We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay in La Paz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My sister and I stayed here for a few nights either side of our 3 day kayak trip to Isla Espiritu Santo in Jan 2011. With their midweek special, the $50 price tag was brilliant after being ripped off in Todos Santos. The room was clean and comfortable, with two double beds and a very decent sized bathroom. All was clean, and there are some shared kitchen facilities and a lovely rooftop deck overlooking the harbour with a couple of hammocks. Hugo on the front desk was very helpful with restaurant suggestions!

The hotel is very secure, with iron gates keeping unwanted visitors out (mind you, I felt safer in Baja than I did in NYC!). There is a small convenience store just across the street for breakfast supplies and beer, and its just a short 5min walk to the malecon and heaps of reasonably priced restaurants with AMAZING fresh food! We had a car, and there was free car-parking on-site.

The only small problem we had was that the shared kitchen area was RIGHT outside our room, and it seemed that a group who was preparing for a tour was gathering there early one morning. Americans talk really REALLY loudly, so that woke me up.

If you're going to stay here though, do yourself a MASSIVE favour and take a tour of Isla Espiritu Santo! We booked with Mar Y Aventuras, affiliated with the hotel, and their office is just next to the hotel reception. Miguel, our guide was amazing, and we camped for a few nights and explored the island by kayak and snorkelling. We swam with the sea lions and snorkelled with the manta rays, and were fed fresh local cuisine each day! Really reasonably priced and an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pinhead22886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

small posada, almost not visible from the road. Not direct by the sea but very close, many rooms have view on the sea. Very cosy, practical and clean, offers the great advantage of organizing trips to isla espiritu santu. Trips are more expensive than the average (900 pesos vs 650) but equipment is great and the boat leave 50 meters from the posada. Not much to complain about, the sink was loosing some water but no big deal. recommended to everyone who want some discrete place with good prices and services.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David77IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I recently passed through La Paz and had the good fortune to come across this gem. Located close to the Malecon, I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were clean and quaint and staff was very friendly and helpful. Best thing was I didn't need to use AC on the top floor with the beautiful ocean breeze. I will return on my next visit to La Paz.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank jcsorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights with two small children. We had a large room with two beds and a huge shower. They also brought up a crib for our baby. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated as is the entire hotel. I loved the community kitchen and rooftop terrace with comfortable hammocks. The location is central and close to the malecon. I must also mention how friendly the staff are, particularily Benjamin. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDNinCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is a lovely hotel with a real Mexican feel. The rooms are spacious, with a wonderfully large shower and air conditioning. The furnishings are simple, consisting of a timeless Mexican style with beautiful tiles and solid plain oak furniture.
There is a little kitchen where you can have a complementary cup of coffee, prepare food or just have a drink of water, and a lovely roof terrace where you can relax in a hammock and look over the city of La Paz.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyOstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We booked this "hotel" from the high TA rating. What a joke.
Had a 3rd floor room that provided quite a workout carrying
bags, etc. NO ELEVATOR .. The room was clean but very
basic. the AC performed OK.
Very nice young men working the desk. They politely cancelled
our second night and arranged for a prompt refund.
OK for 20 somethings that are backpacking at half of what
they are charging.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landlockedcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate constructive criticism here on TA and view it as a way to improve. However your review seems to be more of a point of unrealistic expectations on your part. We never claim to be anything more than exactly what we are which is most certainly NOT a 5 star resort OR a youth hostel! Have you ever stayed at a youth hostel in La Paz? I think not if you are comparing us to one.
We are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel. We have a very detailed website with LOTS of photos and information so I suggest you do more extensive research on line before booking your hotel accommodations.
We are highly rated on TA because our website represents us for exactly what we are, a clean, simple yet lovely and quaint hotel in an ideal location that charges a VERY reasonable rate for what you receive with us.
Mary Harter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Great hotel, great location! We stayed a week and enjoyed everything! Loved the roof top verandah, hammocks and ocean views. Very friendly staff, beautiful Mexican decor and very clean and comfortable...perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#2 of 39 in La Paz
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#1 of 39 in La Paz
205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#8 of 39 in La Paz
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada LunaSol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada LunaSol Hotel

Address: Calle Topete E/ 5 de Febrero y Navarro 564, La Paz 23006, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: £48 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada LunaSol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada LunaSol is a traditionally decorated Mexican Inn ideally located for exploring the sights of La Paz and its surrounding areas by foot, kayak or boat. The Marina La Paz and water front boardwalk are within a short walk and the sea kayaking and whale watching outfitting business of Mar Y Aventuras is on site. The bilingual, friendly and knowledgeable staff is available daily to help enhance your visit to La Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Posada LunaSol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing