We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a hostel should be”
Review of Bermejo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bermejo Hostel
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As other reviews state: this hostel gets the basics absoloubtly right. It is spotlessly clean, has a fantastically equipped kitchen and most imporatantly every single member of staff were not only friendly but also pro active in making conversation and suggesting attractions/tours etc. something which was a real refreshing place. It is also in the perfect location and has a spacious roof terrace and good communal areas. Nt really much else to say. Well done BajaBackpackers!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Bermejo Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had a great time staying here. The staff and owners were all very friendly and kept the hostel nice & clean.
Its one block away from the main street and a short walk away from all the good night spots so the location is wonderful.
If your looking for a hostel near everything this is your place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hostel_FunkyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had a great stay at Baja Backpackers, the staff are really friendly and there is a really homely and relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are clean, there's hot water, a roof terrece and the location is ideal, right next to the Malecon. The kitchen is also very well equipped. All in all a great hostal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pharoah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The location is wonderful, just a 2 second walk to the Malecon and 5 minutes from the EcoBaja and Aguilar bus station. The kitchen is great for breakfast with coffee for guests early in the morning and a great convenience to fix lunch for a day at the beach. There is a wonderful choice of restaurants for dinner close by for dinner. Ava and Richard are wonderful hosts and helped arrange a tour to see the Whale Sharks. They were very caring and the property felt very safe. The Terrace on the second floor had a nice afternoon breeze and is a great place to relax after walking around during the day to see the sights. My daughter and I stayed in a four bed dorm and had plenty of room with outlets to re charge phones/computers. There were four people in the room all three nights and we enjoyed the company. I would recommend staying there for a good La Paz location.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 windows open onto the Terrace. If people are smoking or outside visiting it can get...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOUNTAINLUPINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The staff were amazing here, Eva is a wonderful woman and helped me get on tours for cheaper than priced. This stay was the best of my life without a doubt. I travelled alone and it was the first place i stayed, could not have felt more comfortable.
All facilities were just what you needed and it was homely so i felt extremely happy.
All the staff are great, they want to help with anything and looked out for me.
Thank you so much it was a great pleasure.

Room Tip: I shared a dorm room and had it was just lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Really great hostel, clean, comfortable, hot showers with great pressure, great location, reasonably priced and really friendly and helpful staff. Fully equipped kitchen, reception area with maps, activity info, 24hr porter and a patio balcony. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosalindsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

The only positive points are the position very close to the malecon and the kitchen, but no hot water for the shower, not so clean, very noisy in the morning. You get wake up by the noise from the kitchen. The following night for the same price we got a double king size beds room with A/C, plenty of hot water for the shower, 52' flat TV, very spacious and clean.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Asaguacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evita36, Propietario at Bermejo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos sus observaciones y las tomaremos en cuenta para mejorar aún más nuestro servicio.
Sin embargo deseo comentar lo siguiente: uno de nuestros calentadores se dañó no hace mucho (suponemos que coincidió en el día de su estancia...), por lo que hicimos todo lo posible y lo reemplazamos a la mayor brevedad (sin embargo se les informó a los huéspedes que estaban al momento, que en el baño del piso inferior sí tenía agua caliente)...a excepción de ese problema temporal, ha habido y sigue habiendo agua caliente en todos los baños del Hostal; lamentamos la molestia que esto pudo haber causado.
Por otro lado como ustedes mismos mencionan, la cocina es un punto positivo que ofrecemos como cortesía y sin duda de beneficio para todos los huéspedes que deseen usarla, por lo tanto esto hace que algunas veces sea una zona muy activa e inevitablemente genere algo de ruido; también... naturalmente al ser de uso compartido y constante como el resto de las instalaciones (como en todo albergue) no es seguro que permanezcan minuto a minuto 100% en orden y super limpias...nos gustaría poder asearlas después de cada uso, pero aunque tratamos no es posible todo el tiempo. A pesar de ello, nuestro Hostal sigue siendo considerado un lugar limpio, además de otros aspectos positivos que al momento podemos ofrecer y a las pruebas me remito:
las demás opiniones de varios de nuestros huéspedes que al igual que ustedes se han tomado el tiempo para favorecernos con sus comentarios.
Tengan la certeza de que como comento al principio, las tomaremos en cuenta para mejorar ya que no solo se crece con las críticas positivas sino también con las no tan positivas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#9 of 39 in La Paz
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Paradise Pasion La Paz
0.1 mi away
Pension California
Pension California
#27 of 39 in La Paz
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bermejo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bermejo Hostel

Address: Revolucion #2430 | Almost corner with Marquez de Leon, La Paz 23000, Mexico (Formerly Baja Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in La Paz
Price Range: £23 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bermejo Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Baja Backpackers, we want to offer high-quality lodge at affordable rates, we love adventure, enjoy nature and love to meet people from all over the world. Only 3 blocks from the Malecón, let us be your hosts in La Paz. We offer comfortable lodge in Dorms with bunk beds equipped with AC and shared bathrooms. Our location is very attractive for our guests as we are located only 3 blocks up from the famous Malecon and its great view of the La Paz Bay, we also are at a walking distance from bars and restaurants, from ATM's, Banks, Museums, Public Markets, Car Rentals and outdoor activities operators. This is your meeting point with adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bermejo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing