We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Concha Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel was conveniently located just north of La Paz on the way to the ferry terminal at Pichilingue. The rates are reasonable, and the included breakfasts are lavish. The staff are friendly and non-intrusive.

Our room was a bit on the small side, with the comfortable king bed hogging much of the space. The bathroom was fully equipped and everything functioned well. There was WiFi that reached some of the rooms, but the best signal was found in the second-floor lobby. Two computers, both equipped with printers, are provided there as well.

The grounds are beautiful and the generous pools spotless. A small beach area is accessible, but didn't look nearly so inviting as the pools. Neither was tried because it was windy and nippy.

All in all, a highly-satisfactory experience. Would certainly stay there again if the opportunity presented itself.

Room Tip: If your room is on the top floor, you won't have anyone dancing on your head at night. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yukonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

My sister and I shared a room for a very reasonable price and it included full breakfast each morning. The pool is very nice. The rooms are small but adequate for our needs. We were scuba diving all week. The staff was friendly. It is short cab ride into town. I would stay there again. Especially since they are so close to my favorite Dive operator Fun Baja!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divecolorado707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We loved this hotel in La Paz. Free shuttle rides to town, on the beach, a diving club at the end of the pier. What more you could want?! Rooms were comfortable, hot showers, cable TV. Free internet access and computers to use.
I really don't know why this has had mixed reviews, we couldn't fault one aspect of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadHatterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a very nice place to be. The only thing is that the rooms really have to be updated and really need to put more effort on the cleanliness. Also, We liked that the restaurant is so near to the beach. We enjoyed the sunset it was unique.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytraveler42_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

If you keep in mind where you are, this could not have been a more perfect hotel. Staff was very friendly, especially Francisco the waiter in the pool bar. Rooms are small but you spend the day outside anyway. Shuttles to downtown everyday, kayaks for guests and the best part, having the the choice of beach or pool withing yards of each other. Restaurant food was better than expected. We stayed for 10 days and every evening watching those sunsets by pool was the most amazing site ever! I am planning on spending next summer vacation there again!

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor if you don't like climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Second trip here. It's a well-worn hotel, but clean. Always has discounts if you book Internet. It's right on the beach, as advertised. As other reviewers have noted, if you want 100% percent new perfect American luxury, it's not your place, but if you like Mexican ambiance, this hotel has it in spades. In June '11, when I first stayed here, I thought the restaurant was indifferent, but they brought in a new chef, upgraded the menu, and I thought the food itself was well worth the trip the last time. Slept like a baby sans earplugs.

Room Tip: Renovating now, so book in advance if you want a specific room configuration
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

If you like classic "old Mexico", then you will feel comfortable in La Concha Hotel in La Paz. La Concha is located about 4 KM's from downtown La Paz as you travel east. It is a multistory building reflecting older Mexican archecture, and offers amenities appropriate to the time it was built.

The hotel has a very nice pool, a beautiful beach front (west facing for the sunset), an outdoor bar, and a comprehensive restaurant, serving from early til late. Waiters are attentive at both the bar and the restaurant, and prices are moderate (particularly when compared to US comparable eating).

The standard rooms are not large, but are quiet and comfortable, with Mexican TV, bottled water every day, and a small table and chairs. (Our bed was hard, and took several days to become comfortable to us.)

There is free internet (2 computers - never busy when we were there) along with a printer for documents. Internet is also available (wireless) in the rooms; we found it to be spotty,

The staff is bi-lingual, and during normal business hours there are bell services (no elevators) for luggage handling. The staff is helpful and definitely service oriented.

There are many newer hotels available in La Paz, but if you want traditional Mexico, good service, a friendly staff, a quiet location, a clean pool, a clean beach, a nice restaurant, good drinks, then La Concha is hard to beat. It has a cosmopolitan feel as it has a strong number of Europeans staying there on vacation. Additionally, it is popular with locals as a vacation site or a place to eat.

We stayed for 5 days and enjoyed every one of them at the hotel. The only downside for us were the "no-see-ums" which came around the pool just at dusk. They were, however, gone as soon as the sun went down. "Skin so soft" would have probably have solved the problem, but we did not bring any.

As always, remember you are not going to a Holiday Inn. Expect a quality Mexican Hotel and enjoy!

Room Tip: Ocean views are better than the inland side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank navigator53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
4.6 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
570 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
3.5 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
507 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Beach Resort

Address: Carretera a Pichilingue, Km 5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#3 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: £32 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Concha Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Concha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Beach Hotel La Paz
La Concha Beach Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing