We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl in La paz”
Review of Bermejo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bermejo Hostel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pearl in La paz”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in the four beds dorm.
This place feels like home, very comfortable, the staff is nice and warm, super clean rooms and facilities.
This is a new place and it is still under development, the start is very promising.
Good luck!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank UdiFreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evita36, Propietario at Bermejo Hostel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kindness when expressing like that about us...your words make us feel already successful.
It was certainly nice hosting you and we also wish you good luck in your way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    11
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
13
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Baja Backpackers hostel for one night, and we felt like we would have stayed longer if we didn't have friends in the neighbourhood. The private room we stayed in was clean, and the A/C was quiet and powerful. The shared washrooms are clean and well-kept. We loved the common room with the book exchange, and the patio that overlooked the Malecon. You cannot beat the amazing prices or the great location. We totally recommend anyone to stay here, and say hi to Eva for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evita36, Propietario at Bermejo Hostel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear guest:

We really appreciate your kind words on our Hostel and service; we work hard to earn that. We were happy to provide the information for local services that you requested. We hope to see you again...you will be always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Great place. I love small homely backpackers. Very friendly. If I go back to La Paz, I'll stay here again. They also give great advice on what you can do in the area. It was also very clean. I cannot fault this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warnerk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio M, Public Relations Manager at Bermejo Hostel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear guest thanks a lot for your review, for us is very important to know how you felt while you stayed in hour hostel. This good review encourage us to keep working hard to become the best hostel in the area. Greetings from our staff and we look forward to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed at Baja Backpackers for 4 nights. I absolutely felt like home with the hospitality from Eva, Rick and Carlos. This hostel is brand new, very clean and comfortable. They were installing A/C when I left. So it should be ready by now. There is a kitchen where you can cook and a fridge where you can keep your cold drinks! If you don't like cooking, La Paz has excellent fresh seafood stalls. You can't beat the location! The hostel is one block from the malecon. Very central and safe. Excellent place to relax and make friends. Eva is very helpful and accommodating. Carlos, the reception staff, is very knowlegeable and friendly. Thank you for an excellent stay in La Paz. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajerothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evita36, Propietario at Bermejo Hostel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks for having stayed with us and for your kind words. We will continue doing our best to the satisfaction of our guests by offering a clean and safe place in a friendly atmosphere. No question, we feel enthusiastic and encouraged everytime we get comments like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A very clean and friendly place. Reasonable price and clean restrooms, just 1 block from the malacon which was very fun. Eva and Rick were so kind and helpful they told me about a boat trip to Espiritu Island that was fun. I hope to come back again. It even had free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: The room in the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evita36, Propietario at Bermejo Hostel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hola JoAnn: We are very glad to hear about your nice opinion on our place and about us as well; Thanks again for staying with us; we will continue doing our best in all possible ways to the satisfaction of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Just one block from the malecon, Bajapackers offers one of the best budget minded accommodation options in La Paz.

Initially my boyfriend and I had only planned to stay a few days here relaxing after spending a month cycling through the Baja desert, however we enjoyed the atmosphere so much that we ended up staying much longer.

The hostel offers dorms, a private room and camping space in the large backyard. The camping option makes it an ideal place for bicycle travelers or backpackers carrying a tent. The rooms, common areas and bathrooms are very clean and tidy.

It is great value offering warm showers, very fast internet, a kitchen equipped with stove, oven, toaster, blender and coffee maker. Also, sheets, towels and drinking water are provided.

Aside from these amenities the hostel offers things money can't buy..It is safe and secure, they provide lockers and you are able to park your car in their gated driveway. The atmosphere is relaxed, fun and social. Also, the terrace is great for watching sunsets and hanging out with other guests. Good vibes :)

The owners, Sergio, Eva and Rick are very warm, friendly, accommodating and knowledgable. If you are interested in snorkeling, kayaking, whale watching or other activities around La Paz they offer gear rentals and bookings. Sergio is a kayak guide and gave us great advice for our kayaking trip around Isla Espiritu Santo.

Baja Backpackers has only been up and running for a few months, Sergio, Rick and Eva are working hard and have some great ideas to make their hostel even better. Whether you are just arriving to Baja California, preparing to leave on the ferry or here exploring the area, Baja Backpackers is an excellent option to stay, relax and enjoy La Paz.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evita36, Propietario at Bermejo Hostel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you very much Amanda & Antonio for your kind words. We are deeply thankful for favouring us that long. It was very nice having you two at our Hostel and hope to see you back in La Paz sometime in the future.
We are indeed working hard on the hostel improvement in several ways, in order to offer our guests a much nicer experience when staying with us; that is our goal.
There is no doubt that running this place has been a great experience for the three of us so far... for important reasons; with no doubt I can say that one of them is the opportunity to welcome and meeting travelers not only from our country but also from other countries... and therefore the cultural Exchange this means; it is very interesting and rewarding at the same time (we enjoy helping our guests by guiding them when visiting our beautiful "Puerto de ilusión", suggesting outdoors activities and places to see, etc.). Our guests opinions encourage us to keep ahead with our Hostel project and doing our best for the benefit of all those involved. Good luck in your trip amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just spent 2 nights here- clean, friendly, quiet & cheap. Need I say more? Eva & Rick were wonderful hosts. It was a perfect respite for a weary road warrior! Close to Malecon, safe neighbourhood, parked my motorbike there for free... Good strong showers, clean bathrooms...

Room Tip: Try to get room towards back of building to avoid ambient noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio M, Owner at Bermejo Hostel, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thanks for your review, we are always happy to heard from our guest and their experience while they where with us. We take in count all your comments to improve our service and facilities. Thanks again and we hope to see you back in La Paz some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.7 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension California
Pension California
#27 of 39 in La Paz
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
7.1 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
1.4 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#12 of 39 in La Paz
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bermejo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bermejo Hostel

Property: Bermejo Hostel
Address: Revolucion #2430 | Almost corner with Marquez de Leon, La Paz 23000, Mexico (Formerly Baja Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bermejo Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Baja Backpackers, we want to offer high-quality lodge at affordable rates, we love adventure, enjoy nature and love to meet people from all over the world. Only 3 blocks from the Malecón, let us be your hosts in La Paz. We offer comfortable lodge in Dorms with bunk beds equipped with AC and shared bathrooms. Our location is very attractive for our guests as we are located only 3 blocks up from the famous Malecon and its great view of the La Paz Bay, we also are at a walking distance from bars and restaurants, from ATM's, Banks, Museums, Public Markets, Car Rentals and outdoor activities operators. This is your meeting point with adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bermejo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing