We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad location, but you can do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Concha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Concha Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not a bad location, but you can do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

A group of us spent a nite here on way to another location. Hotel rooms are dated. They require some TLC. The food in hotel restaurant was pretty good but overpriced compared to what is available in La Paz. $20.00 for shrimp and $4.00 for a Cerveza is too much. The pool area and pool bar look like a lot of fun could happen here. The staff especially the ladies at the front desk are very good. With some TLC this could be a great spot.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    166
    102
    54
    44
See reviews for
119
164
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Friends were staying at La Concha, and told us they felt the rooms were excellent for the price. We joined them on the beach twice and had lunch by the pool on both occasions. Food and service were excellent! As with most restaurants in the La Paz area, seafood was great, and they make one of the best cheesecakes I have had in my life! Watch out for the margaritas: at $10 they sound expensive for Mexico, but I watched the bartender make them and they are in fact a triple drink! Real margaritas, properly prepared and huge!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docondquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here for one night only, it was a quick overnight stay before I headed to Cabo Pulmo. It is a clean, comfortable hotel. Checkin and checkout process was easy and fast. Parking is easy (they have a parking lot). I didn't have time to use the private beach or beach amenities. The beach seemed small. Hotel is not close to downtown. You'll need a car or take a cab. It's probably only a 10 minute drive but not good for walking. There is a small pool, which I didn't have time to use. I stayed here because it had the best price and I just needed a place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel was a little hard to find and to actually get too. Once we arrived and got into the lobby,we were welcomed by very nice people. I sat on the couch while my husband got us checked in. The lobby was nice and the grounds looked very nice. On our walk to our room, I was a little concerned at how old it looked. As we got to our door, I was really worried because the door did not even fit properly. There was large gaps all around it. Large enough for something to fly or crawl in. Then we get into the room......... Dirty, smelly, small, old hard torn dirty mattresses and an ash tray on the bed side table with about 30 cigarette butts in it. Yes I cried, and yes we left. Told them at the front desk how nasty the room was. Nothing was done for us, we even had to pay for the night but went to a beautiful hotel down the road.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Bakersfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is quite a ways from downtown La Paz for walking, but right on the beach with a beautiful pool area and common rooms. The actual room was a bit of a disappointment and our room (9) was behind the bar at the pool so not a good view and had a large light shining in the windows all night, but the bed was comfortable, shower water pressure was great, the a/c worked great and it had a small fridge in the room, so all in all we were pleased. The staff was excellent and very helpful.
The roadwork made it quite a challenge to actually figure out how to get onto the hotel grounds, think they should have a temporary sign, took us 3 tries to find it.
We only had breakfast once, but it was good and the prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: Think not being on the ground floor would be a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We recently stayed at La Concha while exploring La Paz. The staff was very accommodating and courteous, especially Tannia (?) who honored a last minute Hotels.com price quote. The hotel is a bit off the Malecon, but is one of the few places to stay right on the beach. Getting to La Concha is a little challenging given the road construction going on at the moment. The inside lobby has a Thai inspired theme, which I didn't quite "get", but is pretty and comfortable. The grounds are lovely and there is a really great pool with sea view. The hotel has kayaks you can use to explore the bay with for free as well. The rooms on the other hand need serious updating and somewhat of a disappointment compared to the rest of the hotel grounds. In fact our toilet seat was so worn that the white paint was missing in many areas (see picture)...seriously? You can't replace the toilet seat??? The hallways are stifling hot, but there is AC (albeit right next to the bed) in the rooms. Our room included a decent breakfast choice from about 5 or 6 possibilities. After staying at the magnificent Hotelito in Todos Santos, for approximately the same price, this place was a let down and probably only a 2.5.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuszmahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We got a good price on booking for this hotel, because it's the only place in La Paz which has the beach and the diving directly in the hotel.
We then found a good service, the room was clean and with the normal standard of comfort.
A good surprise was the restaurant: good food and nice service at the right price.
The diving was the most expensive of all Mexico but it can be explained with the long boat ride necessary to reach the diving sites.
We dove with sea lions, and in some very good wreck sites so globally we were happy.
If you want good comfort, diving, beach and restaurant, the Concha can be a very good solution for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tig68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
4.0 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#4 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#8 of 40 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Beach Resort

Property: La Concha Beach Resort
Address: Carretera a Pichilingue, Km 5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#3 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Concha Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Concha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Beach Hotel La Paz
La Concha Beach Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing