyed by the quality of the upgrades. It now has the feeling of a spa resort with huge ocean front suites facing the most magical little swimming pool of a bay surrounded by a multitude of rocky formations that provided a home for the multitudes of tropical fish that abound here. Close off shore were frolicking whales and dolphins. Famous for the excellent fishing right off this appropriately named punta (point), we enjoyed fresh mahi and yellowtail caught hours before. The rates were very low, $150 per night for us and the food in the only restaurant was very much improved, very local in flavor with an international edge to the prep. We realized the rates reflect the difficult acessability of this remote paradise, and are lucky we can fly our own plane right up to the hotel, however we encourage anyone desiring a truly memorable week in a true remote seaside paradise to make the 1.5 hour cab ride from Cabo or La Paz, it is very much worth the effort. Pam and Bruce, Santa Cruz,Ca

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DOLPHINWATCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2006

My wife and I spent most of a week at Punta Pescadero in October of 2006. The rooms were stunning! Large, split level, newly redecorated with a great view of Sea of Cortez. Bathrooms were ultra modern. Pool, bar and restaurant also have great view of the sea. Staff was wonderful. Felt the meal plan was over priced but you can order a-la-carte and bring the price down. The rooms, view , miles of beach and great snorkeling right in front of the hotel more than made up for the meal plan.
We like to see new places when we travel so don't make many return visits, but we are already planning a return trip to Punta Pescadero. Robert and Lora Wier, Choteau, Montana

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RobinLora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rockwall, Texas
112
Reviewed 13 June 2006

I really don't know where to begin.

Service=Horrible. All food and drink orders took at least 30-60 minutes to fill. One took 90 minutes. Wait service was often unresponsive, messed up orders, or forgot about you.

Staff=Inadequate. We counted about 10 people working in the hotel counting the grounds keepers. One waitress at the restaurant. No one at the main desk.

Food Prices=Overpriced. Example: 2 scrambled eggs, 3 strips of bacon = $15.

Quality of Food= Poor. All cold food was served warm. All hot food served warm. All canned drinks and water served warm.

Fishing Guides= 7 hours fishing. 2 fish. Lures changed once.

Caution: At least 3 other guests that weren't with our party complained of price gouging. The menu prices changed while we were staying at the hotel. Be aware that gratuity is included in your final Bill. The exchange rate was 11.6 pesos to a dollar. In Cabo, it was 10 peso to a dollar.

Total gratuity, taxes, special taxes added up to a 33% and is applied to everything including snorkling equipment.

The hotel is beautiful in a great location. It's unfortunate that the everything else is so bad.

Stayed: June 2006
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
6.4 mi away
Villaggio Turistico Mar De Cortez
18.2 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#25 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
339 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
4.7 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Pescadero Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Pescadero Paradise

Address: La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: £138 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Punta Pescadero La Paz
Punta Pescadero Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing