We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel rooms and staff--Would go back in a heartbeat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2007

Found this gem on the Internet and it is more than any reviews can describe. Authentic Mexican building style and wonderful Mexican staff 24/7. We were in the top floor one-bedroom suite--great experience, view, AC, balcony, and space. We left for the airport right as the airport closed down for a hurricane (we did this two days in a row, as did the airport), and Lucero, the manager, welcomed us back in like family. Other outstanding staff are Hugo, a 20ish year old boy who does the early evening shift and Sr. Perfecto who does the graveyard shift. Maribel and Teresa, two cleaning staff, have heart and soul. In our hurricane hideout, all staff provided everything we could possibly need--clearly we bonded with staff. The hotel is a a wonderful experience: quiet, clean, safe, in town (but away from the fray), and an authentic slice of Mexican life. The private kitchen in the suite was a wonderfhul bonus but the shared kithcen on floor 2 was also immaculate. BTW, Lucero and Hugo speak great English. PS: We paid half down here via Visa and the rest in cash in La Paz--worked fine.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2007

We were staying at another hotel and came here to rent a kayak (these guys are also mar y aventuras, the kayak/camping guys). We took a look at a room and decided that this was the place for us. Almost 1/2 the price of Los Arcos and only 14 rooms. The owner Ricardo is local and was helpful in places to eat and also arranging for a one day kayak/snorkelling trip.

It was also great to talk to the people returning from 2,4,5,8,10 day camping trips.

i will go back to this place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rojo-amigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

Stayed at Posada Luna Sol in La Paz in June '06 & it was a very pleasant experience. Clean & fairly new. Good AC & ceiling fan that work. If you need english language TV this is not your place. Only Mexican channels. Great rooftop deck. Would stay again.

3  Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2006

My family & I just returned from a trip to La Paz Mexico. After ton's of searching on line for accomidations, we reserved a room at Posada Luna Sol. This hotel is absolutley beautiful and our room was very roomy as well as clean. There is a roof top area that we relaxed on every evening to watch the stars & listen to the ocean. The staff was friendly & so willing to help & accomidate. I will definately stay there again.

2  Thank micheleborjagibbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2005

We stayed at the Posada Luna Sol in late March. It is operated by the tour guiding company Mar Y Adventuras. The hotel is very new and the rooms were clean and spacious, as well as attractively decorated in spanish style. The hotel is a bit out of downtown but it is a pretty easy walk to get to the main shopping and dining areas. Most of the staff spoke at least some English and they were very helpful with arranging day tours for us to Espiru Santu island and the Mogote. By the way, the tours were great and Ramon was an excellent guide. We saw humpback whales and sea lions. Only bummer was I got stung by a sting ray, watch out for them, it hurts!! Overall, La Paz was relaxing place to visit and we would recommend the Posada Luna Sol!

9  Thank scullster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Piano superiore più silenzioso
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outfitter, Owner at Posada LunaSol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#1 of 39 in La Paz
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Resort
Las Gaviotas Resort
#9 of 39 in La Paz
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel One La Paz
Hotel One La Paz
#4 of 39 in La Paz
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada LunaSol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada LunaSol Hotel

Address: Calle Topete E/ 5 de Febrero y Navarro 564, La Paz 23006, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: £51 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada LunaSol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada LunaSol is a traditionally decorated Mexican Inn ideally located for exploring the sights of La Paz and its surrounding areas by foot, kayak or boat. The Marina La Paz and water front boardwalk are within a short walk and the sea kayaking and whale watching outfitting business of Mar Y Aventuras is on site. The bilingual, friendly and knowledgeable staff is available daily to help enhance your visit to La Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Posada LunaSol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing