We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeneka Hotel, La Paz”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is full of junk, which is amusing at first. There's even a dead monkey driving an old car. The owner calls it "art", but that's getting a bit pretentious. I felt like one of the junk-yard cats from the musical "Cats". It has free Wi-Fi and the managers are friendly and decent. They're supposed to provide free breakfast, but they don't seem to comprehend that most folks don't eat jam biscuits and coco-pops as "real food", he he. It's very quirky, that's for sure. I felt it was a bit expensive for what it was ... the mosquitoes can be quite aggressive at times. If you're back-packing through La Paz this is worth a couple of nights ...

Room Tip: I paid extra for an air-con room, but then I had it switched off most of the time due to noise. Jus...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Hohaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great hotel, great location, with a great staff for a traveler on a budget. The lobby area is outdoors and is filled with the eccentric art of the owners which makes for a great ambiance. Cold beers for sale but minimal kitchen amenities. Stayed here for 4 nights would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Totally worth giving it a try. Yeneka is in a great location...huge grocery store witin a 5 minute walk, tons of shops and the "beach" is just two blocks away. Each room has its own personality. Room doors width is wheelchair accessible but the bathrooms are not. With a little assistance you can get over the less than one inch entry part to the hotel. There are so many cool things to see once you go through the "gate". We spent hours playing I spy...I spied things that I no longer thought existed. The breakfast....no cover for it...FREE! I suggest grab a few pieces of fresh fruit a few blocks up in front of Eleckra (big yellow building.). There was a coffee shop next door but was closed when I went by.
The rooms are clean....didn't leave with a rash or the cooties! We made a special trip from Cabo to see what all the hype was. It wasn't hype but just the truth.
You would think because it is so reasonably priced it would horrible. It wasn't at all!!!! Everyone on staff, family of sorts were more than awesome.
Give this place a try.....my 16year old son didn't complain.......and he was entertained with just it all in.....kinda like a Nght at the Museum!!!!

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center......The rooms have AC of sorts and a ceiling fan
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivelkDying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

If you're interested in comfortable beds, clean surroundings and quite, then the Yeneka is not for you. But if quirkiness, clutter and backpacking travellers are more your metier, then definitely put the Yeneka on your list. The staff is friendly, the collection of objet d'art is amazing, and the funk paint job and ceramic tiles make the rooms fun and individual. When the rooster started crowing about four in the morning, and the dog next door started barking, I knew my sleep on my hard-as-a-rock bed were over. But free WiFi and lounging on the various hand-made furniture in the courtyard made the bad coffee and breakfast seem palatable. Even if you decide not to stay, have a visit because it is the stuff of legend.

Room Tip: I think they're all similar
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wineguy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

As a flight attendant an world traveler this place gets 5 stars for creativity, friendliness, uniqueness, and all around great place to stay! Thanks for the fun!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heidyg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

While this place may not appeal to everybody, it does offer a very unique experience with great location and excellent service. Great place to meet like minded travelers.

If manicured resort type hotels are your thing please look elsewhere. There are plenty of expensive hotels on the beachfront with very informal service and sterile environment. However if you are looking for a new experience and an excellent chance to meet new people and enjoy some group conversation this is the place. Service is excellent and although it shouldn't matter much, their English is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSmith1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

They say you only remember the reslly good places you stay and the terrible ones! Well I can safely say this one is one of my great memories from traveling all over the world.

I was staying down the road but stumbled across the yeneka hotel while sightseeing around la Paz. I thought it was an antique shop but turned out all the antiques were just part of the decoration of this great place.

Issac was awesome and organized my boat tour to spirit island, fixed my pants, did my laundry, booked my ferry and even dropped me off at the ferry port at a very competitive price!

All in all hotel yeneka is ideal for the budget traveller in every aspect. Clean rooms, great customer service, funky courtyard and good energy! Thanks issac!

Aussie Ben

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freespirittravelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
160 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Seven Crown La Paz Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka

Address: Francisco I Madero 1520 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico (Formerly Yeneka)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: £18 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Yeneka Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing