We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Hospitality in Mexico"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Gaviotas Resort
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We showed up at Las Gaviotas late one evening with no reservations...Chalo was wonderfully
kind and welcoming. We ended up staying 3 nights over the Christmas holidays 2012. What a great way to spend Christmas morning poolside enjoying a delicious breakfast complete with homemade bread and served by the lovely family while being entertained by the many humming birds!!! Chalo even offered us a room in their B &B which was not open at that time to accommodate us when the hotel filled up Christmas eve by guests that had reservations. Rooms are spacious, clean,comfortable and safe. We also appreciated all of there recommendations and directions, we truly felt as though we were visiting friends!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springsduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at Los Graviotas on two separate occasions , the first three nights before our expedition ship sailed and then one more night when we arrived back in La Paz a week later. We couldn't have been happier with unit 4D. We had a spectacular view of the beautiful harbor and the Malecon. The unit was spotless and could have accommodated many more than the two of us. There is a king sized bed in the master- which is unusual outside of the US. We were there during La Paz's one week of winter and the staff quickly brought us a space heater.

The owner had also compiled a notebook complete with nearby restaurants, grocery stores, banks, etc. Really gave us a lot of useful information. We also really enjoyed our included breakfasts by the pool!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Las Gaviotas is 150 feet off the Malecon (main street on the waterfront) but is secluded enough that you aren't blasted with all the traffic noise. All 16 rooms face the Bay of Cortez. They have large apartment size rooms. The owners are the builders of the hotel and treat everyone as their long lost friend. There is no restaurant on premisis (one is planned for later in 2013) but there is an outdoor kitchen by the pool where breakfast is served daily.

WiFi is available on premisis but is available only in spots. Can't get it at breakfast or by the pool. The Lobby is an assured spot. We stayed in 2b and had perfect reception (the owner was surprised)

Monday through Thursday there is a water aerobics class in the pool starting at 9 AM with one of the local Gringas running it. If you want to join, it costs 25 pesos per session.

This place is so centrally located that you don't need a car to go to the local watering holes or restaurants. If you want a car there is a Europcar rental location on the Malecon 150 feet away. There are the other usual rental car companies further down near the Bus Terminal (a 15 minute walk - or - 60 peso cab ride).

La Paz is as safe as any small town US city. Make sure to go to the Public Market. The restaurant there is the best food and lowest price in town.

Room Tip: Room 2b has WiFi all the time - no guarantee for anywhere other than the lobby. Don't expect a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Las Gaviotas Resort is a condominium property that has a lot of bang for the bucks. The suite was large (two large king size beds, a futon, and lots of sofas and chairs), had a large balcony overlooking the water, all rooms were very clean, including the kitchen with complete pots, glassware, and cutlery that we cooked with in the evenings. It has a heated pool (nice for late December in La Paz), free parking, and a great location (second street up from the malecon (newly renovated beach walkway)). The hosts make a hardy breakfast each morning, including toasted homemade bread and fresh squeezed orange juice, and they offered a lot of really helpful hints for a family on a bit of a budget (where to get cheap kayak rentals, consider renting bikes, musea and other tourist attractions off the beaten track, closest groceries, etc). We did not have reliable internet for the 4 days we were there (owner warned us before we checked in) but that may have actually improved our vacation! We took a chance on this place from previous TA reviews, and we are all happy we did. The beds were a little soft for us but still comfortable and clean. We felt safe.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1b. Our balcony faced the harbour (northward) and was one floor off the road. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sir_Logan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

When you look up the definition of "hospitality" in the dictionary, there should be a picture of Chalo and Gail Theurel, proprietors of the Las Gaviotas Resort. During our recent stay there, they enthusiastically ensured that everything we needed or wanted was provided. The 16 suites in Las Gaviotas are quite large, with two bedrooms, two baths and a full kitchen. The balcony view of the La Paz bay is beautiful and the close proximity to the Malecon makes walking easy and a rental car really not necessary. Each morning Chalo and Gail prepared a delicious breakfast that was served poolside. Dozens of hummingbirds provided entertainment while we ate. We strongly recommend taking a day boat tour to Espiritu island to swim with the sea lions, we were fortunate enough to see some whales as well. The Las Gaviotas is planning to soon expand the resort services to include a full restaurant, we can't wait to return and try it out!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We just spent 3 delightful days in suite 4D which is a well equipped 2br 2bath apt with
lovely views and all the comforts of home.The owners couldn't be more welcoming and
helpful quite in contrast to one of the recent reports.There is plenty of local tourist info
in a binder kept in the apt supplemented by helpful hints provided at the delicious and
plentiful breakfast served daily next to the pool by the hosts and their pleasant staff.
A minor annoyance was the street noise from weekend parties in the neighborhood,
light sleepers may consider earplugs.

Room Tip: Suite 4D - great views in 3 directions,wonderful breezes due to crossventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reiseonkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel or b&b is 4 stories with 4 suites on each level and an elevator. Each suite has a big balcony, kitchen, living room, 2 baths and 2 bedrooms, and front to back cross ventilation. The rooms on the corners have extra windows. The hosts Gail and Chalo are very friendly, and helpful. In fact the hosts are the best part of the hotel, because they will tell you all the places to go in the area. Also breakfast is home cooked and good.
The hotel is one block off the Malecon, and the rooms all have a great view of the Malecon and the bay. When you drive the Malecon you will see a large, pink, 4 story building with a banner "Hotel" hanging from the railing of one of the rooms. That is the place. There is also a small sign at the corner on the Malecon with an arrow, "Las Gaviotas"
We spent 2 nights and we took a small boat ride around Isla Espiritu Santo, which included snorkeling with the sea lions. That was an incredible experience, once in a lifetime. I highly recommend it. Snorkeling requires no prior experience, and the young sea lions like to swim up and surprise you in the water. Very cute creatures. I actually saw one sea lion balancing a piece of a snorkel on its nose under water.
We also liked Las Tres Virhes (The three virgins) restaurant nearby, and Le Bismark restaurant on the Malecon for seafood.
We were impressed that La Paz was so safe and peaceful. All day and all evening children, ladies, everyone was strolling, running, roller skating on the Malecon. La Paz is an anomoly, a safe, peaceful, Mexican city. Even the drivers were not too agressive, que passa?

Room Tip: Corner suites have windows on two walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windandseaNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
2.2 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
340 reviews
14.9 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#24 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Gaviotas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Resort

Address: Juan Maria de Salvatierra 100 y Belisario Domingues, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: £100 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Gaviotas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location in La Paz, walk to everything. Furnished 2 br, 2 bath condo-type suites. Best ocean views, terraces, enclosed parking, great heated pool, great breakfast, great hosts and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Las Gaviotas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel La Paz
Las Gaviotas La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing