We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Mexican hotel with great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada LunaSol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Classic Mexican hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We took a trip with Mar y Aventuras, so this hotel was a natural choice. We loved the Mexican architecture and furniture, and we definitely appreciated the powerful room air conditioner as well as the ceiling fans.

The front desk staff was helpful with restaurant suggestions, maps, grocery store ideas, and anything else. Every e-mail request or question I sent in advance of our trip was answered promptly. The owner went out of her way to help us to set up a field herping tour with the owner of the Serpentario so my son could look for local snakes. Above and beyond is usual for the staff of Posada LunaSol.

Our room was at the end of the hall and had both windows on the exterior wall. This was perfect for us as we need the AC most of the time, but during cooler months it might be nice to have one of the rooms with windows on opposite walls to take advantage of a cross breeze.

I peeked in many of the rooms and found them to be colorfully decorated, most with a sink in the room and a shower/toilet room separate. The sizes and orientation of each room varies, so ask the staff if you have specific needs.

We loved the communal kitchen and used the coffeemaker, fridge, and stove. Unfortunately, some folks think a communal kitchen means that you should eat other people’s food. I hope someone enjoyed my specialty chocolate bar, and I wonder if they enjoyed our soda pop along with our cheese. Next time we’ll bring labels or canvas bags.

The 3rd floor communal area is great for lounging, viewing, or just hanging out.

We parked our rental car in the shaded parking area, and even left it there while we were on our overnight Mar y Aventuras trip.

The only thing that Posada LunaSol is missing is a swimming pool. Other than that, it’s perfect.

Room Tip: Let the staff know what you want - near the kitchen, receives morning sun, view of the sunset, water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificNWFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    97
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
76
120
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Friendly, quiet and impeccably clean. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Very close to the malecon and restaurants. There is internet access in the very close coffee shop. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 14 on the top deck for three people - three beds. Nice because it's on the terrace...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Not only is the view amazing but the staff are wonderful. They go the extra mile to make your stay beautiful and carefree, even if you don't know the right words to say!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnecarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My sister and I stayed here for a few nights either side of our 3 day kayak trip to Isla Espiritu Santo in Jan 2011. With their midweek special, the $50 price tag was brilliant after being ripped off in Todos Santos. The room was clean and comfortable, with two double beds and a very decent sized bathroom. All was clean, and there are some shared kitchen facilities and a lovely rooftop deck overlooking the harbour with a couple of hammocks. Hugo on the front desk was very helpful with restaurant suggestions!

The hotel is very secure, with iron gates keeping unwanted visitors out (mind you, I felt safer in Baja than I did in NYC!). There is a small convenience store just across the street for breakfast supplies and beer, and its just a short 5min walk to the malecon and heaps of reasonably priced restaurants with AMAZING fresh food! We had a car, and there was free car-parking on-site.

The only small problem we had was that the shared kitchen area was RIGHT outside our room, and it seemed that a group who was preparing for a tour was gathering there early one morning. Americans talk really REALLY loudly, so that woke me up.

If you're going to stay here though, do yourself a MASSIVE favour and take a tour of Isla Espiritu Santo! We booked with Mar Y Aventuras, affiliated with the hotel, and their office is just next to the hotel reception. Miguel, our guide was amazing, and we camped for a few nights and explored the island by kayak and snorkelling. We swam with the sea lions and snorkelled with the manta rays, and were fed fresh local cuisine each day! Really reasonably priced and an amazing experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pinhead22886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

small posada, almost not visible from the road. Not direct by the sea but very close, many rooms have view on the sea. Very cosy, practical and clean, offers the great advantage of organizing trips to isla espiritu santu. Trips are more expensive than the average (900 pesos vs 650) but equipment is great and the boat leave 50 meters from the posada. Not much to complain about, the sink was loosing some water but no big deal. recommended to everyone who want some discrete place with good prices and services.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David77IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I recently passed through La Paz and had the good fortune to come across this gem. Located close to the Malecon, I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were clean and quaint and staff was very friendly and helpful. Best thing was I didn't need to use AC on the top floor with the beautiful ocean breeze. I will return on my next visit to La Paz.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights with two small children. We had a large room with two beds and a huge shower. They also brought up a crib for our baby. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated as is the entire hotel. I loved the community kitchen and rooftop terrace with comfortable hammocks. The location is central and close to the malecon. I must also mention how friendly the staff are, particularily Benjamin. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNinCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Business Class
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#9 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#5 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#7 of 40 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada LunaSol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada LunaSol Hotel

Property: Posada LunaSol Hotel
Address: Calle Topete E/ 5 de Febrero y Navarro 564, La Paz 23006, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada LunaSol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada LunaSol is a traditionally decorated Mexican Inn ideally located for exploring the sights of La Paz and its surrounding areas by foot, kayak or boat. The Marina La Paz and water front boardwalk are within a short walk and the sea kayaking and whale watching outfitting business of Mar Y Aventuras is on site. The bilingual, friendly and knowledgeable staff is available daily to help enhance your visit to La Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Posada LunaSol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing