We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite casual-value seafood place in town”
Review of Mc-Fisher

Mc-Fisher
Ranked #6 of 303 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“My new favorite casual-value seafood place in town”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Celebrated my birthday here last week with another couple. Didn't know anything about the restaurant except that it was one of our friend's favorite places. Now I agree.
We did not have the appetite to try all the extensive menu - the owner/chef showed us Fresh Ahi tuna from the grill as the special that day. I ordered two tacos, one camarones (shrimp) and one octopus. The rest of my table tried different things. The service staff was very friendly, and graciously opened our bottle of champagne with glasses that we brought. We had a very festive, happy and casual lunch here. When we return to La Paz next fall, this will likely be the first restaurant we will visit. All are looking forward to getting to know the staff and the menu Much More. Muy Bueno!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnovak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    26
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Killer Fish Tacos”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

From the simple fried or grilled fish tacos to the intriguing poblano stuffed with smoked marlin, battered, fried and served on tortilla with cheese, this little joint serves some darn tasty food. It's all cooked freshly, simply done, but so interesting as well. I wouldn't have thought of shrimp, chorizo and cheese on a taco, but had to order another.
Cheap and delicious with friendly, english speaking service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FishNerd7238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Mixed results”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I had been wanting to try this little hole in the wall for some time and finally did with mixed results. Had their "burro McFisher," which was more like an open-face taco with sauteed fish, octopus and oysters, very greasy. My husband's coconut shrimp, however, was out of this world - really, really good. One disconcerting observation. They had a fry basket that was draining (and had a few pieces of fish in it). A couple of sparrows hopped on and started picking at the fish. I pointed this out to one of the cooks who just smiled, but did nothing. I thought perhaps this basket contained "discards" but later on, she started frying up fish and put the fish in that basket to drain and then served it up to another customer. She didn't put the fish that the bird had been picking at on the plate, but this can't be sanitary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do you want fresh?”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Love this place! Luckily it is only a few blocks from home. I reccomend McFishers all the time for fresh, well cooked fish. Try the WaHoo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos in La Paz - recommend for Lunch.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Located a couple blocks north of the Cathedral and east of the Malecon, the picnic tables and local setting are perfect for lunch. The best were the pan fried scallop tacos, but the fish, and shrimp were great as well. Order the fresh guacamole too. Wash it down with a Michilada (beer & lemonade) to complete your meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank b6fischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mc-Fisher also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Mc-Fisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing