We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go here. If you do, check your room and the grounds before paying.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Concha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Concha Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go here. If you do, check your room and the grounds before paying.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Terrible. Rooms were tiny, and. questionably clean. Our 4 person family had a total of two tattered towels to use. The room is terribly dated, beds uncomfortable. Don't be fooled by the nice lobby.

Beach is nasty. They dump their grass clippings into the water on their beach which causes an algae bloom. We thought we could walk down the beach further where there was no algae, but there we were greeted by 1000s of cigarette butts and the carcass of a cat maybe?

Restaraunt was ok, price good for dinner. Our complimentary breakfast was only good for my wife and me. They told us to share ours with our kids. The food was pretty bland.

We were scheduled for 5 nights here. We are leaving for the much more upscale (and not that much different priced) costa Baja. We had to pay a 20% penalty to leave, but to be honest we would have left regardless.

Avoid this dated and poorly run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CPOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    166
    102
    54
    44
See reviews for
119
164
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We weren't sure about staying here as there were some mixed reviews. I would definitely come back to stay here, but I will definitely bring a car. It's not easy to get to (a 5km walk from the centre) so not too practical to go and get a quick bite to eat. Also, the restaurant at the hotel is pretty over priced, especially for drinks (70 pesos for a glass of wine!). The food is fine, but better food is available in the centre, hence the car.

The rooms are in need of a bit of TLC but we didn't spend that much time there so it wasn't a problem. We were originally assigned a ground floor room but the mosquito net was broken so we asked to be changed, and this was done very quickly and with no problems.

They had a transport service to the centre, but it was strangely organised. As it had 2 time slots to go into town and then 2 to come back again. You couldn't just use it to come back again. We had hired a car and had to drop in the centre. We were planning to drop it off, go for lunch and get the 2.30 shuttle back. However, as no one had gone to town that morning we couldn't get back so had to pay nearly 100 pesos for a taxi!

The service was great - the barmen, waiters, receptionists all looked after us well. Fantastic beach side location, even though I did get stung by something in the water. Great breakfasts by the pool. We were looking forward to using the fitness centre but it didn't open until 9.30 and it closed at 5pm. We would rather do our exercise first thing before breakfast. So I would have preferred it to open at 7am or something similar.

Looking forward to returning one day with a car :)

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had a third floor room, with lovely views of the ocean through the palm trees. Our room was medium size, and nicely decorated. After some of the reviews I was concerned, but our room was lovely. There are very nice common areas, beautiful pool and grounds. The bar at the adjoining dive shop sits right on top of the water - nice place for a drink. I liked that this was just outside of town - although it is a short drive to town. Also, for the price of about $75 I felt this was a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle ,WA.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Spend a friday night here last week and OMG.First I booked two rooms, they canceled one because of the same name. So got the second room but wasnt ready so we had to come back in a hour. We came back 3 hours and they had lost the reservation again. No worries after about 20 minutes we were on our way. Room size was about as big as my closet at home. They had a wedding on the patio which was by our room and it went on all night with the yelling and music . No sleep. Reservations were for two night but saw them setting up for the next weeding and canceled the second night. They gave us coupons to be used in the bar and resturaunt but they were limited to certain items that I dont eat or drink. Lastly i ordered decaf coffee after dinner and they brought me a jar of sanka.Make your own choice but....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank n5130xSeattle_WA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Boulder CO
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Quiet location, compared to staying in a hotel in town (except for when there's a wedding, in which case the loud music will last past 10 PM).

A bit far from the city to walk to it, so you'll end up driving instead. The Malecon (the long sidewalk along the water in front of La Paz) starts just 100 yards from the hotel. But it will take you 1/2 hour walk to get to the center of town from the hotel.

The restaurant is just OK: limited selections, slow service. If you're vegetarian, forget it. Over 3 days, we only ate a dinner and a breakfast there, because the better food in town was worth the drive.

The rooms are nice and clean. The staff is nice.

The beach is nice. But the swimming isn't: lots of algae, and the slope is so flat that it takes forever to get to where it's deep enough to swim. The snorkeling is sad: algae and lots of destruction. A small outcropping of rocks in the water is easily reachable and has a little bit of life in its midst.

Still, all and all, it was a very pleasant stay, and I would come back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 202 and 212: all you would see is the roof of the restaurant and its air conditioning un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavideAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is okay. The staff is great but the rooms are very small. The art inside the hotel is very unique. I got a great deal, so I cannot complain. If you want a hotel ocean side, then this is for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoEllen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

A really neat old Mexican resort hotel. 3 stories / no elevator. Beautiful grounds with art sculptures scattered around. We were greeted upon arrival by smiling faces of the staff. From the front desk clerk to the gardeners, everyone had a nod and a smile everytime you saw them. The resort itself is older, but classic. Nice pool, pool bar, free computer use, ice, extra towels. Anything you need, they could provide. Also, they had diversions for the young set. Mexican craft class, kitchen tours, free kayaks to use, ect.
Great service on the only private beach in La paz. The best place for sunset drinks. Excellent rates. Standard room 1 king bed, lg dresser, table, desk and chairs. Cable tv, bath ammenities, bottled water in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveliketogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
4.0 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#4 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#8 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Beach Resort

Property: La Concha Beach Resort
Address: Carretera a Pichilingue, Km 5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#3 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Concha Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Concha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Beach Hotel La Paz
La Concha Beach Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing