We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mad as a box of frogs, but a cool stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mad as a box of frogs, but a cool stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Probably one of the most schizophrenic places we've stayed in, Hostel Yeneka stays on the right side of crazy. Ignore the hotel's one star rating - its staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are big and the beds comfortable. The courtyard, where a basic, but free, breakfast is served, is stuffed full of bric a brac, resembling a charity shop run by a demented sailor, but it's lots of fun, especially the crazy monkey driving a car. It's also really centrally located and just a short walk to the main square and Malecon.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePiemanAndHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    19
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
21
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Greeted with tequilla and shown to our room "erotica" we had to fight our way through what has to be the best collection of random goodies on the globe! This hotel is basically mad as a box of frogs and we quite frankly loved our time here! 2 min walk to the beach, comfy beds and good wifi. The communal garden is also nice to relax in, if you enjoy being in a jungle owned by an eccentric collector of bones, shells, plants and manikins dressed in tutus and armed with painted mop heads! The breakfast cookies was a nice touch too! If you have a sense of humour, stay here and embrace the madness!

I might add, in the bus station on the sea front you can grab a cheap bus to playa Balandra. This is the most incredible beach you will ever see! Take your snorkel and prepare to be blown away! Its a must see beach and will have you awestruck. Only 20 mins from la paz!

Also, restaurants aren't great if you are a massive foody like us, so find an italian called Milanos. Out of the hotel, turn left and turn right going towards the beach. Its off on the left down a road, I think 2 back from the beach. We found the food excellent!

If you are divers or snorkelers go to the beach front and find the tour company. They run private boats to eespiritu santo island, its a must do day! Bloody excellent!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattk2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This is the most unique hotel if ever seen. I have never seen this mich stuff together. The coutyard is completely cluttered and every room has some unique items and/or wallpaintings.

It's an old place with old stuff. No modern comforts, but lots of fun! The free shot of tequilla uppon arrival will make you sleep great anyway!!

Never seen a place like this. And sure I never will!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AYoungblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayulita, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this hotel while looking for the hostel and had seen reviews on internet so after a quick walk through to see the rooms we decided to stay. Free shots of tequila, internet, breakfast and hot water were advertised as selling points...plenty of tequila was given out nightly at happy hour but breakfast was cookies and coffee and hot water was only on between 7am-9am...nonetheleseess we enjoyed our room so much we extended our stay from 3 days to 10 days. People working there were friendly but be careful at che everything thete. ckout because they are notorious for overcharging and adding drinks to the bill. We argued to charges and they took them off. We loved the atmosphere and would stay again...even in the 10 days we stayed we didn't see everthing this hotel-recycled art gallery had to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travalina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We are a couple in our late 20s, early 30s and we used to do a bit of backpacking. I think we were both sad to realise that those days are over and we now prefer a bit more comfort. For this reason I don't think we'd come back to Yeneka. It would have been a great place about 8 years ago for us! Really, the staff were very friendly and it was great to have the tequila and breakfast available. Each room was different. The beds were pretty uncomfortable and the bathrooms needed to be redone as our toilet kept breaking. Our last night there was a concert and we were kept awake for hours. Not the hotel's fault. It's in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Great find! Although it is budget accommodation, the service recived and welcome, were first class. This is a facinating hotel which resembles a cross between an art gallery and antiques shop. It is family run of which we were made to feel part.

I particually like the two courtesy tequillas each on an evening. This is an inspiring place, which allowes you to sit back and take in many characters.

Great times

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie_boo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

As others have mentioned the Yeneka is not for everyone, but if you've got a sense of humor and are young in spirit you'll enjoy the place. It's got enough ambience and atmosphere for several hotels. The courtyard is a great gathering spot to meet other travelers.
We stayed here for the better part of a week on an extended bicycle tour of Mexico and always felt welcome.
The staff went out of their way to accomodate us and all our gear.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docsurfnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka

Property: Hotel Arte y Museo Yeneka
Address: Francisco I Madero 1520 | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico (Formerly Yeneka)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Yeneka Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing