We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Gaviotas Resort
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our room. They are a block from the ocean and our balcony had a clear view of the ocean and the Malecon. The rooms were very clean and the kitchen was nice. Chalo and Gail are excellent hosts and serve up a hearty, poolside breakfast every morning. They have a great binder in each room that's full of tips on customs, restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffy668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    60
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
72
62
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

First time in La Paz, lovely place! Rooms are spacious and comfy with terrific views. Hotel is within walking distance to everything you might want to do. (helpful hint: Gail and Linda are the same person :)). Gail and her husband are incredible ambassadors as the know everything about La Paz and are very helpful helping to plan activities. They are also terrific cooks, providing wonderful breakfasts. It is evident they love what they do and they are so good at it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MamaSuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The views from every room are only surpassed by Gail's natural ability to put you at ease with tourist information, places to see, places to eat. Large spacious view units all have 2 bedrooms, kitchen facilities,and a large covered deck for Happy Hour. Great for 2 couples or one couple with a mate that snores. Heated and sheltered pool, a filling breakfast served on the pool deck, and easy access to the commercial district without the noise and traffic issues, A new shower nozzle would have been nice, but we travel for experiences, and Las Gaviotas was one we will remember, and revisit in the future.

Room Tip: 4th has fantastic sunset views, and large balconies, but so do all units, which face the bay of La P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is deserving of its reputation. Located viewing the bay and close to the town center. Our room has grand view of the bay. Many restaurants are close this hotel and owners make the stay both relaxing and pleasant. Of course the heated pool is nice

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a suite on the 3rd floor and it was more than we expected. Large, good beds (and sheets!), all appliances in kitchen, great balcony with lovely view. Gail and Husband are wonderful. Very good breakfast. Walked all over downtown and enjoyed the Malecon. Will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night waiting for a boat trip. It was a wonderful place.
It's best attribute are the very friendly owners who take great care of each guest.
The rooms are very clean with great views and the pool and breakfast were top notch

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank retiredUSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a suite on the 4th floor with a great view over the water. Suite was well equipped with lots of space. It had 2 bedrooms and washrooms. Nice breakfast included. Very good value and close to good eating spots.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
490 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
0.9 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club El Moro
Club El Moro
#11 of 39 in La Paz
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#5 of 39 in La Paz
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Gaviotas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Resort

Property: Las Gaviotas Resort
Address: Juan Maria de Salvatierra 100 y Belisario Domingues, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Gaviotas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location in La Paz, walk to everything. Furnished 2 br, 2 bath condo-type suites. Best ocean views, terraces, enclosed parking, great heated pool, great breakfast, great hosts and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Gaviotas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel La Paz
Las Gaviotas La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing